Skip to content
Steel Slat
Cabinets

Best garage storage lockers

Every one of these is lockable. Only two tell you what the steel is, and only one names the thing that actually hurts people.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 20, 2026.

Ranked

Quick picks

Ranked on whether a per-shelf figure is published, then on whether a separate cabinet total is published rather than the shelves added up, then on published steel thickness, then on whether the listing addresses anchoring a 6 foot cabinet. Price breaks ties.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
Seville Classics UltraHD 30" Lockable Storage Locker
Best documented

Seville Classics UltraHD 30" Lockable Storage Locker

750 lb total, 150 lb a shelf, and a lock described in full.

A locker whose published figures and lock are both specified750 lb totalRetailer listing
2
INTERGREAT 72" Locking Steel Cabinet
Best value

INTERGREAT 72" Locking Steel Cabinet

Publishes 0.88 mm steel and names the anti-tip holes.

The most published detail at the lowest price180 lb / shelfRetailer listing
3
SISESOL 72" Wide Metal Storage Cabinet
Most space for the money

SISESOL 72" Wide Metal Storage Cabinet

36 inches wide, 18 deep, five shelves at 180 lb each.

The most interior volume per dollar180 lb / shelfRetailer listing
4
Letaya 72" Metal Garage Storage Locker
Most conservative claim

Letaya 72" Metal Garage Storage Locker

120 lb a shelf where identical-looking rivals claim 180.

A budget locker whose shelf claim is the modest one120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
5
Seville Classics UltraHD 60" Storage Locker
Biggest

Seville Classics UltraHD 60" Storage Locker

Five feet wide and six shelves, for 50 lb more than the 30 inch model.

One cabinet instead of two, where the wall and the budget allow800 lb totalRetailer listing
risuoge 4-Door Metal Storage Locker
We would skip this one

risuoge 4-Door Metal Storage Locker

Four separate locks, and not one published number.

Separate locked compartments, if you are willing to buy unspecifiedNot published

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 20, 2026.

Short answer
Rank a garage locker on three published figures: what a shelf holds, how thick the steel is, and whether the listing says to fix the cabinet to the wall. Seville’s 30 inch UltraHD is the only one here publishing a total (750 lb), a per-shelf figure (150 lb) and a lock it actually describes. INTERGREAT publishes 0.88 mm steel and names the anti-tip purpose of its mounting holes, at a third of the price. The four-door lockers publish no capacity at all.

“Locker” covers two different products in this category, and the search results mix them freely. One is a tall two-door steel cabinet with adjustable shelves and a single keyed lock — the thing most people actually mean. The other is a true locker: several narrow compartments, each with its own door and its own key, for a garage more than one person uses. Five of the six below are the first kind. The sixth is the second kind, and it is on this page to show what that sub-category publishes, which is nothing.

What every one of them shares is the word on the box. All six are “lockable”, five claim a three-point locking system, and every listing calls its steel heavy duty. None of that separates them. What separates them is which numbers the seller was willing to print.

How this was judged

Four criteria, decided before anything was ranked, applied in this order.

First: is there a per-shelf figure? A locker is a stack of shelves behind a door, and the shelf is what fails first. Four of the six publish one, between 120 and 180 lb. Two do not publish any capacity at all and rank below everything that does.

Second: is the cabinet total a separate figure, or the shelves added up? This sounds pedantic and it is not. SISESOL publishes 900 lb total and 180 lb per shelf across five shelves — the total is exactly five times the shelf, so it tells you nothing new. Seville publishes 750 lb total and 150 lb per shelf across four shelves, and four shelves only reach 600, so the total describes something the shelf figure does not.

Third: is a steel thickness published? Two of the six publish one, in millimeters. The national cabinet brands publish a gauge instead, and the two scales do not compare without a conversion no listing provides — but a seller willing to print 0.8 or 0.88 mm has committed to something a caliper can check, which “heavy gauge” never is.

Fourth: does the listing address anchoring? These are six foot cabinets with doors that swing out. One listing names the tipping risk and points at the mounting holes in its back panel. A second mentions the holes without saying why. The other four, including both of the most expensive cabinets here, say nothing at all.

