Skip to content
Steel Slat
Slatwall

Can you hang cabinets on slatwall?

A cabinet is the one load a slot was never rated for. Here is what the published figures do and do not cover.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 23, 2026.

Ranked

Quick picks

The cabinet route first, because it is the answer to the question, then the one wall system whose maker also makes cabinets for it, then what slatwall is genuinely rated to carry. Ranked on what each maker publishes about the fixing, not on price.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
STEELIST Steel Wall Cabinet
Best for an actual cabinet

STEELIST Steel Wall Cabinet

120 lb per shelf, and the only listing that names its fastener and its wall.

A block or poured-concrete garage wall120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
2
Gladiator 4' GearTrack Channels (2-Pack)
The one cabinet-on-wall-system path

Gladiator 4' GearTrack Channels (2-Pack)

75 lb per linear foot, and Gladiator's own wall cabinets hang on it.

Heavy single items — bikes, ladders, wheelbarrows — on a stud wall75 lb / linear ftManufacturer
3
WETOECOTEC 8" Slatwall Shelf Bracket, 12-Pack
What slatwall will carry: a shelf

WETOECOTEC 8" Slatwall Shelf Bracket, 12-Pack

30 lb per bracket - the only slatwall accessory here publishing a figure.

Putting an actual shelf on a slatwall rather than hanging from it30 lb totalRetailer listing
4
MENEONE Slatwall Baskets and Hooks, 32-Piece Set
Baskets instead of a cabinet

MENEONE Slatwall Baskets and Hooks, 32-Piece Set

Four baskets and 28 hooks, and no rating on any of the 32 pieces.

Filling a finished slatwall in one order, baskets includedNot published
5
Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels
The panel whose rating you can check

Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels

75 lb per sq ft with the fastener and the stud spacing both stated.

A full wall done once, on a normal stud-framed garage75 lb / sq ftInstall doc

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 23, 2026.

Short answer
No. No slatwall manufacturer publishes a rating for a loaded cabinet, and no cabinet sold on Amazon mounts to generic slatwall — the accessories that exist are baskets, bins, hooks and shelf brackets. Fasten a real cabinet into studs or masonry instead, and keep the slatwall for what it is rated for.

This page exists because “slatwall cabinets” is a phrase people search and the industry never defined. It can mean two different things: a cabinet that hangs on slatwall, or a cabinet that happens to be sold next to slatwall by the same brand. Only one of those is a load-bearing question, and it is the one with no published answer.

What the accessory market actually sells

Start with availability, because it settles more of this than any calculation. Search the live Amazon catalog for a slatwall-mounted cabinet and what comes back is baskets, mesh bins, plastic bins, hook sets and shelf brackets — every time, across every phrasing. There is no slatwall cabinet in the generic accessory market. Not a discontinued one, not an expensive one: the product class does not exist.

That is not an oversight by a whole industry. It is a consequence of what a slot is. A slatwall accessory engages a formed groove by hooking over its top lip, which is an excellent way to carry something that hangs straight down and a poor way to carry something that wants to rotate off the wall. A cabinet is the second thing.

The number every brand but one declines to publish

A hook holds a rake flat against the panel. A cabinet holds its contents roughly half its own depth away from the panel face, and that distance is the whole problem — because the published slatwall ratings are almost all stated without one.

Every figure is the manufacturer's own, already documented in this registry with its source. Only storeWALL publishes what happens to its rating as the load moves away from the wall - which is why it is the only row that can say anything useful about a cabinet.

SystemPublished ratingLoad distance stated?Fixing spec published
storeWALL Heavy Duty300 lb / sq ftYes — 165 lb at 4″HD InstallStrips
Proslat PVC Slatwall75 lb / sq ftNot published1-1/2″ #8, studs at 16″
Gladiator GearTrack75 lb / linear ftNot publishedBare studs, or drywall over studs
Gladiator GearWall50 lb / sq ftNot publishedNot published
WETOECOTEC 8″ bracket30 lb / bracketNot published — on an 8 inch cantileverClipped into the groove
Slatwall basket and hook setsNot publishedNot publishedClipped into the groove

Read the third column. One manufacturer in the category publishes what its rating becomes as the load moves off the wall, and the answer is sobering: storeWALL’s Heavy Duty panel carries 300 lb per square foot at the panel surface and 165 lb four inches out. The load nearly halves across four inches, on the strongest panel on this site.

