Skip to content
Steel Slat
Cabinets

Harbor Freight garage cabinets

The cheapest steel in the category, with the published numbers to explain why.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 21, 2026.

Ranked

Quick picks

Harbor Freight is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so the Yukon cabinets carry no buy button and we earn nothing whichever way you go.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
No photo
Harbor Freight, 30 inch

Yukon 30" x 72" Garage Cabinet (Harbor Freight)

450 lb per unit, 90 lb per shelf, 90-day warranty. No link, no commission.

A garage that needs cabinets this weekend at the lowest cash price450 lb totalManufacturer
No link available

Yukon is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way.

The closest thing we can link is the Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox.

2
No photo
Harbor Freight, 48 inch

Yukon 48" x 72" Garage Cabinet (Harbor Freight)

Same 450 lb rating across 18 more inches of width.

Covering a wall cheaply where the load is bulk rather than weight450 lb totalManufacturer
No link available

Yukon is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way.

The closest thing we can link is the Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox.

3
Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet
The linkable alternative

Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet

Powder-coated steel, single units, and in stock where the Yukon is not.

Adding one cabinet at a time instead of committing to a full wall750 lb totalRetailer listing
4
NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set
If the warranty decides it

NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set

24-gauge welded and 200 lb shelves, at several times the price.

A full wall run where you want published construction specs600 lb totalManufacturer

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 21, 2026.

Short answer
Harbor Freight’s Yukon cabinets publish 450 lb per unit and 90 lb per shelf, with a 90-day warranty. That is the lowest published shelf figure and the shortest warranty of any cabinet on this site. They are also the cheapest steel per cabinet in the category, and for light storage that trade is defensible.

“Garage cabinets harbor freight” is one of the highest-volume retailer-qualified searches in this category, and the honest thing to do with it is answer it rather than redirect it. So: we cannot sell you a Yukon cabinet, we make nothing if you buy one, and here is what Harbor Freight publishes about them.

What Yukon publishes

Harbor Freight and Gladiator figures read from their own listings on 6 September and 4 September 2026.

Yukon 30″Yukon 48″Gladiator Large GearBox
Per unit450 lb450 lb450 lb
Per shelf90 lb90 lb75 lb
Shelves443
Depth18.125″18.125″18″
Steel gaugeNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Warranty90 days90 daysLifetime limited

Read that table again, because the surprising row is the second one. Yukon’s published shelf figure is higher than Gladiator’s — 90 lb against 75 lb — on a cabinet that costs a fraction as much. Both brands publish 450 lb per unit. On the two numbers that describe what the cabinet holds, the discount cabinet is not behind.

90 dayswarranty

The Yukon warranty period, against lifetime limited on Gladiator's Premier line and on NewAge. This, not capacity, is the real gap between the discount cabinet and the national brands.

Harbor Freight Yukon 30 in. listing

Where the money actually goes

If capacity is level, what does the extra spend on a Gladiator or a NewAge buy? Three things, and only one of them is on the spec sheet.

Warranty term. Ninety days against lifetime limited is not a small difference on a steel box that is supposed to outlast the car parked next to it. It is the single clearest signal in this comparison and it costs Harbor Freight nothing to publish, which is a point in its favor for honesty even as it counts against the product.

Ecosystem. A Gladiator cabinet bolts to the Gladiator wall system with a bracket kit, so hooks, tracks and cabinets come from one range. Yukon is a cabinet and nothing else. If you are building a whole wall rather than adding storage, that matters.

Published construction. Neither Yukon nor Gladiator publishes a steel gauge, so on that axis they are level and both lose to NewAge, which publishes 24-gauge welded steel and 200 lb shelves. If knowing what the cabinet is made of is what decides your purchase, neither of the cabinets on this page is the answer.

Harbor Freight, 30 inch

Yukon 30" x 72" Garage Cabinet (Harbor Freight)

Yukon · 30" x 72" Garage Cabinet

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
No link available

Yukon is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way.

The closest thing we can link is the Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox.

Harbor Freight's own-brand steel cabinet, and the published numbers are honest about what it is: 450 lb per unit, 90 lb per shelf, and a 90-day warranty against the lifetime cover the national brands print. Cheap steel in the literal sense, not the pejorative one.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit, on rubber-padded leveling feet

Published as "450 lb." total capacity.

Published rating
450 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
90 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
30" W x 72.75" H x 18.125" D, 4 adjustable shelves, 20 cu ftManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Powder-coated steel with diamond plate steel doorsManufacturer
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
90 daysManufacturer
What is good
  • Publishes both a per-unit and a per-shelf figure, which several pricier brands do not
  • Diamond plate steel doors and rubber-padded leveling feet included
  • Consistently the lowest cash price per cabinet in this category
  • In-store purchase means no freight damage risk and no delivery wait
What is not
  • 90 lb per shelf is the lowest published shelf figure of any cabinet here
  • 90-day warranty against lifetime limited from Gladiator and NewAge
  • No steel gauge published
  • Listed as in-store only with limited availability at select stores

Twenty cubic feet, four adjustable shelves at 90 lb each, diamond plate doors and rubber-padded leveling feet. For paint, consumables, cordless tool cases and the things that currently live in cardboard boxes on the floor, this does the job that a cabinet three times the price also does.

