The best garage cabinets
Ranked on what the manufacturers publish — and one of the biggest names publishes almost nothing.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 18, 2026.
Quick picks
Ranked on published steel gauge and per-shelf capacity, then on how much the manufacturer discloses. Tap any row for the full write-up.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best overall NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set Publishes 24-gauge steel and 200 lb shelves. Its closest rival publishes no gauge. | A full wall run where you want published construction specs | 600 lb totalManufacturer | |
| 2 | ![]() Best for power tools NewAge Bold XL Series Garage Cabinet Set 24 inch depth and 20-gauge shelves rated 250 lb. | Deeper storage — a garage that holds real power tools | 700 lb totalManufacturer | |
| 3 | No photo Best for a finished garage Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox Flat-packed, so it fits through the door a welded cabinet will not. | Matching an existing Gladiator wall system for a consistent look | 450 lb totalManufacturer | |
| 4 | ![]() Best bought one at a time Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet Single units, so a wall can be built up over months. | Adding one cabinet at a time instead of committing to a full wall | 750 lb totalRetailer listing | |
| 5 | No photo Often the value pick Husky Ready-to-Assemble Steel Garage Cabinet Usually cheapest per linear foot. We cannot link it and earn nothing on it. | The lowest cost per linear foot of steel cabinet, bought in store | Not published | No link available Husky is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way. The closest thing we can link is the NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set. |
| — | No photo We would skip this one Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox 55 lb per shelf is the lowest published figure here, with no gauge to explain it. | One cabinet of enclosed storage at bench height, on leveler legs | 410 lb totalManufacturer |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 18, 2026.
Garage cabinets are the most-searched product in this category and the hardest to compare honestly, because the specification that decides whether a cabinet is still square in fifteen years — the steel gauge — is the one several major brands decline to publish.
This ranking is therefore on two things: the published construction figures, and whether the manufacturer published them at all.
Published figures only, read from each manufacturer's own pages on 2 September 2026.
| Cabinet | Steel gauge | Per cabinet | Per shelf | Construction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NewAge Bold XL | 24 ga frame / 20 ga shelf | 700 lb | 250 lb | Fully welded |
| NewAge Bold Series | 24 gauge | 600 lb | 200 lb | Fully welded |
| Gladiator Large GearBox | Not published | 450 lb | 75 lb | Ready to assemble |
| Gladiator Modular GearBox | Not published | 410 lb | 55 lb | Ready to assemble |
| Seville UltraHD | Not published | Published per model | Published per model | Powder-coated steel |
2.7×
NewAge publishes 200 lb per shelf on its Bold Series. Gladiator publishes 75 lb per shelf on its Large GearBox — a cabinet in the same market segment at a similar price. You load a cabinet a shelf at a time, which makes this the figure that governs daily use.
NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set
NewAge Products · Bold Series

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 18, 2026.
The cabinet range that publishes the most. NewAge states 24-gauge steel and fully-welded construction on the product page, plus per-cabinet and per-shelf capacities. Gladiator, its closest rival, publishes no gauge at all — and gauge is the single number that separates a cabinet that stays square from one that racks.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Base cabinet, total capacity
NewAge publishes a capacity per cabinet type: 800 lb lockers, 600 lb base cabinets, 100 lb wall cabinets.
- Published rating
- 600 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 200 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 180" W x 18" D x 76.75" H (8-piece set)Manufacturer
- Steel gauge
- 24 gauge steel, fully weldedManufacturer
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes steel gauge, which its main competitor does not
- Ships fully welded, so there is no assembly-square to get wrong
- 200 lb adjustable shelves against Gladiator's 75 lb
- 18 inch depth is shallow for larger power tools — the XL range is 24 inch
- Welded cabinets are heavy and awkward to move once placed
It wins on disclosure and then wins again on the numbers. NewAge publishes 24-gauge fully-welded construction on the product page, plus a capacity per cabinet type — 800 lb lockers, 600 lb base cabinets, 100 lb wall cabinets — and 200 lb per adjustable shelf.
That 200 lb shelf is the figure to hold onto. Nobody distributes weight evenly across four shelves on purpose; you put the heavy things on one shelf. A car battery, a bench grinder and a case of oil is comfortably inside 200 lb and comfortably outside 75.
Welded is the trade-off. It arrives square and stays square with no assembly for you to get wrong, and it is heavy and awkward to route into a finished garage. Measure the path in before you order. The 18 inch depth is the other limit — fine for hand tools and consumables, too shallow for a miter saw, which is what the XL exists for.
NewAge Bold XL Series Garage Cabinet Set
NewAge Products · Bold XL Series

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 18, 2026.
The Bold Series with the two changes that actually matter for a working garage: 24 inch depth instead of 18, and 20-gauge shelves under the 24-gauge frame. Published capacities rise across the board — 900 lb lockers, 700 lb base cabinets, 250 lb base shelves.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Base cabinet, total capacity
900 lb lockers, 700 lb base cabinets, 100 lb wall cabinets, 320 lb rolling tool cabinet.
