Cheap garage cabinets
The discount end of the market, ranked on published capacity rather than on price tag - because two of the cheapest cabinets here out-publish the famous one.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
Quick picks
Ranked on published capacity within the discount bracket, then on warranty term and whether the cabinet can be bought without a store visit. Two picks carry no buy button because we cannot link them and earn nothing on them.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best value you can buy online Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet Powder-coated steel, sold as single units, and in stock as we write. | Adding one cabinet at a time instead of committing to a full wall | Not published | |
| 2 | No photo Cheapest steel that publishes a figure Yukon 30" x 72" Garage Cabinet (Harbor Freight) 450 lb per unit, 90 lb per shelf, 90-day warranty. No link, no commission. | A garage that needs cabinets this weekend at the lowest cash price | 450 lb totalManufacturer | No link available Yukon is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way. The closest thing we can link is the Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox. |
| 3 | No photo Best figures, currently hard to get Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf, but no Amazon stock right now. | Matching an existing Gladiator wall system for a consistent look | 450 lb totalManufacturer | |
| 4 | No photo Usually cheapest per foot Husky Ready-to-Assemble Steel Garage Cabinet Home Depot exclusive with no published capacity we can cite. No link. | The lowest cost per linear foot of steel cabinet, bought in store | Not published | No link available Husky is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way. The closest thing we can link is the NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set. |
| — | ![]() We would skip this one Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox Cheap, but 55 lb per shelf is the lowest published figure here. | Wall-hung storage above a workbench | 410 lb totalManufacturer |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
“Cheap garage cabinets” is the single most-searched cabinet phrase after the generic one, and it is the one this site is best placed to answer honestly, because half the cabinets in the discount bracket are store exclusives we cannot link and earn nothing on. There is no commission pulling the ranking one way or another. What follows is the bracket ranked on what each cabinet publishes.
How this was judged
Three criteria, in this order. First, published capacity— per unit and, more importantly, per shelf, because nobody loads four shelves evenly and the heavy things end up together on one. A cabinet that publishes no figure cannot rank above one that does, however cheap it is. Second, warranty term, which in this bracket runs from 90 days to lifetime and is the clearest signal of how long the maker expects the box to last. Third, how you buy it: a flat pack delivered to the door is worth something over an in-store-only cabinet with limited stock, and the ranking says so.
What is deliberately not a criterion is the steel gauge, because nothing in this bracket publishes one. That is itself the finding: the discount cabinets are not thinner than Gladiator on paper, because Gladiator does not publish a gauge either. Only NewAge does, and NewAge is not cheap.
Published figures from each manufacturer's own listing, read 2, 4 and 6 September 2026. Empty cells are figures the maker does not publish.
| Cabinet | Per unit | Per shelf | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gladiator RTA Large GearBox | 450 lb | 75 lb | Not published — on the RTA page |
| Yukon 30″ (Harbor Freight) | 450 lb | 90 lb | 90 days |
| Seville UltraHD | Per model — check the unit | Per model — check the unit | Not published — range-wide |
| Husky (Home Depot) | Not published — none we could cite | Not published | Not published |
| Gladiator Modular GearBox | 410 lb | 55 lb | Not published |
Read the shelf column. The discount cabinet from the discount retailer publishes the highest per-shelf figure in the bracket, and it is not close to the bottom. If you assumed cheap meant flimsy on paper, the paper does not support it.
450 lbper unit
The published per-unit figure on both the Gladiator RTA Large GearBox and Harbor Freight's Yukon. Identical, on cabinets in very different price brackets. Capacity is not where the discount comes from.
Where the discount actually comes from
If capacity is level, what does the extra money buy in the tier above this one? Three things. Warranty: 90 days on Yukon against lifetime limited on Gladiator’s Premier line and NewAge. Disclosure: NewAge tells you its gauge; nothing in this bracket does. Ecosystem: a Gladiator cabinet bolts to a Gladiator wall; a Yukon or a Husky is a cabinet and nothing else. None of those is a capacity number, and if none of them matters to your garage, the cheap cabinet is not a compromise.
Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet
Seville Classics · UltraHD Storage Cabinet

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
The commercial-grade middle option: powder-coated steel, sold as single units rather than a set, and easy to add to one at a time. Seville publishes capacities per model rather than range-wide, so check the specific unit rather than trusting a range-level number.
- Published rating
- Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
- Dimensions
- Not published
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Powder-coated steelManufacturer
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Sold as single units, so a wall can be built up over time
- Powder-coated steel throughout the UltraHD range
- Capacities are published per model, not range-wide, so they need checking one by one
- No published steel gauge across the range
The cheapest cabinet in this bracket that is both buyable without a store visit and in stock as we write. Powder-coated steel, sold as individual units in widths from 24 to 60 inches, so a wall can start with one cabinet and grow when the budget allows.
The catch is disclosure: Seville publishes capacity per model rather than across the range, so the figure on one unit does not carry to the next. Check the specific listing before you assume anything about the shelves.
Yukon 30" x 72" Garage Cabinet (Harbor Freight)
Yukon · 30" x 72" Garage Cabinet
Yukon is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way.
The closest thing we can link is the Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox.
Harbor Freight's own-brand steel cabinet, and the published numbers are honest about what it is: 450 lb per unit, 90 lb per shelf, and a 90-day warranty against the lifetime cover the national brands print. Cheap steel in the literal sense, not the pejorative one.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per unit, on rubber-padded leveling feet
Published as "450 lb." total capacity.
- Published rating
- 450 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 90 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 30" W x 72.75" H x 18.125" D, 4 adjustable shelves, 20 cu ftManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Powder-coated steel with diamond plate steel doorsManufacturer
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- 90 daysManufacturer
- Publishes both a per-unit and a per-shelf figure, which several pricier brands do not
- Diamond plate steel doors and rubber-padded leveling feet included
- Consistently the lowest cash price per cabinet in this category
- In-store purchase means no freight damage risk and no delivery wait
- 90 lb per shelf is the lowest published shelf figure of any cabinet here
- 90-day warranty against lifetime limited from Gladiator and NewAge
- No steel gauge published
- Listed as in-store only with limited availability at select stores
Ninety pounds a shelf across four adjustable shelves, 450 lb per unit, diamond plate doors and rubber-padded leveling feet, at the lowest cash price per cabinet in this comparison. On the two numbers that describe what a cabinet holds, it is ahead of the Gladiator above it.
It ranks second for three reasons that are not capacity. The warranty is 90 days, which is the shortest of any cabinet on this site. It is in-store only with stock that varies by store. And we cannot link it, so we cannot check its price for you. The full comparison is in Harbor Freight garage cabinets.
Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox
Gladiator · Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
The most recognizable garage cabinet in the US and the one that tells you least about itself. Gladiator publishes 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf but no steel gauge anywhere we could find — so there is no way to compare its construction against a brand that does publish one.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per unit
- Published rating
- 450 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 75 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 36" W x 72" H x 18" D, 3 full-width shelvesManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Bolts to the Gladiator wall system with an optional bracket kit
- Widely stocked, so replacement parts and matching units are easy to find
- Flat-packed, which makes it far easier to get into a finished garage than a welded unit
- Steel gauge is not published, so construction cannot be compared
- 75 lb per shelf is a third of NewAge's published 200 lb
- Assembly required, and squareness depends on how well you do it
On paper this is still the best buy in the bracket: 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf, flat-packed into cartons one person can carry, from a brand whose wall system and accessories you can add to later.
It no longer leads because you cannot reliably buy it. As we write, Gladiator’s Amazon listing for this cabinet reads “currently unavailable”, so the button here goes to a search rather than a dead page; Gladiator still lists it directly. The standing limits also apply: no gauge, no warranty on the RTA product page, and a flat pack is only as square as you build it.
Husky Ready-to-Assemble Steel Garage Cabinet
Husky · Ready-to-Assemble Steel Garage Cabinet
Husky is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way.