45%lost over 4 inches

storeWALL publishes 300 lb per sq ft at the panel surface and 165 lb at four inches from it — a 45 percent reduction, on the highest-rated panel in this category. A wall cabinet's contents sit further out than four inches. Every other brand here publishes only the surface figure.

storeWALL Heavy Duty

A 12 to 14 inch deep wall cabinet puts the middle of its contents six or seven inches off the panel face — past the point where the only published derating curve in the category has already given up nearly half its capacity. We are not going to extend storeWALL’s two data points into a cabinet rating, because two points are not a curve and storeWALL does not publish one. The honest statement is narrower and more useful: the one brand that tells you how distance affects its panel tells you that distance matters enormously, and nobody publishes the figure at a cabinet’s distance at all.

The one documented exception, and the gap in it

There is exactly one brand in this category whose own wall cabinets are designed to hang on its own wall system. Gladiator’s Wall GearBox ships with hanger brackets that let it be repositioned along GearTrack channels and GearWall panels, and Gladiator publishes two figures for it: 150 lb per unit and 40 lb per shelf.

That is a real, documented path and it is worth knowing about. It also has a hole in the middle of it. Gladiator does not state, anywhere we can find, what the wall behind the cabinet has to be — no substrate, no fastener, no stud spacing for the cabinet itself. So the 150 lb figure describes the box, and the question of whether your wall will hold the box is left to you. The 40 lb per shelf figure is also the lowest per-shelf number of any wall cabinet on this site, by a wide margin, which is what an engineering figure tends to look like next to a marketing one.

One practical note on that route: the Wall GearBox itself has no live Amazon listing as we write — the Creators catalog returns it as currently unavailable with no offer. The GearTrack channel it hangs on is in stock and is a pick below; the cabinet is not, so there is no buy button for it on this page. The brand’s two halves and the unit-conversion trap between them are set out in full in the Gladiator wall system review.

What slatwall is genuinely rated to carry

The useful version of this question is not “can I hang a cabinet” but “what gets me enclosed storage on this wall”. Three answers, in descending order of how much their makers will tell you.

A bracket shelf. The WETOECOTEC bracket publishes 30 lb per bracket, which is the only unambiguous figure in the slatwall accessory market, and it names the panel brands it fits instead of saying “most slatwall”. Two brackets and a board give you a shelf; the shelf gives you the storage a cabinet would have. What it does not give you is a door, and what the listing does not give you is a load distance on an eight inch cantilever, which is the figure that would matter most.

Baskets. A deep wire basket is the closest thing the accessory market has to an enclosed box, and sets like the MENEONE 32-piece publish real construction detail — hardened carbon steel, vinyl coating, three-point welding. They publish no weight rating for any of the 32 pieces, which is the finding and the reason this sits below the bracket.

Bins. Plastic slatwall bins carry small parts at negligible weight, which makes them the one accessory class where the absent rating genuinely does not matter. Nothing in a parts bin is heavy enough to test a slot.

The picks

Best for an actual cabinet

STEELIST Steel Wall Cabinet

STEELIST · Wall cabinet-04 Steel Wall Cabinet

STEELIST Steel Wall Cabinet
$79.98 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 23, 2026.

The only listing on this page that names the fastener and the wall it is for: supplied expansion bolts, for concrete, brick or solid studs. That is the sentence every other maker leaves out, and it is worth more than another 30 lb of claimed shelf capacity.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per shelf; pre-drilled back panel with supplied expansion bolts for concrete, brick or solid studs

Published as 120 lb per shelf. Alone among the cabinets compared here, the listing states both the fastener supplied and the substrates it is meant for.