Two practical notes. It is listed as in-store only with limited availability at select stores, so call before driving. And the shelves are the constraint: 90 lb is one full toolbox, not two.

Harbor Freight, 48 inch

Yukon 48" x 72" Garage Cabinet (Harbor Freight)

Yukon · 48" x 72" Garage Cabinet

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
No link available

Yukon is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way.

The closest thing we can link is the Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox.

The wide version of the same cabinet, and the published capacity does not move: still 450 lb per unit and 90 lb per shelf across 18 more inches of width. More cubic feet for the money, not more strength.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit, on rubber-padded leveling feet

Published as "450 lb." — the same figure as the 30 inch cabinet.

Published rating
450 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
90 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
48" W x 72.75" H x 18.125" D, 4 adjustable shelves, 30 cu ftManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
90 daysManufacturer
What is good
  • 30 cu ft against 20 in the 30 inch cabinet, for a smaller price step
  • Two rear power access ports and a single barrel key cam lock
  • Same published shelf figure as the narrow unit, so nothing is lost per shelf
What is not
  • 450 lb per unit unchanged despite 18 more inches of width
  • 90 lb per shelf, the same low figure as the narrow cabinet
  • 90-day warranty
  • In-store only, and stock varies by store

Thirty cubic feet against twenty, for a smaller step in price than the step in volume. If the wall has the width, this is the better buy of the two on volume per dollar.

What does not improve is strength. The published per-unit figure stays at 450 lb across 18 extra inches of width, and the shelf figure stays at 90 lb. You are buying space, not capacity, and the listing is straight about that.

The linkable alternative

Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet

Seville Classics · UltraHD Storage Cabinet

Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet
$357.50 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 21, 2026.

The commercial-grade middle option, and the best documented steel cabinet we can link: 750 lb total and 150 lb per shelf on a 30 by 18 by 72 inch body, behind stainless doors on a three-point lock. Sold as single units rather than a set, so a wall can be built up one cabinet at a time.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Total, on four leveling feet with rubber base pads

Published as a total weight capacity of 750 lb (150 lb per shelf) for the 30 in. model. Four shelves are supplied, so the published total is larger than four shelves at their own rating.

Published rating
750 lb totalRetailer listing
Per shelf
150 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
30" W x 18" D x 72" H exterior; 27" W x 17.13" D x 67.6" H interiorRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Powder-coated solid steel with stainless-steel doorsRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes a total AND a per-shelf figure, which most steel cabinets do not
  • Three-point lock described in detail: top, middle and base, two keys
  • Sold as single units, so a wall can be built up over time
  • Leveling feet with rubber pads, for a garage slab that is never flat
What is not
  • Capacities are published per model, not range-wide, so they need checking one by one
  • No published steel gauge or thickness anywhere on the listing
  • Nothing published about anchoring a 72 inch cabinet to the wall
  • Narrower than the budget lockers that cost a third as much

The cabinet we would point at if the Harbor Freight trip is not convenient. Powder-coated steel, sold as single units, delivered rather than collected — and, unlike the Gladiator flat-pack we used to name here, in stock as we write.

The trade against the Yukon is disclosure rather than price: Seville publishes capacity per model rather than range-wide, so check the figure on the exact unit you are buying instead of assuming it carries across the range — which is the job of our Seville Classics range review.

The verdict

Buy Yukon if
  • The budget is fixed and cabinets are needed now rather than next month
  • The load is bulk and consumables rather than concentrated weight
  • A Harbor Freight store is a reasonable drive and has stock
  • You would rather have four cheap cabinets than one expensive one
Buy something else if
  • The warranty term is part of how you judge a purchase
  • You are building a matched wall system with hooks and tracks
  • You want a published steel gauge - only NewAge gives you one
  • Anything going in weighs more than 90 lb per shelf

The recommendation this site keeps arriving at is worth repeating here: on published capacity the discount cabinets in this category are much closer to the national brands than the price gap suggests, and the real differences are warranty, ecosystem and disclosure. If those three do not matter to your garage, the cheap cabinet is not a compromise. The rest of the discount landscape is in the store-brand comparison, which covers Husky and Kobalt on the same terms.

Questions

Common questions

How much weight do Harbor Freight garage cabinets hold?

Harbor Freight publishes 450 lb per unit and 90 lb per shelf for both the 30 inch and 48 inch Yukon cabinets, across four adjustable shelves. The 90 lb shelf figure is higher than Gladiator publishes for its Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox, which is 75 lb.

Are Harbor Freight garage cabinets any good?

On published capacity they hold up against cabinets costing several times more. Where they fall behind is the warranty, which is 90 days against lifetime limited from Gladiator and NewAge, and the absence of any matching wall system. For light-to-medium storage on a fixed budget they are a reasonable buy.

What gauge steel are Yukon cabinets?

Harbor Freight does not publish a steel gauge for the Yukon range. The listing states powder-coated steel construction with diamond plate steel doors and nothing more specific. Gladiator does not publish one either; NewAge publishes 24 gauge.

Can you buy Harbor Freight cabinets online?

The Yukon garage cabinets are listed as in-store only with limited availability at select stores, so check stock before travelling. That is also why there is no buy button on this page: Harbor Freight is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined and we earn nothing on it.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next