The closest thing we can link is the NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set.
Consistently the price-per-linear-foot leader in this category, and a real answer for a lot of garages. It is a Home Depot house brand, not sold on Amazon, so we have no link to give you and we earn nothing either way — which is exactly why it is worth saying it is often the value pick.
- Published rating
- Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
- Dimensions
- Not published
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Usually the cheapest per linear foot of the steel cabinet ranges
- Stocked in store, so you can look at the build quality before buying
- Home Depot exclusive — not available through any link on this site
- Published specification depth varies a lot between models in the range
Consistently the price-per-linear-foot leader in this category, and a genuine answer for a lot of garages. It is a Home Depot house brand, not sold on Amazon, so there is no button here and we earn nothing whichever way you go.
It ranks fourth for one reason: we could not find a published per-unit or per-shelf capacity to cite. Go and look at it in store — that is the whole advantage of a store exclusive — and read the tag on the specific unit. The store brands are compared on their own terms in the store-brand comparison.
Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox
Gladiator · Ready-to-Assemble Full-Door Modular GearBox

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
The wall-hung half of the Gladiator range. 410 lb per unit and 55 lb per shelf published, gauge again absent. Useful for building a run at working height above a bench rather than a floor-to-ceiling wall of steel.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per unit
- Published rating
- 410 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 55 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 28" W x 31" H x 18" D, 2 full-width shelvesManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Modular width suits building a run in stages
- Compatible with Gladiator wall systems
- 55 lb per shelf is the lowest published shelf rating of any cabinet here
- Steel gauge not published
It is cheap and it is Gladiator, and 55 lb per shelf is the lowest published shelf figure in this bracket. A cordless drill with two batteries and a charger reaches that. It exists for hanging above a bench in a matched Gladiator wall, and for that narrow job it is fine.
As a cheap cabinet bought on its own it is beaten on the shelf figure by everything else here that publishes one, including the Yukon at a lower price bracket.
What cheap cabinets are bad at
- The load is consumables, cases and boxes rather than concentrated weight
- You need cabinets this month and the budget is fixed
- You are not building a matched wall system with hooks and tracks
- The garage is a working space, not a showroom
- A published steel gauge is what decides the purchase - only NewAge gives one
- The warranty term matters to you: 90 days against lifetime is a real gap
- Anything going on a shelf weighs more than about 90 lb
- You want one brand across cabinets, wall and accessories
One more thing this bracket is bad at: depth. Every cabinet here is 18 inches deep, give or take an eighth, and 18 inches does not close on a miter saw. If the cabinets are going to hold power tools rather than paint, the depth problem costs more than the price difference saves, and the dimensions reference is where to check before you order.
If the whole garage is on a budget and not just the cabinets, the cheapest route to each kind of storage — hooks, shelves, cabinets — is worked through in garage storage on a budget. And if you have decided that cheap is the wrong axis after all, the field ranked on published construction is in the cabinet roundup.
Common questions
What are the cheapest garage cabinets that are still good?
Are cheap garage cabinets weaker than expensive ones?
Are Husky garage cabinets cheaper than Gladiator?
Is it worth buying cheap cabinets one at a time?
Sources
- Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox — 450 lb/unit, 75 lb/shelf
- Harbor Freight Yukon 30" x 72" cabinet — 450 lb/unit, 90 lb/shelf, 90-day warranty
- Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox — 410 lb/unit, 55 lb/shelf
- Seville Classics UltraHD storage cabinet range — sold as single units, capacity per model
- NewAge Bold Series support hub — the 24-gauge figure this bracket does not match
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- CabinetsHarbor Freight garage cabinetsYukon's published 450 lb / 90 lb per shelf against the cabinets we can actually link, by a site that earns nothing on Harbor Freight.
- CabinetsStore-brand garage cabinets comparedStore-exclusive cabinets against the national brands, written by a site that earns nothing on the store brands.
- CabinetsThe best garage cabinetsSteel gauge, per-cabinet and per-shelf capacity compared across the brands that publish them and the ones that do not.