Published rating
120 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
25.98" W x 27.95" H x 13.78" D; one removable, adjustable shelfRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Steel, powder-coatedRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • The only listing here that names its fastener and the walls it suits
  • 120 lb per shelf published
  • Removable, height-adjustable shelf
  • Lowest price bracket on this page
What is not
  • No capacity published for the cabinet as a whole
  • Expansion bolts are for masonry - a stud wall needs different fasteners
  • 26 inches wide, the narrowest cabinet here
  • No steel gauge published

If what you want is a cabinet, this is the answer, and the reason is the sentence every other cabinet listing omits: it names the fastener it supplies and the walls it is for — expansion bolts, for concrete, brick or solid studs. That single line is worth more than another 30 lb of claimed shelf capacity, because it is the only way to know the cabinet and the wall were considered together. It publishes 120 lb per shelf on a removable, height-adjustable shelf.

It publishes no capacity for the cabinet as a whole, only per shelf. The supplied expansion bolts are masonry fasteners, so a stud wall needs different hardware that you buy separately — the distinction is set out in mounting to drywall versus masonry. At roughly 26 inches it is the narrowest wall cabinet on this site, and no steel gauge is published anywhere.

The one cabinet-on-wall-system path

Gladiator 4' GearTrack Channels (2-Pack)

Gladiator · GearTrack Channels

Gladiator 4' GearTrack Channels (2-Pack)
$29.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 23, 2026.

Rated 75 lb per LINEAR foot while Gladiator's own GearWall is rated 50 lb per SQUARE foot. Convert the channel's 6 inch height and the rail works out at roughly 150 lb per square foot of wall it occupies — three times the panel, from the same brand, hidden entirely by the change of unit.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Bare wood studs, or drywall over wood studs

Published as 'Holds up to 75 lbs. per linear foot' — a different unit from the GearWall panel sold alongside it.

Published rating
75 lb / linear ftManufacturer
Dimensions
Not published
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Highest normalized capacity of any Gladiator wall product
  • Mounting substrate is stated: bare studs or drywall over studs
  • Shares the Gladiator accessory range with GearWall
What is not
  • Rated in a unit that cannot be compared to anything else without converting it
  • Covers a 6 inch band of wall, not a full panel field

The channel half of the Gladiator range, and the only wall product in this category whose maker also sells cabinets built to hang on it. 75 lb per linear foot published, with the substrate stated — bare wood studs, or drywall over wood studs — which is more than GearWall manages beside it. Normalized against the six inch band of wall it occupies, it works out at roughly three times the panel sold next to it.

It is rated in a unit that compares to nothing else without converting it first, and it covers a six inch strip rather than a field of wall, so a full wall is several channels at several prices. No load distance is published, so the cabinet question stays unanswered even here. And the Wall GearBox that would hang on it is currently unavailable on Amazon, so this is a route you may have to complete at a Gladiator dealer rather than in one order.

What slatwall will carry: a shelf

WETOECOTEC 8" Slatwall Shelf Bracket, 12-Pack

WETOECOTEC · 8" Square Tubing Slatwall Shelf Bracket (12-Pack)

WETOECOTEC 8" Slatwall Shelf Bracket, 12-Pack
$26.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 23, 2026.

The only slatwall accessory in this comparison that publishes an unambiguous weight figure: 30 lb per bracket, on thick steel square tube. It also names the panel brands it fits instead of saying 'most slatwall', which is the second thing nobody else does.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per bracket, clipped into the slatwall groove

Published as supporting up to 30 lbs, on a bracket crafted from thick steel square tube. No load distance is stated, which on an 8 inch cantilevered bracket is the figure that would matter most.

