Kobalt garage cabinets
A Lowe's exclusive we make no money from, whose free assembly manual out-documents most of the national brands.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 25, 2026.
Quick picks
Kobalt carries no buy button - it is a Lowe's exclusive and we earn nothing on it. The two linkable cabinets are here because they are what a reader can actually price today.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No photo The documented one Kobalt Welded Steel Garage Storage System 600 lb base cabinet, 200 lb shelf, limited lifetime warranty - all published in a free manual. | A full Lowe's wall run where you want the capacities published before you buy | 600 lb totalInstall doc | No link available Kobalt is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way. The closest thing we can link is the NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set. |
| 2 | No photo The single cabinet Kobalt Steel Garage Cabinet Same brand, almost none of the same documentation. Check the specific listing. | Buyers already committed to a Lowe's purchase | Not published | No link available Kobalt is not sold through any affiliate program we have joined, so there is no button here and we earn nothing on it either way. The closest thing we can link is the NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set. |
| 3 | ![]() The linkable welded set NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set Publishes a steel gauge, which Kobalt does not. Priced here, and we do earn on it. | A full wall run where you want published construction specs | 600 lb totalManufacturer | |
| 4 | ![]() If you want one cabinet, not a wall Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet 750 lb total and 150 lb per shelf, bought one unit at a time. | Adding one cabinet at a time instead of committing to a full wall | 750 lb totalRetailer listing |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 25, 2026.
This is the second review on this site of a product we cannot sell you. The first was Husky, Home Depot’s house brand, and the finding there was the one you would expect from a store exclusive: cheap steel, thin specifications, go and open the doors yourself before you buy. Kobalt is Lowe’s answer to Husky and we expected to write the same page again.
It is not the same page. One corner of the Kobalt range is the best-documented steel cabinet in any home-center aisle, and the reason is almost funny: Lowe’s publishes the assembly manual for its welded garage system as a public PDF, and page two of that manual carries a load table more complete than what most national brands put on their own product pages. You can read it before you spend anything.
The manual is the specification sheet
The document covers the Kobalt Welded Steel Garage Storage System, models 53952 through 53955 — the multi-cabinet sets Lowe’s sells in several wall widths. Its COMPONENTS SPECIFICATIONS table publishes eight separate figures:
Read verbatim from the Kobalt Welded Steel Garage Storage System manual (models 53952/53953/53954/53955) on 24 October 2026.
| Component | Published maximum load |
|---|---|
| 30″ locker | 800 lb |
| Locker shelf | 150 lb |
| Base cabinet | 600 lb |
| Base cabinet shelf | 200 lb |
| Wall cabinet | 100 lb |
| Rolling tool cabinet | 320 lb |
| Drawer in rolling tool cabinet | 100 lb |
| Set of four feet | 800 lb |
| Steel gauge | Not published |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime |
Two things are worth noticing about that list before the numbers themselves. The first is that it is broken out by component and by shelf type. Most brands in this category publish one capacity for a whole range, or one per cabinet with nothing about the shelf inside it — which is the exact gap this site keeps running into. Kobalt separates a base cabinet shelf (200 lb) from a locker shelf (150 lb), and that difference is real: a locker shelf is a longer unsupported span.
The second is that the figures are in an assembly manual rather than a sales listing. Retail copy is written to sell; an install document is written so the thing does not fall down, and when the two disagree the manual is the one worth having. It also means the specification survives the listing. The Seville cabinet whose Amazon listing died took its published figures with it, and we had to go to the manufacturer to recover them.
200 lbper base cabinet shelf
Kobalt's published base-shelf rating, against 90 lb on the Harbor Freight Yukon cabinets and 75 lb on the Gladiator Large GearBox. The budget store exclusive publishes the highest shelf figure of the three.
Where Kobalt publishes more than NewAge, and where it publishes less
The obvious comparison is NewAge, the brand this site has used as the documentation benchmark in this category. Reading both on the same day produces a genuinely mixed result, so here is all of it.
Where both publish, they agree exactly. NewAge states 100 lb for a wall cabinet and 320 lb for a rolling tool cabinet on its Bold XL range. Kobalt’s manual states 100 lb and 320 lb for the same two components. We are reporting that the two published figures are identical, and nothing further: neither company publishes anything about who manufactures the other’s cabinets, we have no evidence of any relationship, and we are not implying one.
Kobalt publishes two figures NewAge publishes nowhere. A drawer in the rolling tool cabinet (100 lb) and a set of four feet (800 lb) both appear in the Kobalt table. NewAge’s support hub publishes no drawer figure and no foot figure for any Bold range.
