NewAge garage cabinets
The range that publishes the most, and what the published numbers actually tell you.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
The two NewAge ranges compared, with the flat-packed alternative if a welded cabinet cannot reach your garage.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No photo The standard range NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set 24-gauge welded, 18 inch deep, 200 lb shelves. | A full wall run where you want published construction specs | 600 lb totalManufacturer | |
| 2 | No photo The upgrade NewAge Bold XL Series Garage Cabinet Set 24 inch deep, 20-gauge shelves, 250 lb. | Deeper storage — a garage that holds real power tools | 700 lb totalManufacturer | |
| 3 | No photo If welded will not fit Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox Flat-packed alternative, at the cost of published construction detail. | Matching an existing Gladiator wall system for a consistent look | 450 lb totalManufacturer |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
We have not handled these cabinets. What follows is a review of what NewAge publishes — which, in a category where the biggest competitor publishes no steel gauge at all, is enough to review.
What NewAge publishes
Read from NewAge's own product pages and support hub on 2 September 2026.
| Bold Series | Bold XL | |
|---|---|---|
| Frame gauge | 24 gauge | 24 gauge |
| Shelf gauge | Not published | 20 gauge |
| Construction | Fully welded | Fully welded |
| Depth | 18″ | 24″ |
| Locker capacity | 800 lb | 900 lb |
| Base cabinet capacity | 600 lb | 700 lb |
| Wall cabinet capacity | 100 lb | 100 lb |
| Shelf capacity | 200 lb | 250 lb (base) |
Publishing a frame gauge and a shelf gauge separately is more disclosure than any competitor in this comparison offers at all, and it is also good engineering sense: shelves carry concentrated load and deserve thicker steel than the sides of a box do.
NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set
NewAge Products · Bold Series
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
The cabinet range that publishes the most. NewAge states 24-gauge steel and fully-welded construction on the product page, plus per-cabinet and per-shelf capacities. Gladiator, its closest rival, publishes no gauge at all — and gauge is the single number that separates a cabinet that stays square from one that racks.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Base cabinet, total capacity
NewAge publishes a capacity per cabinet type: 800 lb lockers, 600 lb base cabinets, 100 lb wall cabinets.
- Published rating
- 600 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 200 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 180" W x 18" D x 76.75" H (8-piece set)Manufacturer
- Steel gauge
- 24 gauge steel, fully weldedManufacturer
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes steel gauge, which its main competitor does not
- Ships fully welded, so there is no assembly-square to get wrong
- 200 lb adjustable shelves against Gladiator's 75 lb
- 18 inch depth is shallow for larger power tools — the XL range is 24 inch
- Welded cabinets are heavy and awkward to move once placed
The 200 lb shelf is what to weigh this on. Gladiator’s comparable cabinet publishes 75. You do not distribute weight evenly across four shelves in real life — you put the heavy things on one — which makes per-shelf the operative figure and the gap a real one.
The 100 lb wall cabinet figure is worth noting too, and it is not a criticism: wall cabinets are limited by their fixing into the wall rather than by the box, and 100 lb is a sane published number for something hanging over your head. Fix it into studs, not drywall anchors.
NewAge Bold XL Series Garage Cabinet Set
NewAge Products · Bold XL Series
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
The Bold Series with the two changes that actually matter for a working garage: 24 inch depth instead of 18, and 20-gauge shelves under the 24-gauge frame. Published capacities rise across the board — 900 lb lockers, 700 lb base cabinets, 250 lb base shelves.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Base cabinet, total capacity
900 lb lockers, 700 lb base cabinets, 100 lb wall cabinets, 320 lb rolling tool cabinet.
- Published rating
- 700 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 250 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 108" W x 24" D x 76.75" H (7-piece set)Manufacturer
- Steel gauge
- 24 gauge steel frame, 20 gauge shelves, fully weldedManufacturer
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- 24 inch depth clears the shallow-cabinet problem entirely
- Publishes two gauges — frame and shelf — separately
- 250 lb base shelves, the highest published shelf rating here
- 24 inch depth eats a foot of a one-car garage's usable width
- Costs substantially more than the standard Bold Series
Two changes and both matter. Twenty-four inch depth is what a miter saw, a compressor or a shop vac actually needs; 18 inches means the door does not close on those. And 20-gauge shelves rated 250 lb is the highest published shelf figure on this site.
The cost is floor. Six extra inches of depth across a wall of cabinets is a meaningful bite out of a garage, and in a single-car garage it can be the difference between opening the car door and not. Tape the footprint out and open the door inside it before ordering — this is the single most common regret in this category.
Where the range genuinely falls short
- Publishes frame gauge, shelf gauge and per-cabinet capacities
- Fully welded, so it arrives square with nothing to assemble wrong
- 200-250 lb shelves, the highest published figures in this comparison
- Bold XL solves the shallow-cabinet problem properly at 24 inches
- Welded units are heavy and may not fit the route into a finished garage
- Costs more than Gladiator and considerably more than the store brands
- Freight damage on a welded steel cabinet is not a small inconvenience
- 18 inch standard depth is still too shallow for real power tools
The access constraint is the one to take seriously before buying. Check the route: door widths, turns, steps, and whether there is a second person available on delivery day. A flat-packed Gladiator exists precisely for the garages where the answer to that is no.
Who should buy it
Anyone doing a whole wall who wants to know what they are buying, and whose garage can physically receive it. On published construction detail there is nothing else in this category at this level — and on a purchase that stays bolted to a wall for fifteen years, knowing the gauge is worth something.
Who should not: anyone with awkward access, anyone building up one cabinet at a time (Seville suits that better), and anyone for whom price per linear foot is the binding constraint — in which case go and look at the store brands, which we earn nothing on and which are frequently the value answer.
Common questions
What gauge steel are NewAge cabinets?
Is NewAge Bold XL worth the extra over Bold?
How much weight can NewAge cabinets hold?
Are NewAge cabinets hard to install?
Sources
- NewAge Bold Series 8PC — 24-gauge steel, fully welded, dimensions
- NewAge Bold Series support hub — per-cabinet and per-shelf capacities
- NewAge Bold XL 7PC — 24-gauge frame, 20-gauge shelves, capacities
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- CabinetsGladiator vs NewAge garage cabinetsThe head-to-head most buyers end up in, decided on which brand publishes its construction specs.
- CabinetsThe best garage cabinetsSteel gauge, per-cabinet and per-shelf capacity compared across the brands that publish them and the ones that do not.
- Planning & installStandard garage cabinet dimensionsDepths, widths, heights and clearances, with the published figures from two manufacturers' actual sets.