Skip to content
Steel Slat
Cabinets

Best wall mounted garage cabinets

A wall cabinet's rating describes the box. What holds it up is the wall, and five of these six listings say nothing about that at all.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.

Ranked

Quick picks

Ranked on whether a capacity is published and in what unit, then on whether the listing describes the fastener and the wall, then on what it discloses about its own construction, then on usable volume. Price breaks ties.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
Gladiator Premier 24" Wall GearBox
Best documented

Gladiator Premier 24" Wall GearBox

150 lb per unit and 50 lb per shelf, published by the maker.

A wall cabinet with a published figure and a wall system to hang it on150 lb totalManufacturer
2
VEVOR 26" Foldable Wall Cabinet
Most published detail

VEVOR 26" Foldable Wall Cabinet

240 lb total, 120 lb a shelf, and a 0.6 mm steel thickness.

A wall where depth is rationed and the contents need a lock120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
3
Eltean 30" Garage Wall Cabinet
Best value

Eltean 30" Garage Wall Cabinet

150 lb per shelf, with a retaining rail nothing else here has.

The most published shelf capacity for the money150 lb / shelfRetailer listing
4
STEELIST Steel Wall Cabinet
Best for a masonry wall

STEELIST Steel Wall Cabinet

The only listing that names its fastener and its substrates.

A block or poured-concrete garage wall120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
5
VEVOR 30" Metal Wall Cabinet
Most storage levels

VEVOR 30" Metal Wall Cabinet

Four adjustable levels at 120 lb per shelf.

The most adjustable storage levels for the money120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
—
Rubbermaid Wall-Mounted Storage Cabinet
We would skip this one

Rubbermaid Wall-Mounted Storage Cabinet

The title says 150 lb; the bullet underneath says 105 lb.

Nothing here, at this price, on these published numbers105 lb totalRetailer listing

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.

Short answer
Rank a wall cabinet on what its maker publishes and on whether the listing says anything about the wall. Gladiator’s Premier 24″ Wall GearBox is the only one here whose maker publishes both a per-unit figure (150 lb) and a per-shelf figure (50 lb), and it names the walls it suits. VEVOR’s folding FWC26 publishes both as well — 240 lb total and 120 lb per shelf — plus the only steel thickness on the page. STEELIST is the only one of the six whose listing names the fastener it ships with.

A wall cabinet is the only piece of garage storage that is rated twice and sold once. The cabinet has a capacity, printed on the listing. The installation has a capacity too — the fasteners, the wall behind them, and whether there is a stud where the screw goes — and that one is almost never printed anywhere. You buy the first number and you live with the second.

That gap is wider here than anywhere else on this site. Of the six cabinets below, one names the fastener it ships with and the walls it is meant for. Two publish a figure for the cabinet and a figure for a shelf. Three publish only a per-shelf figure and nothing for the cabinet as a whole, which is the number the screws actually carry. And one publishes only a total, in a listing that contradicts its own title.

How this was judged

Four criteria, decided before anything was ranked, applied in this order.

First: is a capacity published, and in what unit? Three units appear across six cabinets — per unit, per shelf, and a total — which breaks cross-brand comparison before anybody starts. A cabinet that publishes both a total and a per-shelf figure ranks above one that publishes a single number, and a number in any unit ranks above no number.

Second: does the listing describe the wall? A capacity figure is a statement about the box. It becomes a statement about your garage only once you know what the cabinet hangs on and what fastener goes through it. One listing of six addresses this. It is ranked for it.

Third: what does it disclose about its own construction? Not one of these six publishes a steel gauge. Two name the steel — cold-rolled SPCC on the VEVOR, solid steel with stainless doors on the Seville — and the rest describe their material in adjectives. A brand that names its material has committed to something checkable.

Fourth: usable volume and the working details. Depth, shelf count and adjustability, whether it locks, whether it vents. These decide whether the cabinet is pleasant to own; they do not rescue a cabinet that failed the first three.

Published figures read from each maker's product page or retail listing on 19 September 2026. 'Not published' means the figure does not appear on the listing, which is itself the finding.

CabinetPublished capacityPer shelfSize (W x H x D)Mounting stated
Gladiator Premier 24″ Wall GearBox150 lb / unit50 lb24 x 24.25 x 12 inBare studs and drywall, or Gladiator wall systems
VEVOR FWC26 (folding)240 lb total120 lb26 in; folds 3.5–12 inNot published
Eltean 30″ wall cabinetNot published150 lb30 x 30 x 15 inFour pre-drilled holes
STEELIST steel wall cabinetNot published120 lb26 x 28 x 13.8 inExpansion bolts; concrete, brick or solid studs
VEVOR WC3030Not published120 lb30 x 30 x 12.2 inRail-mount back panel
Rubbermaid FG788800105 lb totalNot publishedNot publishedNot published

Read the table across rather than down and the pattern is hard to miss. The cabinet with the most published detail has the smallest published shelf figure. The cabinets with the biggest shelf figures publish nothing for the cabinet as a whole. And in the column that decides whether any of it survives contact with your garage wall, four cells are empty.