Published rating
30 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
8" bracket with a lip; 12 brackets per packRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Powder-coated steel square tubeRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes a per-bracket weight figure, which almost nothing else here does
  • Names the panel brands it fits rather than claiming 'most slatwall'
  • Steel square tube rather than folded flat stock
  • Twelve brackets per pack, enough for several real shelves
What is not
  • No load distance published, and an 8 inch bracket is all load distance
  • You supply the shelf boards; the pack is brackets only
  • Retail-listing figures rather than a manufacturer spec sheet
  • A lipped bracket suits boards, not wire or glass

The one slatwall accessory in this whole registry that publishes an unambiguous weight figure: 30 lb per bracket, on thick steel square tube rather than folded flat stock, twelve brackets to the pack. It also lists the panel brands it fits by name — Proslat, Crownwall, storeWALL, HandiWall, Garage King, Garage Tek, Hello Garage — which is the second thing nobody else in the category does.

No load distance is published, and on an eight inch bracket the load distance is the entire question — the same omission this page criticizes the panel makers for. You supply the shelf boards; the pack is brackets only. The figures come from the retail listing rather than a manufacturer spec sheet, and the lipped profile suits timber boards rather than wire or glass.

Baskets instead of a cabinet

MENEONE Slatwall Baskets and Hooks, 32-Piece Set

MENEONE · Heavy-Duty Slatwall Baskets and Hooks, 32-Piece

MENEONE Slatwall Baskets and Hooks, 32-Piece Set
$42.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 23, 2026.

Four baskets and 28 hooks, and the most construction detail published by any set here: hardened carbon steel, vinyl coating, and three-point welding stated explicitly. What it does not publish is a weight rating for any of the 32 pieces.

Published rating
Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
Dimensions
32 pieces: 4 baskets and 28 hooksRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Hardened carbon steel, vinyl coated, three-point weldingRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Three-point welding and hardened carbon steel stated, not just 'heavy duty'
  • Vinyl coating protects the tool and the panel groove
  • Names the panel brands it fits
  • Baskets included, which the hook-only kits leave you to buy separately
What is not
  • No weight rating published for any of the 32 pieces
  • Retail-listing figures rather than a manufacturer spec sheet
  • Basket dimensions are not published
  • Mixed sets always contain hooks you will never hang anything on

Four baskets and 28 hooks in one order, and the most construction detail published by any accessory set here: hardened carbon steel, vinyl coating over the groove contact, and three-point welding stated explicitly rather than “heavy duty”. If the goal is to stop wanting a cabinet, baskets are the accessory that gets closest, and this is the set that tells you most about how it is made.

No weight rating is published for any of the 32 pieces — not one — so nothing here can be planned against a number. Basket dimensions are not published either, which matters when the point of a basket is what fits in it. The figures are retail-listing figures, and every mixed set contains hooks you will never hang anything on.

The panel whose rating you can check

Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels

Proslat · PVC Slatwall

Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels
$199.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 23, 2026.

The default PVC slatwall, and the one whose documentation actually tells you how to hit the rating: 1-1/2 inch #8 pan head screws into studs at 16 inch spacing. The 75 lb per square foot figure is published without a load distance, so treat it as a flat-against-the-wall number.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
1-1/2" #8 pan head screws, studs at 16" spacing

Proslat states the fastener and the stud spacing, which most of this category does not. It does not state a load distance.

Published rating
75 lb / sq ftInstall doc
Dimensions
8 ft x 4 ft sections, 10 single slats per boxManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
High-density PVCManufacturer
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes the fastener spec and stud spacing its rating assumes
  • Hidden-screw design, so the finished wall has no visible fixings
  • PVC does not care about garage humidity the way MDF slatwall does
What is not
  • 75 lb/sq ft is the lowest published rating of the PVC systems here
  • No load distance published, so bracket-mounted shelving is unquantified

If the wall is still to be built, this is the panel to build it from, for one reason that has nothing to do with its headline number: Proslat publishes the fastener and the stud spacing its rating assumes — 1-1/2 inch #8 pan head screws into studs at 16 inch centers — so the 75 lb per square foot is a figure you can actually check your installation against. PVC also ignores garage humidity in a way MDF slatwall does not.