- Published rating
- 700 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 250 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 108" W x 24" D x 76.75" H (7-piece set)Manufacturer
- Steel gauge
- 24 gauge steel frame, 20 gauge shelves, fully weldedManufacturer
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- 24 inch depth clears the shallow-cabinet problem entirely
- Publishes two gauges — frame and shelf — separately
- 250 lb base shelves, the highest published shelf rating here
- 24 inch depth eats a foot of a one-car garage's usable width
- Costs substantially more than the standard Bold Series
The Bold Series with the two changes that matter for a working garage: 24 inch depth instead of 18, and 20-gauge shelves under the 24-gauge frame. Publishing two gauges separately is more disclosure than anyone else in this comparison offers at all.
Everything moves up with it — 900 lb lockers, 700 lb base cabinets, 250 lb base shelves. The 250 lb shelf is the highest published figure on this page by a distance.
The cost is floor space. Twenty-four inches of cabinet on a side wall takes a real bite out of the room a car door needs, and in a single-car garage it may simply not work. Tape the footprint on the floor and open the car door inside it before you commit.
Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox
Gladiator · Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 18, 2026.
The most recognizable garage cabinet in the US and the one that tells you least about itself. Gladiator publishes 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf but no steel gauge anywhere we could find — so there is no way to compare its construction against a brand that does publish one.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per unit
- Published rating
- 450 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 75 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 36" W x 72" H x 18" D, 3 full-width shelvesManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Bolts to the Gladiator wall system with an optional bracket kit
- Widely stocked, so replacement parts and matching units are easy to find
- Flat-packed, which makes it far easier to get into a finished garage than a welded unit
- Steel gauge is not published, so construction cannot be compared
- 75 lb per shelf is a third of NewAge's published 200 lb
- Assembly required, and squareness depends on how well you do it
The most recognizable garage cabinet in the country, and the one that tells you least about itself. 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf are published; the steel gauge is not, anywhere we could find. That means its construction cannot be compared against a brand that publishes one — not unfavorably, just not at all.
It earns its place on a genuine practical advantage: it is flat-packed. A welded NewAge unit is 6 feet tall, heavy, and will not turn the corner into some finished garages. A Gladiator arrives in boxes one person can carry and goes together in an afternoon. If your access is awkward, that is not a minor point, it is the whole decision.
It also bolts to the Gladiator wall system with an optional bracket kit, which matters if you are already running GearWall or GearTrack.
Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet
Seville Classics · UltraHD Storage Cabinet

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 18, 2026.
The commercial-grade middle option, and the best documented steel cabinet we can link: 750 lb total and 150 lb per shelf on a 30 by 18 by 72 inch body, behind stainless doors on a three-point lock. Sold as single units rather than a set, so a wall can be built up one cabinet at a time.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Total, on four leveling feet with rubber base pads
Published as a total weight capacity of 750 lb (150 lb per shelf) for the 30 in. model. Four shelves are supplied, so the published total is larger than four shelves at their own rating.
- Published rating
- 750 lb totalRetailer listing
- Per shelf
- 150 lb / shelfRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 30" W x 18" D x 72" H exterior; 27" W x 17.13" D x 67.6" H interiorRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Powder-coated solid steel with stainless-steel doorsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a total AND a per-shelf figure, which most steel cabinets do not
- Three-point lock described in detail: top, middle and base, two keys
- Sold as single units, so a wall can be built up over time
- Leveling feet with rubber pads, for a garage slab that is never flat
- Capacities are published per model, not range-wide, so they need checking one by one
- No published steel gauge or thickness anywhere on the listing
- Nothing published about anchoring a 72 inch cabinet to the wall
- Narrower than the budget lockers that cost a third as much
The commercial-grade middle option, and the one that suits a garage being built up gradually. Seville sells UltraHD as single units rather than sets, so a wall can grow over months instead of arriving on a pallet.
Seville publishes capacities per model rather than across the range, which is a genuine complication: check the specific unit you are looking at rather than trusting a range-level figure you read somewhere. No steel gauge is published across the range. Our Seville Classics range review puts all three UltraHD cabinets in one table, including the model where the per-shelf figure goes missing.
Husky Ready-to-Assemble Steel Garage Cabinet
Husky · Ready-to-Assemble Steel Garage Cabinet
Husky is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way.
The closest thing we can link is the NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set.
Consistently the price-per-linear-foot leader in this category, and a real answer for a lot of garages. It is a Home Depot house brand, not sold on Amazon, so we have no link to give you and we earn nothing either way — which is exactly why it is worth saying it is often the value pick.
