Skip to content
Steel Slat
Cabinets

Gladiator garage cabinets

Six cabinets, six published capacities, and one gauge figure that Gladiator did not publish.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

Ranked

Quick picks

The Gladiator cabinet range ordered by what Gladiator itself publishes, not by what it costs. The flat-packed cabinet outranks two welded ones on its own maker's figures.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
No photo
The strongest thing Gladiator sells

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled 84" Tall Cabinet

2,000 lb per unit, 400 lb per shelf, and the only gauge figure in the range.

One deep, tall cabinet doing the work of two shallow ones2,000 lb totalManufacturer
2
No photo
The one most people should buy

Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox

450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf, flat-packed, in the lowest price bracket here.

Matching an existing Gladiator wall system for a consistent look450 lb totalManufacturer
3
No photo
Best of the caster cabinets

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled Tall GearLocker

450 lb per unit from the same footprint the Tall GearBox rates at 250.

Long-handled tools and a taller hanging bay, on casters450 lb totalManufacturer
4
No photo
Wall-hung, at a cost

Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox

Works above a bench, but 55 lb per shelf is the lowest full-width figure here.

Wall-hung storage above a workbench410 lb totalManufacturer
No photo
We would skip this one

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled Tall GearBox

Welded and expensive, and published at 250 lb next to a 450 lb twin.

Rolling a full-height welded cabinet around a finished garage250 lb totalManufacturer

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

Short answer
Gladiator publishes a weight capacity for every cabinet it sells and a steel gauge for none of them. Across six current cabinets the published figures run from 200 lb to 2,000 lb per unit and 50 lb to 400 lb per shelf — and they do not track price or construction, so choose on the number, not on the line name.

Gladiator is the most recognizable name in American garage storage and the range almost everybody shortlists first. It splits into two lines that look, from the marketing, like a clear good-better ladder: the flat-packed Ready-to-Assemble GearBoxes, and the welded, pre-assembled Premier cabinets that arrive built.

Read the published numbers instead of the line names and that ladder falls apart. One Premier cabinet publishes eight times the capacity of another Premier cabinet. A flat-packed GearBox in the cheapest bracket in the range publishes nearly double what a welded Premier cabinet in one of the dearest brackets does. Nothing about that is hidden — it is all on Gladiator’s own product pages — but nothing about it is explained either, because the one specification that would explain it is the one Gladiator never prints.

What Gladiator publishes

Six cabinets are currently listed, and all six carry a per-unit figure and a per-shelf figure in the same units. That consistency is worth crediting: several brands in this category publish a per-cabinet number and leave the per-shelf number out entirely, which is the figure that actually governs daily use, because nobody loads four shelves evenly.

Read from Gladiator's own product pages on 4 September 2026. Every figure below is Gladiator's; none is ours.

CabinetPer unitPer shelfShelves
Premier 84″ Tall Cabinet2,000 lb400 lb4 full-width
Premier Tall GearLocker450 lb75 lb4 half-width
RTA Large GearBox450 lb75 lb3 full-width
RTA Full-Door Modular GearBox410 lb55 lb2 full-width
Premier Tall GearBox250 lb50 lb3 full-width
Premier 30″ Wall GearBox200 lb50 lb2 adjustable

What none of the six carries is a steel gauge, a load distance, or a statement of what the per-unit rating assumes about the floor, the casters or the fixings. On a cabinet that stands on the ground those omissions matter less than they do on a wall system. They still leave you unable to compare a Gladiator against a brand that does publish its construction, which is exactly the position most buyers are in when they are choosing between this range and NewAge.

The numbers do not follow the price

Put the Premier Tall GearBox next to the Premier Tall GearLocker. Same line, same store page, same external dimensions to the quarter inch: 30″ wide, 65.25″ tall, 18″ deep. Both arrive welded and both ship with casters. The GearBox is published at 250 lb per unit and 50 lb per shelf. The GearLocker is published at 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf.

1.8×

How much more the Premier Tall GearLocker is published to hold than the identically sized Premier Tall GearBox sold beside it. Gladiator publishes both figures and explains neither.

The only difference the two product pages state is the shelving: three full-width shelves in the GearBox, four half-width shelves in the GearLocker. Half-width shelves imply a vertical divider down the middle of the carcass, and a divider is a stiffener — it is a plausible reason the same box is rated higher. That is our reading of two published specifications, not something Gladiator says, and we are flagging it as such rather than presenting an inference as a finding.