Published figures read from each retail listing on 20 September 2026. 'Not published' means the figure does not appear on the listing, which is itself the finding.

LockerPer shelfCabinet totalSteel thicknessAnchoring mentioned
Seville UltraHD 30″150 lb750 lbNot publishedNot published
INTERGREAT 72″180 lb900 lb0.88 mmYes — two holes, named as anti-tip
SISESOL 72 x 36 x 18180 lb900 lbNot publishedNot published
Letaya 72″120 lbNot published0.8 mmHoles stated, purpose not
Seville UltraHD 60″Not published800 lbNot publishedNot published
risuoge 4-door lockerNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

The column that should be full is the last one, and it is the emptiest. A loaded locker is a top-heavy steel box with doors that pull the weight outward when they open, standing on a slab that slopes toward the door. Anchoring it is not a refinement.

10x

SISESOL is the only seller here that publishes what its cabinet weighs empty - 91 lb - alongside what it claims to hold: 900 lb. A cabinet rated for roughly ten times its own weight has almost all of its mass in the contents, which is exactly the condition under which a tall cabinet goes over when a loaded door swings. Two of the six listings mention the mounting holes that prevent it.

SISESOL 72 in metal storage cabinet listing

The fix is the same one this site gives for every heavy thing on a garage wall: find the studs, and put the fastener in the stud rather than in the drywall. A locker needs only two screws through the back panel into framing to stop being a tipping hazard, and the holes are usually already there. The stud-finding sequence is in how to hang garage cabinets, and what to do when the wall is block rather than studs is in mounting into drywall, studs and masonry.

The six lockers

Best documented

Seville Classics UltraHD 30" Lockable Storage Locker

Seville Classics · UltraHD Lockable Storage Cabinet Locker, UHD16247

Seville Classics UltraHD 30" Lockable Storage Locker
$357.50 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 20, 2026.

The only locker here that publishes a total, a per-shelf figure and a description of what its lock actually does: 750 lb and 150 lb a shelf, behind stainless doors on a three-point lock that catches the top, the middle and the base at once.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Total, on four leveling feet with rubber base pads

Published as a total weight capacity of 750 lb (150 lb per shelf). Four shelves are supplied, so the published total is larger than four shelves at their own rating - the extra is the cabinet floor.

Published rating
750 lb totalRetailer listing
Per shelf
150 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
30" W x 18" D x 72" H exterior; 27" W x 17.13" D x 67.6" H interiorRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Powder-coated solid steel with stainless-steel doorsRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes a total AND a per-shelf figure, which most lockers do not
  • Three-point lock described in detail: top, middle and base, two keys
  • Three of the four solid steel shelves adjust in 1 inch increments
  • Leveling feet with rubber pads, for a garage slab that is never flat
What is not
  • No steel thickness or gauge published anywhere on the listing
  • Nothing published about anchoring a 72 inch cabinet to the wall
  • Roughly three times the price of the budget lockers here
  • 30 inches wide, narrower than the budget cabinets at half the price

The only locker here that publishes a total, a per-shelf figure and a description of its own lock: 750 lb and 150 lb a shelf, behind stainless doors on a three-point system that catches the top, the middle and the base at once. Four solid steel shelves, three of them adjustable in 1 inch increments, on leveling feet with rubber pads — which matters on a slab that slopes to the door.

The costs are real. It is about three times the price of the budget lockers, it is 30 inches wide where they are 36, and for all the disclosure it publishes no steel thickness at all, which two cabinets at a third of the price do. Nor does the listing say a word about fixing a six foot cabinet to a wall. You are paying for figures that fit together and a lock that is described rather than asserted.

Best value

INTERGREAT 72" Locking Steel Cabinet

INTERGREAT · ITBWHITE71 Metal Storage Cabinet

INTERGREAT 72" Locking Steel Cabinet
$115.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 20, 2026.

The most disclosure per dollar on this page: a published steel thickness of 0.88 mm, 180 lb a shelf, 900 lb total, and the only listing here that names the reason for the holes in its back panel - so the cabinet cannot topple.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per layer; two pre-drilled holes in the back for wall fixing

Published as "180 pounds per layer, up to a maximum of 900 lbs". The listing also states two pre-drilled holes in the back panel for mounting to the wall, expressly to avoid the cabinet toppling over.