And NewAge’s current welded range publishes no capacity at all. Its support hub now answers for three Bold ranges, and for Bold 3.0 — the welded one — it gives no weight capacity for any component. You have to move up to Bold XL before numbers appear. A reader comparing “NewAge” against “Kobalt” as if each were one specification will come unstuck on that.
But NewAge publishes a steel gauge and Kobalt does not. Bold 3.0 states 22-gauge frames with 24-gauge doors. The Kobalt manual contains no gauge and no steel thickness anywhere in its eighteen pages, and Lowe’s listing copy for the welded sets describes them as 24-gauge without that figure appearing in any document we can read. Gauge is the number that separates a cabinet that stays square from one that racks, so this is not a small omission — it is the one place the store brand is genuinely behind.
The single cabinets are a much thinner story
Everything above describes the welded sets. Kobalt also sells individual freestanding and wall-mounted steel cabinets, and these are the ones most people mean when they search for a Kobalt garage cabinet. They are a different proposition and they are documented like a different brand.
Lowe’s publishes shelf ratings for these per listing rather than per range, and across the line those figures run from 50 lb on a fixed wall-cabinet shelf to 150 lb on the larger freestanding units, with 100 lb the most common value in between. There is no single “Kobalt cabinet” capacity to quote, the listings do not always agree with one another, and no gauge is published for any of them. If you are buying one of these, the specific item number in front of you is the only thing that tells you what it holds.
What the manual says about getting it on the wall
This is the other reason an install document beats a listing. The manual is unambiguous that these cabinets are not meant to stand free: “It is always recommended to secure this product to the wall with the hardware provided”, alongside a tipping warning and the instruction to “place more than half the total load weight on the bottom cabinet when possible”. The specifics it gives are the ones that decide whether your afternoon goes well:
- Four wall screws per cabinet. The locker, the base cabinet and the wall cabinet each take four 1/4″ x 2.5″ screws with washers, driven through the perforated strip into studs after aligning the cabinet to the stud marks. The rolling tool cabinet takes none — it is meant to move.
- A masonry route is documented. The manual’s own tool list includes a hammer drill and a masonry bit, and it describes drilling four pilot holes through the perforated strip and setting either a concrete anchor or a masonry plug. A cabinet system that tells you how to fix it to block is unusual, and in a lot of garages it is the only wall available — see what the wall behind it actually is before you start.
- Two people, doors locked. It asks for two or more people to move or install, and for the doors to be closed and locked before the unit is moved. Both are the kind of instruction people skip and regret.
Four fasteners into studs is the same order of fixing we describe in how to hang garage cabinets, and the load numbers above assume it. A 600 lb base cabinet rating is a rating for a cabinet that is attached to something.
Against the other store exclusives
Kobalt, Husky and Harbor Freight’s Yukon are the three ranges in this category that no affiliate can link, which is exactly why they get compared badly elsewhere. On published specification the gap between them is not subtle.
Kobalt figures from its manual, read 24 October 2026. Yukon figures from Harbor Freight's own listing, read 6 September 2026. Husky publishes no comparable figure consistently.
| Kobalt welded | Yukon 30″ | Husky | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Per cabinet | 600 lb | 450 lb | Not published |
| Per shelf | 200 lb | 90 lb | Not published |
| Construction | Welded | Flat pack | Flat pack |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime | 90 days | Not published |
Lifetime against ninety days is the row that matters, and it is the same row that decides the Harbor Freight comparison. Kobalt’s welded system is not competing with Yukon on price — it is a multi-cabinet set and the entry cost is a four-figure commitment, where a Yukon cabinet is one of the cheapest steel boxes in the country. They are different purchases. But if you are pricing a whole wall at a home center, the Kobalt sets are the ones that tell you what they hold and promise to stand behind it.
For the full three-retailer picture, including the warehouse clubs, read Home Depot vs Lowe’s vs Costco. For what any of this costs once installed, we keep a cost breakdown with live prices.
What we would actually buy, and what we earn on it
If Lowe’s is where you are shopping, the welded system is the right thing in the aisle and we make nothing telling you so. If you have no particular loyalty to a retailer, these two are what a reader can price today through this site, and we do earn a commission on them — which is precisely why the Kobalt recommendation above has to come first.
NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set
NewAge Products · Bold Series

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 25, 2026.