The awkward comparison is the next one. The flat-packed Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox — the cabinet in the lowest price bracket in this table, the one that turns up in boxes for you to build — publishes 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf. That is the same as the welded GearLocker and comfortably ahead of the welded Tall GearBox, which sits in a much higher bracket. If you assumed welded meant stronger here, Gladiator’s own figures do not support it.

The gauge question, and the one place it is answered

Gladiator publishes no steel gauge on any cabinet product page, and that absence is the reason this site’s Gladiator versus NewAge comparison lands where it does: NewAge tells you it is 24-gauge welded steel and Gladiator tells you nothing, so NewAge is the easier brand to buy on published construction.

There is one exception, and it cuts the other way. Home Depot’s listing for the Premier 84″ Tall Cabinet — model GALG362DPG, the same cabinet Gladiator sells — states 18-gauge welded steel in the listing title. Gladiator does not publish that figure itself. A retailer listing is a weaker source than a manufacturer document and we label it as one wherever it appears on this site, but it is a real published figure and it is worth knowing.

It is worth knowing because sheet steel gauge runs backwards: the smaller the number, the thicker the steel. Standard mild steel at 18 gauge is 0.0478″ thick; at 24 gauge it is 0.0239″. That is a factor of two. So the one Gladiator cabinet with a gauge attached to it is built from steel roughly twice the thickness of the 24-gauge NewAge publishes across the Bold range.

The strongest thing Gladiator sells

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled 84" Tall Cabinet

Gladiator · Premier Pre-Assembled 84" Tall Cabinet

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

The only Gladiator cabinet with a steel gauge attached to it anywhere, and the only one whose published capacity is in a different class from the rest of the range: 2,000 lb per unit and 400 lb per shelf. It is also the largest and the most expensive thing Gladiator sells in this category.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit, on leveling legs. Not compatible with the caster kit.

Published as "Holds up to 2000 lbs. per cabinet and 400 lbs. per shelf."

Published rating
2,000 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
400 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
36" W x 84" H x 24" D, 4 full-width shelvesManufacturer
Steel gauge
18 gaugeRetailer listing
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Lifetime limitedManufacturer
What is good
  • 2,000 lb per unit and 400 lb per shelf, far above anything else Gladiator publishes
  • The only Gladiator cabinet with a gauge figure attached to it at all
  • 24 inch depth takes a miter saw or a shop vac without the door fouling
  • Leveling legs rather than casters, so nothing is riding on wheel capacity
What is not
  • The gauge comes from the retailer listing, not from Gladiator
  • 84 inches tall clears most garage ceilings but not all of them - measure first
  • The most expensive cabinet in the range by a wide margin
  • Not compatible with the caster kit, so it does not move once it is placed

2,000 lb per unit and 400 lb per shelf put this in a different class from everything else in the range, and 24″ of depth is what a miter saw, a compressor or a shop vac actually needs. The 400 lb shelf is the highest published shelf figure anywhere on this site, above NewAge Bold XL’s 250 lb.

Two constraints before you buy it. It is 84″ tall, which clears a standard 8-foot ceiling with room to spare but not a garage with low soffits, ducting or a door track in the way — measure at the exact spot it will stand. And it is explicitly not compatible with the caster kit, so once it is placed and leveled, it stays.

The one most people should buy

Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox

Gladiator · Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

The most recognizable garage cabinet in the US and the one that tells you least about itself. Gladiator publishes 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf but no steel gauge anywhere we could find — so there is no way to compare its construction against a brand that does publish one.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit
Published rating
450 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
75 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
36" W x 72" H x 18" D, 3 full-width shelvesManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Bolts to the Gladiator wall system with an optional bracket kit
  • Widely stocked, so replacement parts and matching units are easy to find
  • Flat-packed, which makes it far easier to get into a finished garage than a welded unit
What is not
  • Steel gauge is not published, so construction cannot be compared
  • 75 lb per shelf is a third of NewAge's published 200 lb
  • Assembly required, and squareness depends on how well you do it

The value case is straightforward on Gladiator’s own figures: 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf, the same published capacity as the welded GearLocker, in the lowest price bracket of any full-height cabinet in the range. It also solves the problem welded cabinets create, which is getting a rigid 6-foot steel box into a finished garage. This arrives in cartons one person can move.

The cost is assembly, and assembly is where a flat-packed cabinet is won or lost. A carcass built slightly out of square never quite closes right afterwards. Build it on a flat surface, not on a sloped garage floor, and leave the fasteners finger-tight until every panel is in before you go round and tighten.