Published rating
180 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Secondary rating
900 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
72" H x 32" W x 16" D; four adjustable shelves behind two doorsRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
0.88 mm cold-rolled steelRetailer listing
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes a steel thickness, which most of this category does not
  • 180 lb per shelf and a 900 lb maximum, both stated
  • Names the anti-tip purpose of the two mounting holes in its back
  • Lowest price bracket on this page
What is not
  • 16 inches deep, the shallowest cabinet here
  • Four shelves rather than five, so fewer levels than its rivals
  • Two mounting holes is the whole of the published fixing detail
  • Assembly required, on a 72 inch flat-packed steel box

The most disclosure per dollar on the page. It publishes a steel thickness — 0.88 mm, which is 0.035 inches — along with 180 lb a shelf and a 900 lb maximum, and it is the only listing here that says what the two holes in its back panel are for: mounting it to the wall so it cannot topple. That sentence is worth more than the price difference to anything above it.

It is the shallowest cabinet here at 16 inches, and it has four shelves where its rivals have five, so the usable volume is genuinely smaller than the 36 by 18 inch boxes. Two mounting holes is also the entire published fixing detail — no fastener, no stud spacing. And like everything in this bracket it arrives flat-packed, which on a 72 inch steel cabinet is an afternoon and a second pair of hands.

Most space for the money

SISESOL 72" Wide Metal Storage Cabinet

SISESOL · 72 x 36 x 18 Metal Storage Cabinet

SISESOL 72" Wide Metal Storage Cabinet
$174.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 20, 2026.

Three feet wide, eighteen inches deep and five adjustable shelves at a published 180 lb each, for the price of a tank of gas over the narrower budget lockers. It is also the only listing here that publishes what the cabinet weighs empty, which turns out to be the most revealing number on the page.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per shelf, five adjustable shelves; no wall fixing stated

Published as 900 lb total with each shelf holding 180 lb. Five shelves at 180 lb is exactly the 900 lb total, so the stated total is the sum of the shelves rather than a separate figure for the cabinet.

Published rating
180 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Secondary rating
900 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
72" H x 36" W x 18" D; five adjustable shelves; 91 lb emptyRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Cold-rolled steel, powder-coatedRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • 36 inches wide and 18 deep, the most interior volume on this page
  • Five adjustable shelves at a published 180 lb each
  • Three-point lock with two keys
  • Publishes its own empty weight, which almost no listing does
What is not
  • The 900 lb total is just five shelves added up, not a separate figure
  • No steel thickness published
  • Nothing published about anchoring it to the wall
  • 91 lb of flat-packed steel to assemble, realistically a two-person job

Three feet wide, eighteen inches deep, five adjustable shelves at a published 180 lb each: the most interior volume on this page, for a few dollars over the narrower budget cabinets. It also publishes its own empty weight, 91 lb, which almost no listing in this category does and which is the single most useful number here once you start thinking about what happens when the thing is full.

The 900 lb total is five shelves multiplied by 180, so it is not an independent figure about the carcass. No steel thickness is published, and nothing on the listing mentions anchoring it. Eighteen inches deep and three feet wide also means a large flat-pack and a genuinely two-person assembly, on a cabinet whose stated capacity is ten times what it weighs.

Most conservative claim

Letaya 72" Metal Garage Storage Locker

Letaya · 72 in Metal Garage Storage Cabinet

Letaya 72" Metal Garage Storage Locker
$174.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 20, 2026.

Publishes a 0.8 mm steel thickness and the most conservative shelf figure in the budget bracket - 120 lb where its rivals claim 180 on cabinets of the same size and price. On a page about who will commit to a number, the smaller claim is the more interesting one.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per shelf; pre-drilled holes in the back allow wall mounting

Published as shelves holding up to 120 lb. No total is published for the cabinet. The listing states pre-drilled holes in the back panel for wall mounting, without saying what fastener or wall that assumes.

