Gladiator wall systems
One brand, two products, two different units, and a threefold gap the units hide.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
Quick picks
The two halves of the Gladiator wall range, plus the panel systems that beat the GearWall on its own published figure.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | No photo The half worth buying Gladiator 4' GearTrack Channels (2-Pack) 75 lb per linear foot, roughly 150 lb per sq ft once converted. | Heavy single items — bikes, ladders, wheelbarrows — on a stud wall | 75 lb / linear ftManufacturer | |
| 2 | No photo Better panel, published Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels 75 lb per sq ft against GearWall's 50, with the fixing stated. | A full wall done once, on a normal stud-framed garage | 75 lb / sq ftInstall doc | |
| 3 | No photo If capacity decides it storeWALL Heavy Duty Slatwall Panels The heaviest published panel rating in this comparison. | Anyone hanging shelves and brackets, not just hooks | 300 lb / sq ft165 lb at 4″ outManufacturer | |
| — | No photo We would skip this one Gladiator 4' GearWall Panels (2-Pack) 50 lb per sq ft is the lowest published panel figure on this site. | Buyers already committed to Gladiator hooks and baskets | 50 lb / sq ftManufacturer |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
Gladiator’s wall range is the most recognizable in American garages and the easiest to buy badly. It has two halves. GearWall is a PVC slatwall panel field that covers a wall surface. GearTrack is a steel channel, six inches tall, that runs horizontally across the studs. They share an accessory range, they are sold alongside each other, and they are rated in units that cannot be compared without doing arithmetic Gladiator does not do for you.
The conversion nobody prints
Gladiator's published figures, read from its own product pages on 2 September 2026, with our conversion shown.
| GearWall panel | GearTrack channel | |
|---|---|---|
| Published rating | 50 lb / sq ft | 75 lb / linear ft |
| Height of wall occupied | 12″ per panel | 6″ per channel |
| Normalized | 50 lb / sq ft | ~150 lb / sq ft |
| Substrate stated | Concrete, wood studs or drywall | Bare studs, or drywall over studs |
| Load distance stated | Not published | Not published |
The arithmetic is ours and it is simple enough to check: a channel six inches tall occupies half a square foot of wall per linear foot of run, so 75 lb per linear foot is 150 lb spread over each square foot of wall the channel covers. That is a normalized comparison, not a claim that you can hang 150 lb from six inches of wall — the useful reading is that per unit of wall committed, the rail carries far more than the panel.
Gladiator 4' GearTrack Channels (2-Pack)
Gladiator · GearTrack Channels
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
Rated 75 lb per LINEAR foot while Gladiator's own GearWall is rated 50 lb per SQUARE foot. Convert the channel's 6 inch height and the rail works out at roughly 150 lb per square foot of wall it occupies — three times the panel, from the same brand, hidden entirely by the change of unit.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Bare wood studs, or drywall over wood studs
Published as 'Holds up to 75 lbs. per linear foot' — a different unit from the GearWall panel sold alongside it.
- Published rating
- 75 lb / linear ftManufacturer
- Dimensions
- Not published
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Highest normalized capacity of any Gladiator wall product
- Mounting substrate is stated: bare studs or drywall over studs
- Shares the Gladiator accessory range with GearWall
- Rated in a unit that cannot be compared to anything else without converting it
- Covers a 6 inch band of wall, not a full panel field
On published capacity this is the strongest thing Gladiator sells for a wall, and it is the cheaper half of the range. It also states its substrate, which the panel does not do as precisely: bare wood studs, or drywall over wood studs.
The limitation is inherent to a rail. You get one band of hanging height per channel, so a wall of GearTrack is several channels at different heights rather than one continuous surface. For bikes, ladders, wheelbarrows and long-handled tools that is exactly right. For dozens of small items at varied heights it is fiddly.
Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels
Proslat · PVC Slatwall
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
The default PVC slatwall, and the one whose documentation actually tells you how to hit the rating: 1-1/2 inch #8 pan head screws into studs at 16 inch spacing. The 75 lb per square foot figure is published without a load distance, so treat it as a flat-against-the-wall number.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- 1-1/2" #8 pan head screws, studs at 16" spacing
Proslat states the fastener and the stud spacing, which most of this category does not. It does not state a load distance.