Best of the caster cabinets

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled Tall GearLocker

Gladiator · Premier Pre-Assembled Tall GearLocker

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

The same external box as the Premier Tall GearBox to the quarter inch, sold beside it, and published at nearly double the capacity: 450 lb per unit against 250. The only difference Gladiator publishes is four half-width shelves instead of three full-width ones.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit, on the supplied casters

Published as "450 lbs/unit".

Published rating
450 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
75 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
30" W x 65.25" H x 18" D, 4 half-width shelvesManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf, against 250 and 50 for the identically sized GearBox
  • Half-width shelves leave a full-height bay for rakes, brooms and long stock
  • Casters and bumpers are in the box
  • Part of the welded Premier line, so it arrives assembled
What is not
  • Half-width shelves cannot take anything wider than half the cabinet
  • No steel gauge published, so the capacity gap over the GearBox is unexplained
  • Listed above the GearBox it sits beside
  • No load distance or fastening stated for the wall-mount option

If you want a welded cabinet you can roll, this is the one in the range whose published numbers justify the price bracket: 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf from the same footprint the Tall GearBox rates at 250 and 50.

The half-width shelves are a genuine trade rather than a free win. They leave a full-height bay down one side, which is the right shape for rakes, brooms, a leaf blower or long stock — and they are the wrong shape for a wide, flat item, which a full-width shelf takes without argument. Decide which of those you own more of.

Wall-hung, at a cost

Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox

Gladiator · Ready-to-Assemble Full-Door Modular GearBox

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

The wall-hung half of the Gladiator range. 410 lb per unit and 55 lb per shelf published, gauge again absent. Useful for building a run at working height above a bench rather than a floor-to-ceiling wall of steel.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit
Published rating
410 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
55 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
28" W x 31" H x 18" D, 2 full-width shelvesManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Modular width suits building a run in stages
  • Compatible with Gladiator wall systems
What is not
  • 55 lb per shelf is the lowest published shelf rating of any cabinet here
  • Steel gauge not published

The useful half of this cabinet is the format: a 28″ modular box you can hang above a bench at working height and add to a unit at a time, rather than committing to a floor-to-ceiling wall of steel in one purchase.

The published shelf rating is the problem. 55 lb per shelf is the lowest full-width figure in the whole Gladiator range, and it is a quarter of what NewAge publishes for a comparable shelf. For hand tools, fasteners and consumables that is enough. For anything that comes in a case, it is not.

We would skip this one

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled Tall GearBox

Gladiator · Premier Pre-Assembled Tall GearBox

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

The welded, pre-assembled version of the cabinet most people picture when they picture Gladiator - and the one place the range's published numbers go backwards. 250 lb per unit and 50 lb per shelf is less than the flat-packed Large GearBox publishes in a much lower price bracket.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit, on the supplied casters

Published as "250 lbs/unit".

Published rating
250 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
50 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
30" W x 65.25" H x 18" D, 3 full-width shelvesManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Arrives welded and assembled - casters and bumpers are the only build step
  • Three full-width shelves take things a half-width shelf cannot
  • Locking doors and the tread-plate finish the range is known for
  • Mounts to a Gladiator wall system with the bracket kit
What is not
  • 250 lb per unit is the lowest published figure of any full-height cabinet here
  • 50 lb per shelf is beaten by Gladiator's own flat-packed cabinets
  • Its identically sized sibling, the Tall GearLocker, publishes 450 lb and 75 lb
  • No steel gauge published, so there is nothing to explain the gap

This is the cabinet the brand is known for, and on published figures it is the hardest one in the range to defend. 250 lb per unit and 50 lb per shelf are the lowest full-height numbers Gladiator prints, from a welded cabinet in one of the higher price brackets, sitting next to a same-sized sibling published at 450 lb and 75 lb.

There is a real reason to take it anyway, and it is the shelves: three full-width shelves hold things four half-width shelves cannot, and if what you are storing is wide and flat, the GearLocker’s better numbers are of no use to you. Buy it for the internal layout with your eyes open about the rating — not because welded and expensive implies strong.

What to check before you order

Four things decide whether a Gladiator cabinet is the right buy, and none of them is the brand. The first is depth. Most of this range is 18″ deep, which is fine for consumables, hand tools and paint and too shallow for a miter saw or a shop vac — the door fouls on the tool. Only the 84″ cabinet goes to 24″, and that extra half-foot is a real bite out of a single-car garage. Tape the footprint on the floor and open your car door inside it before you order anything.