50 lb

The per-shelf figure Gladiator publishes for the Premier 24 in. Wall GearBox - the most expensive cabinet on this page, and the only one whose maker publishes a per-shelf number on its own website rather than in a retail bullet. Cabinets at a third of the price claim 120 and 150 lb a shelf. That gap is not proof the Gladiator is weaker. It is a measure of who is willing to print a number they have to honor for the life of the cabinet.

Gladiator Premier 24 in. Wall GearBox product page

The number that is missing from almost every one of these listings

Every capacity here assumes the cabinet stays on the wall. None of these makers except STEELIST tells you what that assumption costs, so the figures have to come from elsewhere on this site — from the one manufacturer in this category candid enough to publish the same product twice, mounted two ways.

Wall Control publishes 200 lb per panel when its pegboard is screwed into studs, and 100 lb per panel into drywall anchors. Same panel, same hooks, half the capacity, and the only thing that changed was what the screw landed in. There is no reason to think a steel cabinet behaves differently: a 150 lb shelf rating hung on hollow-wall anchors is not a 150 lb shelf.

Gladiator’s own wall system gives the other half of the picture. GearTrack channels publish 75 lb per linear foot into studs, and the Premier 24″ Wall GearBox is 24 inches wide — 2 feet, or exactly 150 lb of rail under a cabinet the same company rates at 150 lb. On Gladiator’s own track the two numbers now coincide exactly, with no margin either way. That is the arithmetic every other cabinet here leaves you to do without a rail figure, a fastener, or a stud spacing to do it with.

The six cabinets

Best documented

Gladiator Premier 24" Wall GearBox

Gladiator · Premier Pre-Assembled 24" Wall GearBox, GAWG241D

Gladiator Premier 24" Wall GearBox
$239.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.

The only wall cabinet here whose maker publishes both numbers on its own product page: 150 lb per unit and 50 lb per shelf. It arrives pre-assembled and welded, carries a lifetime limited warranty, and - unusually for this page - Gladiator states what it mounts to. It is also the most expensive cabinet here, the narrowest, and the smallest published per-shelf figure of the six.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit; Gladiator states it mounts directly to bare studs and drywall, or onto a Gladiator wall system via the included hanger brackets

Published as "150 lbs/unit" and "50 lbs/shelf" on Gladiator's own product page, and repeated on the Amazon listing. Retailer copy for this line adds that the 150 lb rating derives from a 600 lb lab test and the 50 lb shelf rating from a 200 lb lab test; Gladiator's own page does not state that, so it is not treated as a published spec here. Unlike the rest of this page, the fastener itself is still not named - only the substrates.

Published rating
150 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
50 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
24" W x 24.25" H x 12" D; one adjustable shelf, pre-assembledManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Lifetime limitedManufacturer
What is good
  • Publishes a per-unit AND a per-shelf figure, on the maker's own page
  • States what it mounts to: bare studs and drywall, or a Gladiator wall system
  • Lifetime limited warranty, the longest published on this page
  • Arrives pre-assembled and welded, so there is no assembly-square to get wrong
  • Hanger brackets let it be repositioned along a GearTrack or GearWall run
What is not
  • 50 lb per shelf is the lowest published shelf figure here, by a wide margin
  • Only one shelf, where most cabinets on this page have two or more
  • 24 inches wide is the narrowest cabinet here, for the highest price
  • No steel gauge or thickness published anywhere we could find
  • The fastener is still not named, only the wall types it suits

The only cabinet on this page whose figures come from the manufacturer rather than a retail bullet: 150 lb per unit and 50 lb per shelf, published on Gladiator’s own product page and repeated on the listing. It arrives pre-assembled and welded, carries a lifetime limited warranty, and — alone here apart from STEELIST — Gladiator states what it mounts to: bare studs and drywall, or a Gladiator wall system on the included hanger brackets, which let the cabinet be lifted off and repositioned anywhere along a GearTrack or GearWall run.

