Skip to content
Steel Slat
Slatwall

Gladiator GearWall vs Proslat

One publishes half the capacity of the other and none of the fastening. On a wall system, the fastening is the product.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.

Ranked

Quick picks

Two slatwall systems compared on published load per square foot and on what each maker states about the screws holding the panel to the building.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels
Better disclosure and more capacity

Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels

75 lb/sq ft, and it names the screw and the stud spacing.

A full wall done once, on a normal stud-framed garage75 lb / sq ftInstall doc
2
Gladiator 4' GearWall Panels (2-Pack)
Only for a Gladiator ecosystem

Gladiator 4' GearWall Panels (2-Pack)

50 lb/sq ft published, with no fastener or substrate stated.

Buyers already committed to Gladiator hooks and baskets50 lb / sq ftManufacturer

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.

Short answer
Proslat’s PVC slatwall publishes 75 lb per square foot and names the fastener: 1-1/2 inch #8 pan head screws into studs at 16 inch spacing. Gladiator’s GearWall publishes 50 lb per square foot and no fastener, spacing or substrate at all. Proslat’s ProCore goes further at 200 lb per square foot on studs at 24 inches. Buy GearWall only if you are already committed to Gladiator’s hooks and baskets.

These two systems look the same on a garage wall: horizontal slots, the same hooks-and-baskets idea, sold by the panel. They are priced close enough that most buyers choose on brand. The published figures separate them further than the price does.

Manufacturer-published figures. Read from each maker's own product pages.

Gladiator GearWallProslat PVCProslat ProCore
Published load50 lb / sq ft75 lb / sq ft200 lb / sq ft
Fastener publishedNot published1-1/2″ #8 pan headStated for studs
Stud spacing assumedNot published16″ on center24″ on center
Panel48 x 12 x 0.75 in, 2-pack8 ft x 4 ft sections8 ft sections
MaterialComposite panelHigh-density PVCPVC with reinforced core

75 vs 50

Pounds per square foot, published by Proslat and Gladiator for panels that do the same job on the same wall. Proslat publishes half again the capacity AND the screw size, type and stud spacing its figure assumes. Gladiator publishes the smaller number and nothing about what holds the panel to the building - on a product whose entire function is transferring load into studs.

Proslat PVC slatwall published load and fastener spec

Why the fastener line decides this

A slatwall panel is a load-transfer device. Whatever hangs on the hook is carried by the slot, the slot by the panel, the panel by the screws, and the screws by the studs. A capacity figure that does not name the screw has described two links in a four-link chain.

This is not a theoretical complaint. The same pattern shows up everywhere on this site: Wall Control publishes 200 lb per panel into studs and 100 lb into drywall anchors — the same panel, halved, purely by fastener choice. Where a manufacturer publishes the screw, you can reproduce the rating. Where it does not, you are trusting an unstated assumption on a wall above your car and your children’s bikes.

The two panels

Better disclosure and more capacity

Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels

Proslat · PVC Slatwall

Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels
$199.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.

The default PVC slatwall, and the one whose documentation actually tells you how to hit the rating: 1-1/2 inch #8 pan head screws into studs at 16 inch spacing. The 75 lb per square foot figure is published without a load distance, so treat it as a flat-against-the-wall number.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
1-1/2" #8 pan head screws, studs at 16" spacing

Proslat states the fastener and the stud spacing, which most of this category does not. It does not state a load distance.

Published rating
75 lb / sq ftInstall doc
Dimensions
8 ft x 4 ft sections, 10 single slats per boxManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
High-density PVCManufacturer
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes the fastener spec and stud spacing its rating assumes
  • Hidden-screw design, so the finished wall has no visible fixings
  • PVC does not care about garage humidity the way MDF slatwall does
What is not
  • 75 lb/sq ft is the lowest published rating of the PVC systems here
  • No load distance published, so bracket-mounted shelving is unquantified

Seventy-five pounds per square foot on high-density PVC, sold in 8 by 4 foot sections, with the fastener published: 1-1/2 inch #8 pan head screws into studs at 16 inch spacing. PVC also does not care about damp, which matters in an unheated garage where composite and MDF-cored panels swell at cut edges.