Published rating
120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
72" H x 36" W x 18" D; five adjustable shelves, six levels in totalRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
0.8 mm steel frameRetailer listing
Material
Powder-coated steel, welded frame with reinforced doorsRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes a steel thickness as well as a shelf figure
  • Five adjustable shelves across six levels, 36 inches wide
  • Three-point lock with reinforcing steel bars in the doors
  • Adjustable feet and pre-drilled holes for fixing it to a wall
What is not
  • 120 lb a shelf is the lowest published figure in the budget bracket
  • No total capacity published for the cabinet
  • The wall-fixing holes come with no fastener or wall type stated
  • Priced at the top of the budget bracket for the lowest shelf claim

The same 72 by 36 by 18 inch box as the SISESOL, at the same sort of price, publishing 120 lb a shelf where its rival claims 180. It also publishes a 0.8 mm steel thickness, a welded frame with reinforcing bars in the doors, adjustable feet, and pre-drilled holes in the back for fixing it to a wall. On a page about which sellers commit to a number, the one making the smaller claim on the same hardware is worth a look.

Read the other way, you are paying the top of the budget bracket for the lowest published shelf figure on the page, and no cabinet total appears anywhere. The back holes are stated without a fastener, a wall type or the word “tip”. And 0.8 mm is thinner than the INTERGREAT below it in price, so the conservative shelf figure may simply be the honest consequence of thinner steel.

Biggest

Seville Classics UltraHD 60" Storage Locker

Seville Classics · UltraHD Extra-Wide Storage Cabinet Locker, UHDK20062B

Seville Classics UltraHD 60" Storage Locker
$649.97 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 20, 2026.

Five feet wide, two feet deep and six adjustable shelves - by a distance the largest locker here. The published capacity is 800 lb, which is 50 lb more than the same brand publishes for a cabinet half the width, and no per-shelf figure is given at all.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Stated overall capacity; no per-shelf figure published

Published as an overall capacity of up to 800 lb across six adjustable shelves. Seville publishes 750 lb and 150 lb per shelf for its 30 inch cabinet, so the wider model gains 50 lb of published capacity and loses the per-shelf figure.

Published rating
800 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
60" W x 24" D x 72" H; six height-adjustable shelvesRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
All-steel construction with stainless-steel doorsRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • 60 inches wide and 24 deep, twice the footprint of anything else here
  • Six height-adjustable shelves
  • Three-point locking on stainless doors, as on the narrower UltraHD
  • One cabinet covers a wall run that would otherwise need two
What is not
  • 800 lb total is only 50 lb more than the 30 inch model in the same range
  • No per-shelf figure published, unlike its narrower sibling
  • The highest price on this page by a wide margin
  • 24 inches deep needs real floor space, and it still is not anchored

Five feet wide, two feet deep, six height-adjustable shelves and the same three-point stainless doors as the 30 inch UltraHD. If the plan is one cabinet instead of two, this is the one product here that covers a whole wall bay on its own, and the extra depth takes storage bins and cases that will not fit the 16 and 18 inch cabinets.

The published figures do not scale with the box. Seville states 800 lb overall for this cabinet against 750 lb for the 30 inch model — twice the width and 24 inches of depth for 50 lb more capacity — and drops the per-shelf figure entirely, so the number you would actually plan a shelf against is gone. It is also the most expensive thing on this page by a distance, and nothing in the listing mentions anchoring it.

We would skip this one

risuoge 4-Door Metal Storage Locker

risuoge · DM-4D-B 4-Door Metal Storage Locker

risuoge 4-Door Metal Storage Locker
$107.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 20, 2026.

Four compartments, four separate locks and four sets of keys, which is genuinely the thing a shared garage or a workshop with more than one user needs. It publishes no capacity, no dimensions and no steel specification of any kind, so everything else about it is an adjective.

Published rating
Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
Dimensions
Not published
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Cold-rolled steel, matte powder-coatedRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Four compartments, each with its own lock and keys
  • Raised legs keep the base off a damp slab
  • The cheapest way here to give several people their own locked space
What is not
  • No weight capacity published, per compartment or overall
  • No cabinet dimensions published in the listing's features
  • No steel thickness or gauge published
  • Nothing published about fixing a tall, narrow locker to the wall

Four compartments, four separate locks, four sets of keys. That is a real need in a shared garage or a workshop with more than one user, and this is the cheapest way here to meet it. Raised legs keep the base off a damp slab, and each door has its own latch.