The honest costs are the price, the size and the number. At 24 inches this is the narrowest cabinet here and the dearest, for well under the interior volume of the 30 inch cabinets below, and 50 lb per shelf is the smallest shelf figure on the page by a wide margin — on the single adjustable shelf it comes with. Gladiator still publishes no steel gauge. You are paying for a published figure, a warranty that stands behind it for the life of the cabinet, and a system to hang it on.

Most published detail

VEVOR 26" Foldable Wall Cabinet

VEVOR · FWC26 Foldable Wall Cabinet

VEVOR 26" Foldable Wall Cabinet
$104.90 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.

Publishes more than most wall cabinets manage: 240 lb for the cabinet, 120 lb per shelf and a 0.6 mm steel thickness. It also folds flat against the wall when it is empty, which is the only cabinet on this site that gives depth back when you are not using it.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per shelf; 240 lb published for the cabinet. Fastener and wall type not stated

Published as each shelf supporting up to 120 lb with a total loading capacity of 240 lb. Both figures appear on the listing, which is more than most wall cabinets publish.

Published rating
120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Secondary rating
240 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
26" cabinet; published as folding to 3.5" and opening to 12"Retailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
0.6 mm steelRetailer listing
Material
Powder-coated steel with four magnetic doors and a keyed lockRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes a total AND a per-shelf figure, which most wall cabinets do not
  • Publishes its steel thickness, which almost nothing in this class does
  • Folds to a published 3.5 inches off the wall when empty
  • Magnetic doors with a keyed lock, and cord holes for a charger inside
What is not
  • 0.6 mm is the thinnest published steel of any cabinet on this site
  • 240 lb is a modest total, and the folding frame adds a hinge to the load path
  • Nothing published about the fastener or the wall behind it
  • No full height and depth published, only the fold range

The only cabinet on this page that publishes three things: 240 lb for the cabinet, 120 lb per shelf, and a 0.6 mm steel thickness. It also folds — published as 3.5 inches against the wall closed and 12 inches open — which is the one product here that gives depth back when it is empty. Four magnetic doors, a keyed lock with two keys, a shelf that adjusts in 1 inch steps, and pre-drilled holes for a charger cord.

Read the thickness it publishes before the capacity: 0.6 mm is thinner than the 0.8 and 0.88 mm the budget lockers on this site publish, and a folding frame puts a hinge in the load path. Two hundred and forty pounds is a modest total, nothing is published about the fastener or the wall, and the listing gives no full height and depth — only the fold range.

Best value

Eltean 30" Garage Wall Cabinet

Eltean · BG-G-01 30" Garage Wall Cabinet

Eltean 30" Garage Wall Cabinet
$89.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.

The highest published per-shelf figure here at 150 lb, on a 30 inch cabinet with a retaining rail on the shelf and ventilation holes in the door. It publishes nothing for the cabinet as a whole, and four pre-drilled holes is all it says about how it attaches.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per shelf; four pre-drilled mounting holes, wall type not stated

Published as 150 lb each shelf. No figure is published for the cabinet as a whole, which is the number the fasteners actually carry.

Published rating
150 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
30" W x 30" H x 15" D; one adjustable shelf with a retaining railRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Heavy-duty steel with a reinforced frameRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • 150 lb per shelf published, the highest per-shelf figure on this page
  • A retaining rail on the shelf, which nothing else here has
  • Ventilation holes in the door and a keyed lock
  • 30 inches wide and 15 deep, the most usable volume in the budget bracket
What is not
  • No capacity published for the cabinet as a whole
  • Four pre-drilled holes is the only mounting detail published
  • No steel gauge published
  • One shelf, so the 150 lb figure describes one of two usable levels

One hundred and fifty pounds a shelf is the highest per-shelf figure published on this page, and it arrives on a 30 by 30 by 15 inch cabinet costing a fraction of the Gladiator. It is also the only cabinet here with a retaining rail on the shelf — a small detail that stops a socket set sliding out when the door swings open — plus ventilation holes in the door and a keyed lock.

The gap is the one that runs through this whole category: no figure for the cabinet as a whole. With one adjustable shelf, 150 lb describes one of two usable levels, and nothing tells you what both levels loaded at once do to the four pre-drilled holes in the back panel. “Heavy-duty steel” is the only construction detail published, with no gauge behind it.

Best for a masonry wall

STEELIST Steel Wall Cabinet

STEELIST · Wall cabinet-04 Steel Wall Cabinet

STEELIST Steel Wall Cabinet
$79.98 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.

The only listing on this page that names the fastener and the wall it is for: supplied expansion bolts, for concrete, brick or solid studs. That is the sentence every other maker leaves out, and it is worth more than another 30 lb of claimed shelf capacity.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per shelf; pre-drilled back panel with supplied expansion bolts for concrete, brick or solid studs

Published as 120 lb per shelf. Alone among the cabinets compared here, the listing states both the fastener supplied and the substrates it is meant for.