75 lb per square foot is the lowest published rating of the PVC systems here, and no load distance comes with it, so bracket-hung shelving is unquantified on it exactly as it is everywhere else. Stock on this SKU runs to a lead time rather than shipping immediately. If the derating question matters to you more than the price does, storeWALL is the panel that answers it — compared head to head in Proslat vs storeWALL.

Put it on the slatwall when
  • It hangs flat against the panel: hand tools, cords, garden tools
  • It is a basket or a bin of small parts, where weight is never the limit
  • It is a bracket shelf and you have checked the per-bracket figure
  • You want to move it again next month without patching the wall
Fasten it to the structure when
  • It is a cabinet, a box, or anything with a door and contents
  • Its mass sits more than a few inches off the wall face
  • You need a number you can plan against, and none is published
  • Failure would drop the whole loaded object rather than one item

What to do instead, stated plainly

Hang the cabinet on the structure and give the slatwall the job it is rated for. In practice that means one of two fixings, and which one depends on the wall rather than the cabinet: into studs on a framed wall, with the cabinet’s own hanging rail or back panel landing on at least two of them, or into masonry with proper expansion anchors on block or poured concrete. Both routes, and the ways each one goes wrong, are set out in how to hang cabinets in a garage.

The two do not have to compete for the same wall. A common and sensible layout puts a run of cabinets at one end, slatwall across the open middle where things change often, and nothing at all below about three feet where bikes and bins lean — which is the layout logic in laying out a garage wall. If you are choosing wall cabinets rather than deciding how to mount them, the wall-mounted cabinet roundup ranks six of them on what each maker publishes about the fixing.

And if the slatwall is already up and the cabinet is already bought: the cabinet does not have to go on that wall. A bench-height run under the slatwall, or a cabinet on the adjacent wall, costs nothing in capability and removes the only question on this page that has no published answer.

Questions

Common questions

Can you hang a cabinet on slatwall?

Not on generic slatwall. No manufacturer publishes a rating for a loaded cabinet, and no cabinet sold on Amazon mounts to a standard slatwall groove — the accessory market is baskets, bins, hooks and shelf brackets. The one documented exception is Gladiator, whose Wall GearBox ships with hanger brackets for its own GearTrack and GearWall; even there Gladiator does not state what the wall behind it must be.

Why does a cabinet need a different fixing than a hook?

Because of where the weight sits. A hook holds its load flat against the panel; a cabinet holds its contents six or seven inches off the panel face, which multiplies the leverage on the fixing. storeWALL is the only brand that publishes what this does to a rating — 300 lb per square foot at the surface falls to 165 lb just four inches out. Every other brand publishes the surface figure only, as set out in slatwall weight capacity.

What can you hang on slatwall instead of a cabinet?

A bracket shelf gets you the same storage without the door, and the WETOECOTEC bracket publishes 30 lb per bracket, which is the only unambiguous figure in the slatwall accessory market. Deep wire baskets are the closest thing to an enclosed box, though no basket set publishes a rating. Plastic bins carry small parts, where the missing rating genuinely does not matter.

Are there cabinets made for slatwall?

Only as part of one brand’s own system. Gladiator sells wall cabinets with hanger brackets designed for its GearTrack channels and GearWall panels, published at 150 lb per unit and 40 lb per shelf. There is no generic slatwall cabinet: searching the live Amazon catalog for one returns baskets, bins, hooks and brackets under every phrasing. The product class does not exist outside that one ecosystem.

Does slatwall need to be on studs for any of this?

Yes, and it is the limiting factor for everything hung on it. Every slatwall rating on this site assumes the panel is fixed to structure — Proslat names 1-1/2 inch #8 screws into studs at 16 inch centers, and Gladiator names bare studs or drywall over studs. On a block or poured-concrete wall the anchor becomes the weakest link instead, which is covered in mounting to drywall versus masonry.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next