Everything else about it is an adjective. No weight capacity, per compartment or overall. No cabinet dimensions in the published features. No steel thickness, no gauge, nothing about fixing a tall narrow locker to a wall. “Heavy-duty cold rolled steel” with “strong load-bearing performance” is the whole of the specification. On a page that ranks on published figures, a listing with none of them cannot be anything but last.

The multi-door lockers publish nothing

This is not one bad listing. The four-door locker sub-category is where disclosure disappears entirely: the risuoge above publishes no capacity and no dimensions, and the Anxxsu four-door locker beside it in the same search results publishes 16 inch deep compartments, ventilation slots and name-tag holders, and again no weight capacity of any kind. Between them they cover the price range from about seventy to about a hundred and ten dollars, and neither will tell you what a compartment holds.

If separate locked compartments are the actual requirement — teenagers, tenants, a shared shop — you are buying without a figure, and the honest advice is to load them like the light-duty steel they are. If one lock for the whole cabinet is enough, every other product on this page publishes more.

What the national brand publishes, for comparison

Gladiator’s Premier Pre-Assembled Tall GearLocker is the closest thing in this category to a brand-name benchmark, and its own product page states 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per half-width shelf on a 30 by 65.25 by 18 inch cabinet. Set that beside the budget lockers here claiming 180 lb a shelf and 900 lb a cabinet, at a quarter of the money.

We are not featuring it, because when this page was built every Gladiator Premier listing we could find through the retail catalog came back out of stock, and this site does not send readers to a listing it cannot confirm is buyable. It is here as a reference point: the range with a warranty behind it publishes half the capacity of the range without one. Which of those numbers is describing the same test is not something any of these sellers will tell you.

A locker is the right answer when
  • Chemicals, blades or power tools need to be behind a lock
  • The contents should be out of sight rather than on display
  • Dust, road salt and damp are the enemy, not access speed
  • More than one person uses the garage and things go missing
  • The wall behind it has studs you can put two screws into
Open shelving is the better answer when
  • You reach for the contents twenty times a day
  • The load is heavy and low - batteries, jacks, fluids by the gallon
  • The items are long or awkward and will not fit a 16 to 24 inch box
  • Floor space is tight and the doors need room to swing
  • You want to see what you own without opening anything

Most garages want both, and the order usually goes shelving first for bulk, then one locker for the things that should not be reachable. If the shortlist is really about steel quality rather than locks, metal garage cabinets covers what a published gauge buys you; if it is about price, cheap garage cabinets ranks the discount bracket on the same published figures; and the floor-standing field as a whole is in best garage cabinets.

Questions

Common questions

How much weight can a garage storage locker hold?

Published per-shelf figures on the lockers compared here run from 120 lb to 180 lb, and published cabinet totals from 750 lb to 900 lb. Two of the six publish no capacity at all. Treat a total that is exactly the shelf figure multiplied by the number of shelves as a restatement rather than a second measurement.

Do you have to bolt a garage locker to the wall?

You should. A six foot steel cabinet can weigh under 100 lb empty and claim to hold 900 lb, so nearly all of the mass ends up high and in the contents, and a loaded door swinging open pulls it forward. Most of these cabinets have two pre-drilled holes in the back panel for exactly this. Two screws into studs is the whole job.

What is a three-point locking system?

Turning the handle throws a steel rod into the cabinet frame at the top and the bottom as well as latching in the middle, so the door cannot be levered open at a corner. Five of the six lockers here advertise one. It is a genuine improvement on a single cam latch, but none of these cabinets publishes a security rating and the doors are still sheet steel.

Is a garage locker better than a tool chest?

They solve different problems. A locker is a tall, shelved, lockable box for bulk and chemicals; a tool chest is drawers rated per drawer for hand tools you reach for constantly. The comparison is worked through in tool chests versus garage cabinets.

Are four-door lockers worth it for a garage?

Only if separate locked compartments are the actual requirement, because you are buying without published figures. Neither four-door locker we checked publishes a weight capacity, and one publishes no dimensions either. For a single-user garage, a two-door cabinet with adjustable shelves publishes far more and holds far more.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next