Published rating
120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
25.98" W x 27.95" H x 13.78" D; one removable, adjustable shelfRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Steel, powder-coatedRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • The only listing here that names its fastener and the walls it suits
  • 120 lb per shelf published
  • Removable, height-adjustable shelf
  • Lowest price bracket on this page
What is not
  • No capacity published for the cabinet as a whole
  • Expansion bolts are for masonry - a stud wall needs different fasteners
  • 26 inches wide, the narrowest cabinet here
  • No steel gauge published

Alone in this comparison, the STEELIST listing finishes the sentence every other maker starts: pre-drilled back panel, heavy-duty expansion bolts supplied, for concrete, brick or solid studs. That single line tells you what the cabinet is designed to hang on, which is more decision-useful than another 30 lb of claimed shelf capacity, and it makes this the obvious starting point for a block-walled garage where the published ratings of everything else stop applying.

The rest is ordinary and priced accordingly: 120 lb per shelf, one removable and adjustable shelf, a keyed lock, and the narrowest body here at 26 inches. No cabinet total is published, no gauge is published, and the supplied bolts are masonry fasteners — on a wood stud wall you are buying your own hardware, which is exactly the conversation the other five listings avoid having.

Most storage levels

VEVOR 30" Metal Wall Cabinet

VEVOR · WC3030 Metal Wall Cabinet

VEVOR 30" Metal Wall Cabinet
$99.90 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.

Four adjustable levels inside a 30 inch cube of cold-rolled steel, at 120 lb per shelf, on a rail-mount back. The most storage per dollar here - and, like almost everything in this category, silent on what the whole cabinet weighs when those four levels are full.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per shelf; rail-mount back panel, wall type and fastener not stated

Published as up to 120 lb per shelf across four adjustable levels. No figure is published for the cabinet as a whole.

Published rating
120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
30" W x 12.2" D x 30" H; four adjustable shelf levelsRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
SPCC cold-rolled steel, powder-coatedRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Four adjustable levels, more than any other cabinet here
  • 120 lb per shelf published
  • 30 inches tall and wide, on a 12 inch depth that suits a narrow garage
  • Rail-mount back panel and a cable port through the base
What is not
  • No capacity published for the cabinet as a whole
  • Nothing published about the fastener or the wall behind it
  • 12 inches deep, the shallowest cabinet on this page
  • Steel named but no gauge published

Four adjustable levels inside a 30 inch steel cube, at a published 120 lb per shelf, on a rail-mount back panel that hangs the cabinet flush and lets it slide along the rail. VEVOR also names the steel — cold-rolled SPCC, powder-coated — which is one more construction fact than most of this category publishes, and there is a cable port in the base for charging whatever lives inside.

At 12.2 inches it is the shallowest cabinet here, which is the right trade in a narrow garage and the wrong one if you meant to store paint cans and jugs. As everywhere else in this bracket, no total is published: four levels at 120 lb would be 480 lb of claimed shelf capacity hanging on a back panel with no stated fastener, which is precisely the arithmetic the listing is not asking you to do.

We would skip this one

Rubbermaid Wall-Mounted Storage Cabinet

Rubbermaid · FG788800MICHR Wall-Mounted Storage Cabinet

Rubbermaid Wall-Mounted Storage Cabinet
$189.02 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked November 3, 2026.

The listing contradicts itself twice on the same page: the title sells a 150-pound capacity while the bullet underneath says it holds a maximum of 105 lb, and the title says three shelves while the bullets say four. We record the lower figure, and it is why this one is the skip.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Total; wall type and fastener not stated

The listing title claims a 150-pound capacity; the feature bullet on the same listing says it "holds a maximum of 105 lbs". We record the lower of two contradictory published figures, as we do everywhere on this site.

Published rating
105 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
Not published
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
ResinRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Resin will not rust in a damp or unheated garage
  • Snap-together assembly with no tools
  • Lockable, with one ventilated and one solid shelf
What is not
  • Title says 150 lb, the bullet says 105 lb - the same listing, two figures
  • Title says three shelves, the bullets say four included
  • Shelves cannot be adjusted or removed
  • Priced well above steel cabinets that publish more capacity

The best-known name on the page, and the listing disagrees with itself twice. The title sells a 150-pound capacity; the feature bullet directly underneath says the cabinet holds a maximum of 105 lbs. The title says three shelves; the bullets say four are included and that they cannot be adjusted or removed. Both figures cannot be right, so this site records the lower one — the same rule applied to every contradictory listing we have found in this category.