It is a whole-wall purchase rather than a two-panel experiment, so the entry cost is higher than a pair of GearWall panels. Proslat’s own hook range is narrower than Gladiator’s, and the slot profile is not interchangeable with every accessory sold for other systems — check fit before buying baskets, as set out in slatwall accessories and compatibility.

Only for a Gladiator ecosystem

Gladiator 4' GearWall Panels (2-Pack)

Gladiator · GearWall Panels

Gladiator 4' GearWall Panels (2-Pack)
$69.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.

The lowest published panel rating in this comparison at 50 lb per square foot, which is easy to miss because Gladiator rates its own GearTrack rail in a completely different unit on an adjacent page. Buy it for the accessory ecosystem, not for the load number.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
not stated by the manufacturer

Published as 'Holds 50 lbs per square ft.'

Published rating
50 lb / sq ftManufacturer
Dimensions
48" W x 12" H x 0.75" DManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Largest first-party accessory range of any system here
  • Color-matched screws included
  • Rated by Gladiator to handle heat, cold and humidity extremes
What is not
  • 50 lb/sq ft is the lowest published panel rating in this comparison
  • Neither a load distance nor a stud spacing is published

Fifty pounds per square foot on a 48 by 12 inch composite panel sold in twos, which makes it the easiest way to try slatwall without committing to a wall. If the garage already has Gladiator cabinets, hooks and baskets, this is the panel they were designed to clip into and the accessory range is the widest in the category.

Gladiator publishes no fastener, no stud spacing and no substrate for the panel, and the published load is two thirds of Proslat’s and a quarter of ProCore’s. For a system whose whole job is moving load into the building, that is the wrong thing to leave out.

Choose Proslat when
  • You want the published fastener and stud spacing
  • The capacity figure matters - 75 or 200 lb/sq ft against 50
  • The garage is damp and PVC beats a composite core
  • You are doing a whole wall in one go
Choose GearWall when
  • The garage is already Gladiator and accessories must match
  • You want to try two panels before committing to a wall
  • The accessory range matters more than the panel rating
  • You are buying into GearTrack rails as well as panels

If neither is settled, the wider field — including storeWALL, Flow Wall and Trusscore — is ranked on the same published figures in best garage wall systems, the cross-brand load table is in how much weight slatwall holds, and the other Proslat comparison is Proslat vs storeWALL.

Questions

Common questions

Is Proslat stronger than Gladiator GearWall?

On published figures, yes: Proslat’s PVC slatwall states 75 lb per square foot and its ProCore line states 200 lb per square foot, against Gladiator’s 50 lb per square foot for GearWall. Proslat also publishes the screw and stud spacing its figure assumes, which Gladiator does not.

What screws does slatwall need?

Proslat publishes 1-1/2 inch #8 pan head screws into studs at 16 inch spacing for its PVC panels. Gladiator publishes no fastener for GearWall. If your maker does not state it, treat studs as mandatory and remember Wall Control’s published example: the same panel halves from 200 lb to 100 lb on drywall anchors.

Can you use Gladiator hooks on Proslat panels?

Sometimes, but it is not guaranteed — slot profiles and depths differ between systems, and a hook that sits loose is worse than no hook. The compatibility detail is in slatwall accessories and compatibility; buy accessories for the panel you own where you can.

Is PVC slatwall better than composite in a damp garage?

PVC does not absorb moisture, which is why Proslat and storeWALL both lead with it. Composite and MDF-cored panels are vulnerable at cut edges and screw holes, which is exactly where a garage panel gets cut. In an unheated, humid garage that difference shows up in a season or two.

Is GearWall worth it if I already own Gladiator cabinets?

That is the case where it makes sense. The accessory ecosystem is the widest in the category and everything clips together without adapters. Buy it for that reason knowingly — not on the published capacity, where it is behind both Proslat lines.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next