The cabinet range that publishes the most. NewAge states 24-gauge steel and fully-welded construction on the product page, plus per-cabinet and per-shelf capacities. Gladiator, its closest rival, publishes no gauge at all — and gauge is the single number that separates a cabinet that stays square from one that racks.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Base cabinet, total capacity
NewAge publishes a capacity per cabinet type: 800 lb lockers, 600 lb base cabinets, 100 lb wall cabinets.
- Published rating
- 600 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 200 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 180" W x 18" D x 76.75" H (8-piece set)Manufacturer
- Steel gauge
- 24 gauge steel, fully weldedManufacturer
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes steel gauge, which its main competitor does not
- Ships fully welded, so there is no assembly-square to get wrong
- 200 lb adjustable shelves against Gladiator's 75 lb
- 18 inch depth is shallow for larger power tools — the XL range is 24 inch
- Welded cabinets are heavy and awkward to move once placed
The closest equivalent we can link: a fully welded multi-cabinet set that publishes the thing Kobalt does not, a steel gauge. Its capacities now live on the XL range rather than the welded one, so read the range name carefully before comparing numbers with anything above.
Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet
Seville Classics · UltraHD Storage Cabinet

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 25, 2026.
The commercial-grade middle option, and the best documented steel cabinet we can link: 750 lb total and 150 lb per shelf on a 30 by 18 by 72 inch body, behind stainless doors on a three-point lock. Sold as single units rather than a set, so a wall can be built up one cabinet at a time.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Total, on four leveling feet with rubber base pads
Published as a total weight capacity of 750 lb (150 lb per shelf) for the 30 in. model. Four shelves are supplied, so the published total is larger than four shelves at their own rating.
- Published rating
- 750 lb totalRetailer listing
- Per shelf
- 150 lb / shelfRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 30" W x 18" D x 72" H exterior; 27" W x 17.13" D x 67.6" H interiorRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Powder-coated solid steel with stainless-steel doorsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a total AND a per-shelf figure, which most steel cabinets do not
- Three-point lock described in detail: top, middle and base, two keys
- Sold as single units, so a wall can be built up over time
- Leveling feet with rubber pads, for a garage slab that is never flat
- Capacities are published per model, not range-wide, so they need checking one by one
- No published steel gauge or thickness anywhere on the listing
- Nothing published about anchoring a 72 inch cabinet to the wall
- Narrower than the budget lockers that cost a third as much
The honest answer for most people who searched for a garage cabinet and found a four-figure set. 750 lb total and 150 lb per shelf, published on the listing, bought one unit at a time. Its per-shelf figure is below Kobalt’s 200 lb, and it is a tenth of the commitment.
What we would not do is tell you the Kobalt sets are bad because we cannot sell them. They publish more than the brand we hold up as the documentation benchmark, in a document you can read before you buy, and they back it with a lifetime term. The gauge omission is a real mark against them and the store-exclusive distribution is a real constraint. Both of those are true at the same time.
Common questions
Are Kobalt garage cabinets any good?
What is the weight capacity of Kobalt garage cabinets?
What steel gauge are Kobalt garage cabinets?
Can you buy Kobalt garage cabinets on Amazon?
Kobalt or NewAge garage cabinets?
Do Kobalt garage cabinets have to be anchored to the wall?
What warranty do Kobalt garage cabinets come with?
Sources
- Kobalt Welded Steel Garage Storage System manual (models 53952/53953/53954/53955) - full per-component load table, limited lifetime warranty, wall-fixing instructions
- NewAge Bold Series support hub - Bold 3.0 gauge and welded construction, Bold XL capacities, no Bold 3.0 capacity figures
- Kobalt garage cabinets and storage systems at Lowe's - the current line
- NewAge Bold Series 8-piece set - 24 gauge fully welded, 200 lb per shelf
- Seville Classics UltraHD storage cabinet - 750 lb total, 150 lb per shelf
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- CabinetsStore-brand garage cabinets comparedStore-exclusive cabinets against the national brands, written by a site that earns nothing on the store brands.
- CabinetsHusky garage cabinetsThe value pick in this category, reviewed by a site that earns nothing on it, with what to check in store.
- CabinetsHarbor Freight garage cabinetsYukon's published 450 lb / 90 lb per shelf against the cabinets we can actually link, by a site that earns nothing on Harbor Freight.
- CabinetsNewAge garage cabinetsBold against Bold XL on gauge, depth and shelf capacity, and where the range genuinely falls short.
- CabinetsThe best garage cabinetsSteel gauge, per-cabinet and per-shelf capacity compared across the brands that publish them and the ones that do not.
- CabinetsWhat garage cabinets costThe four things that move a cabinet's price, what the brackets actually publish, and the line items that land after the cabinet does.