- Published rating
- Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
- Dimensions
- Not published
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Usually the cheapest per linear foot of the steel cabinet ranges
- Stocked in store, so you can look at the build quality before buying
- Home Depot exclusive — not available through any link on this site
- Published specification depth varies a lot between models in the range
Consistently among the cheapest per linear foot of steel cabinet in the country, and a genuinely good answer for a lot of garages. It is a Home Depot house brand, so there is no link on this page and we earn nothing whichever way you go.
That is exactly why it is worth saying plainly: if budget is the binding constraint, go and look at Husky in the store before you buy anything on this page. Published specification depth varies a lot between models in the range, so check the individual unit — but the price per foot is frequently unbeatable.
Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox
Gladiator · Ready-to-Assemble Full-Door Modular GearBox
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 18, 2026.
The mid-size half of the Gladiator ready-to-assemble range. 410 lb per unit and 55 lb per shelf published, gauge again absent. Useful for building a run at working height above a bench rather than a floor-to-ceiling wall of steel.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per unit
- Published rating
- 410 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 55 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 28" W x 31" H x 18" D, 2 full-width shelvesManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Modular width suits building a run in stages
- Leveler legs, for a garage slab that is never flat
- 55 lb per shelf is the lowest published shelf rating of any cabinet here
- Steel gauge not published
- No live Amazon listing as of October 2026, so the buy button runs a search
Not a bad cabinet, and the modular width is genuinely useful for building a run one unit at a time. We skip it because of one number: 55 lb per shelf, the lowest published shelf figure anywhere on this page, with no steel gauge published to explain or excuse it.
Fifty-five pounds is a full toolbox and not much else. On a 31 inch cabinet standing on leveler legs beside a bench — which is what this is — that is a real constraint you will meet within a month. If you want this cabinet, buy it knowing that; if you want capacity per shelf, NewAge publishes 200 lb on its base cabinets, and a shelf on a rated wall system will beat both.
How to choose, in one paragraph
If your garage access is fine and you want the best-documented construction, NewAge Bold Series, stepping up to Bold XL if you own power tools with a workshop footprint. If a welded 6-foot cabinet cannot physically get into your garage, Gladiator, accepting that you are buying on brand and access rather than on published specs — thefull Gladiator range is compared cabinet by cabinet here. If budget decides it, go and look at Husky in a store. And before any of it, read the dimensions guide and tape the footprint on your floor.
If you are buying a whole wall rather than one cabinet, the classes a set is built from and the order to buy them in are covered in garage cabinet systems. And if the shortlist has drifted toward the showroom end of the market, the Ulti-MATE review covers the one range here that is not steel.
If the budget rather than the spec sheet is what decides it, the discount bracket is ranked on the same published figures in cheap garage cabinets, where two of the cheapest cabinets out-publish the famous one.
And if the floor is already spoken for, the cabinets that hang on the wall instead are ranked on the same basis in best wall mounted garage cabinets, where the figure that decides the job belongs to the wall rather than the cabinet.
And if the shortlist has moved to the top of the market, what the extra money actually buys is set out in premium garage cabinets.
Common questions
What are the best garage cabinets?
Are NewAge cabinets better than Gladiator?
How much weight can garage cabinets hold?
Is it worth buying a full cabinet set or building up one at a time?
Sources
- NewAge Bold Series 8PC — 24-gauge steel, fully welded, dimensions
- NewAge Bold Series support hub — per-cabinet and per-shelf capacities
- NewAge Bold XL — 24-gauge frame, 20-gauge shelves, capacities
- Gladiator Large GearBox — 450 lb/unit, 75 lb/shelf, no gauge published
- Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox — 410 lb/unit, 55 lb/shelf
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- CabinetsGladiator vs NewAge garage cabinetsThe head-to-head most buyers end up in, decided on which brand publishes its construction specs.
- CabinetsGladiator garage cabinetsEvery published Gladiator cabinet figure in one table, and why the welded line is not automatically the stronger one.
- CabinetsNewAge garage cabinetsBold against Bold XL on gauge, depth and shelf capacity, and where the range genuinely falls short.
- CabinetsSeville Classics garage cabinetsWhat the UltraHD range publishes about capacity, gauge and locking - and the per-shelf figure that appears on only one of its three cabinets.
- CabinetsStore-brand garage cabinets comparedStore-exclusive cabinets against the national brands, written by a site that earns nothing on the store brands.
- CabinetsGarage cabinet systemsWhat the four cabinet classes are rated for, which to buy first, and why piece count is the wrong comparison.
- CabinetsCheap garage cabinetsThe discount cabinet bracket ranked on what each publishes, by a site that earns nothing on half of them.
- CabinetsBest wall mounted garage cabinetsSix wall-hung cabinets ranked on published capacity - and on the wall figure that only one listing mentions.
- CabinetsPremium garage cabinetsUpgrade-tier cabinet ranges compared on published gauge, weld and warranty - the things capacity figures do not tell you.