- Published rating
- 75 lb / sq ftInstall doc
- Dimensions
- 8 ft x 4 ft sections, 10 single slats per boxManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- High-density PVCManufacturer
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes the fastener spec and stud spacing its rating assumes
- Hidden-screw design, so the finished wall has no visible fixings
- PVC does not care about garage humidity the way MDF slatwall does
- 75 lb/sq ft is the lowest published rating of the PVC systems here
- No load distance published, so bracket-mounted shelving is unquantified
If a panel field is what you want, Proslat publishes 75 lb per square foot against GearWall’s 50, names masonry substrates explicitly, and includes the screws and dowels in the pack. On the one number both products publish in the same unit, it is half again stronger.
The honest counterweight is the ecosystem. Gladiator’s first-party accessory range is larger, and if you already own Gladiator hooks and baskets, matching the wall to them has a real value the capacity table does not capture.
Gladiator 4' GearWall Panels (2-Pack)
Gladiator · GearWall Panels
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.
The lowest published panel rating in this comparison at 50 lb per square foot, which is easy to miss because Gladiator rates its own GearTrack rail in a completely different unit on an adjacent page. Buy it for the accessory ecosystem, not for the load number.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- not stated by the manufacturer
Published as 'Holds 50 lbs per square ft.'
- Published rating
- 50 lb / sq ftManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 48" W x 12" H x 0.75" DManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Largest first-party accessory range of any system here
- Color-matched screws included
- Rated by Gladiator to handle heat, cold and humidity extremes
- 50 lb/sq ft is the lowest published panel rating in this comparison
- Neither a load distance nor a stud spacing is published
Fifty pounds per square foot is the lowest published panel rating anywhere on this site, and it sits in the middle of a price range where two competitors publish 75 and one publishes more. Gladiator states neither a load distance nor a stud spacing for it, so there is nothing further to weigh in its favor on paper.
The reason to buy it anyway is real but narrow: you are already committed to Gladiator accessories, or you want the panel and the cabinets to match across the whole garage. That is a legitimate reason. It is just not a capacity reason, and it should not be mistaken for one.
The accessory ecosystem, which is the actual argument
Gladiator’s own buying guide is candid that capacity varies by accessory rather than being a property of the wall, stating that certain GearTrack channels hold up to 75 lb per linear foot while certain Gladiator shelves hold up to 50 lb. That second figure is the one most buyers will meet. As with every hook-based system, the wall is rarely the limit; the hook is.
What Gladiator has that the panel brands do not is breadth. Hooks, baskets, bins, bike hooks and shelves all come from one range, and the same range bolts to Gladiator cabinets with a bracket kit. If you want a garage where the wall, the hooks and the cabinets are visibly one system, nothing else here does it as completely.
- GearTrack normalizes to roughly three times the GearWall panel rating
- Substrates are stated for both products, including concrete for the panel
- The largest first-party accessory range in the category
- Cabinets from the same brand bolt to the wall with a bracket kit
- The two halves are rated in units that cannot be compared without arithmetic
- GearWall's 50 lb per sq ft is the lowest published panel figure on this site
- No load distance published for either product
- Accessory capacities vary and are not collected in one place
What to buy
If you want one thing from this range, buy GearTrack and enough hooks to fill it. If you want a full panel wall and capacity is the deciding factor, buy a different brand’s panel and keep the Gladiator hooks you already own where they fit. If you want the whole garage to match, buy GearWall knowing precisely what its rating is and is not.
The cross-brand numbers are collected in the normalized capacity table, and the ranked picks across every wall system are in best garage wall systems.
Common questions
How much weight can Gladiator GearWall hold?
Is GearTrack stronger than GearWall?
Can Gladiator GearWall be installed on concrete?
Do Gladiator cabinets attach to the Gladiator wall system?
Sources
- Gladiator GearWall panels — 50 lb per square foot, substrates listed
- Gladiator GearTrack channels — 75 lb per linear foot, substrate stated
- Gladiator garage wall organization buying guide — capacity and mounting statements
- Proslat PVC slatwall FAQ — 75 lb per square foot
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- SlatwallThe best garage wall systemsNine wall systems ranked on normalized load rating and on how honestly each manufacturer documents it.
- SlatwallHow much weight can slatwall actually hold?The full cross-brand load table, normalized into one unit, with what each rating assumes stated beside it.
- CabinetsGladiator garage cabinetsEvery published Gladiator cabinet figure in one table, and why the welded line is not automatically the stronger one.