Set the contradiction aside and what remains is snap-together resin that will not rust, at a price above steel cabinets publishing two to three times the capacity, with fixed shelves and nothing said about mounting. A damp, unheated garage is the one case where resin genuinely beats painted steel. It is not enough to outweigh paying more for a number the seller cannot state consistently.

When a listing disagrees with itself

The Rubbermaid is not an isolated case, which is why the rule matters more than the product. While checking this category we found a second VEVOR wall cabinet whose title reads “120lbs Load Capacity per Shelf” while its own first bullet claims 200 lb per shelf and 600 lb in total. It is not featured here for that reason. And Manhattan Comfort’s Fortress wall cabinet manages the exact inverse: it publishes a 24-gauge steel construction figure, which almost nothing in this category does, and then publishes no weight capacity at all.

The standing rule on this site is simple and it is applied without exception: where a seller publishes two figures for the same thing, we record the lower, we say where both came from, and the product loses ground for the contradiction rather than gaining it from the flattering number.

Hang it on the wall when
  • The floor is parked on, swept, or already full
  • You want the contents at chest height rather than on your knees
  • The wall is wood studs at a known spacing, or solid block you can bolt into
  • The load is hand tools, hardware, paint and consumables
  • You want the cabinet off a floor that gets wet
Stand it on the floor when
  • The load is heavy: batteries, jacks, power tools in cases, fluids by the gallon
  • The wall is a finished partition you cannot find studs in
  • You need depth - floor cabinets run 18 to 24 inches against a wall cabinet's 12 to 18
  • You are renting and cannot put a line of lag screws in the wall
  • The run needs a worktop, which is a base cabinet's job

Most garages end up wanting both: a base run for weight and a wall run for reach. If you are planning that layout rather than buying a single cabinet, best garage cabinets ranks the floor-standing options on the same disclosure-first basis, and metal garage cabinets covers what a steel gauge actually buys you. When it comes to putting these on the wall, the sequence and the fasteners are in how to hang garage cabinets, and what changes when the wall is block rather than studs is in mounting into drywall, studs and masonry.

Questions

Common questions

How much weight can a wall mounted garage cabinet hold?

Published figures for the cabinets compared here run from 50 lb per shelf (Gladiator) to 150 lb per shelf (Eltean), and from 105 lb to 240 lb for a whole cabinet. Every one of those numbers describes the cabinet, not the installation. What your wall holds depends on the fastener and what it lands in, and only one of these six listings says anything about that.

Do garage wall cabinets have to be screwed into studs?

Into studs, or into masonry with the right anchor. Drywall anchors alone cut capacity sharply: Wall Control publishes 200 lb per pegboard panel into studs against 100 lb into drywall anchors — the same panel, half the rating. Find the studs, mark the centers, and treat any cabinet hung on anchors alone as carrying a fraction of its published number. Slatwall is not a substitute for either: no panel maker publishes a rating that covers a loaded cabinet, as set out in can you hang cabinets on slatwall.

How high should garage wall cabinets hang?

About 18 inches of clearance above a worktop keeps the surface usable. With no worktop underneath, roughly 54 inches from the floor to the bottom of the cabinet puts the lower shelf at chest height and leaves the wall below free for a bench later. The full sequence is in how to hang garage cabinets.

Can you hang a wall cabinet on a concrete block garage wall?

Yes, with a masonry anchor sized to the load rather than the product rating. The STEELIST cabinet here is the only one that ships expansion bolts and names concrete and brick on its listing. On block, the fastener becomes the limiting factor and the manufacturer’s figure stops describing your installation — the case covered in mounting into drywall, studs and masonry.

What happened to the Seville UltraHD stacker wall cabinet?

It was our pick here on published capacity — 300 lb total for a 30 by 18 by 18.5 inch steel cabinet — and the listing went unavailable, with no live replacement for the same model at the time of writing (checked 27 September 2026). Seville still sells taller UltraHD cabinets and a two-piece stacker set, but not this single wall unit. The current pick in that slot is VEVOR’s folding FWC26, which publishes a total, a per-shelf figure and its steel thickness.

Are cheap metal wall cabinets strong enough for a garage?

For hand tools, hardware, paint and consumables, the published per-shelf figures in the budget bracket — 120 to 150 lb — are plausible for pressed steel and are more than most people load a wall cabinet with. The gap is not the shelf. It is that none of them publishes a figure for the whole cabinet, a steel gauge, or a fastener, so the installation is entirely your judgment call.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next