The second is height. An 84″ cabinet clears a standard eight-foot garage ceiling, but garages are where the ducting, the soffit and the garage door track all live. Measure at the exact spot the cabinet will stand, not in the middle of the room.

The third is the route in. This is the constraint that actually separates the two Gladiator lines. A welded Premier cabinet arrives as one rigid steel box that has to get through every door, turn and step between the curb and its final position, with a second person on hand. A flat pack does not care about any of that. If the route is awkward, the decision is already made for you.

The fourth is which figure you are buying on. The per-unit rating is the one on the marketing; the per-shelf rating is the one you meet every day, because nobody spreads weight evenly across four shelves — the heavy things end up together on one. Between a cabinet published at 50 lb per shelf and one published at 400 lb, that difference is the whole purchase.

What the range gets right regardless

None of the above makes Gladiator a bad buy, and it is worth being specific about where the range genuinely earns its position. The accessory ecosystem is the largest of any brand in this category: the cabinets bolt to Gladiator’s GearWall and GearTrack wall systems with an optional bracket kit, which means one wall can carry hooks, baskets and cabinets from the same range without adapters. Nothing else here does that as completely.

Where the range wins
  • Publishes a per-unit AND a per-shelf figure for every cabinet, in consistent units
  • The largest first-party accessory and wall-system ecosystem in the category
  • Flat-packed options solve the access problem welded cabinets create
  • Lifetime limited warranty stated on the Premier product pages
  • Stocked almost everywhere, so matching units and parts stay easy to find
Real weaknesses
  • No steel gauge published on any cabinet, so construction cannot be compared
  • Published capacities do not track price or line name across the range
  • Two identically sized Premier cabinets differ by 200 lb with no stated reason
  • 55 lb and 50 lb per shelf on three of six cabinets is low for this money
  • No load distance or fastening stated for the wall-mounted options

Who should buy Gladiator

Buy it if you are building around the wall system, if you want one brand across hooks, tracks and cabinets, or if the route into your garage rules out a welded cabinet and a flat pack is the only thing that will fit. In that last case the Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox is the pick, and its published figures hold up against welded cabinets costing considerably more.

Do not buy it if published construction is what decides the purchase. NewAge publishes a frame gauge, a shelf gauge and per-cabinet capacities across its range, and on a wall of cabinets that will stay bolted up for fifteen years that disclosure is worth paying for. If price per linear foot is the binding constraint instead, the store brands are frequently the value answer and we earn nothing on either of them.

And if you are still deciding what shape of storage you need before you pick a brand at all, start with the cabinet roundup or with standard cabinet dimensions, which is where most of the regret in this category actually comes from.

Questions

Common questions

What gauge steel are Gladiator cabinets?

Gladiator does not publish a steel gauge on any of its cabinet product pages. The one figure available anywhere is on Home Depot’s listing for the Premier 84″ Tall Cabinet, model GALG362DPG, which states 18-gauge welded steel. That is a retailer figure rather than a manufacturer one, and it applies to that cabinet only.

How much weight can Gladiator cabinets hold?

Gladiator publishes it per cabinet. Across the six current models the per-unit figures are 2,000 lb (Premier 84″ Tall Cabinet), 450 lb (Premier Tall GearLocker and Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox), 410 lb (Full-Door Modular GearBox), 250 lb (Premier Tall GearBox) and 200 lb (Premier 30″ Wall GearBox). Per-shelf figures run from 50 lb to 400 lb.

Are Gladiator Premier welded cabinets better than the ready-to-assemble ones?

Not on published capacity, which is the only evidence either of us has. The flat-packed Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox publishes 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf; the welded Premier Tall GearBox publishes 250 lb and 50 lb in a higher price bracket. The welded line does arrive assembled and square, which is a real advantage — it is just not a capacity advantage.

Do Gladiator cabinets mount to a Gladiator wall system?

Yes, with an optional bracket kit, and that compatibility is the strongest practical argument for the range. The Premier 30″ Wall GearBox states that it mounts directly to studs or onto Gladiator wall systems. Fix into studs rather than drywall anchors for anything hanging overhead.

Is the Gladiator warranty any good?

The Premier product pages state a hassle-free lifetime limited warranty. Lifetime limited is the strongest warranty language in this comparison, though as always the limits are what matter and they are not spelled out on the product page — read the warranty document before treating it as a deciding factor.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next