Gladiator GearTrack vs Rubbermaid FastTrack
Two rails, two units of measurement, and one honest way to compare them: by the hook.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
Quick picks
The two rails compared, then the panel systems to consider if a single line of hooks is not enough wall.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Better ecosystem Gladiator 4' GearTrack Channels (2-Pack) 75 lb per linear foot, roughly 150 lb per sq ft converted, biggest hook range. | Heavy single items — bikes, ladders, wheelbarrows — on a stud wall | 75 lb / linear ftManufacturer | |
| 2 | ![]() Cheaper rail, clearer fixing Rubbermaid FastTrack Garage Rail 1,750 lb per 48 inch rail into studs; hooks rated 25 to 50 lb. | Hanging long-handled tools and bikes off a rail rather than a panel | 1,750 lb totalInstall doc | |
| 3 | ![]() If one line of hooks is not enough Proslat PVC Slatwall Panels A whole panel field at 75 lb per sq ft, with the screws in the box. | A full wall done once, on a normal stud-framed garage | 75 lb / sq ftInstall doc |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
If you have decided on a rail rather than a panel — a horizontal steel channel across the studs with hooks hanging off it — these are the two you will end up choosing between. They do the same job, they cost roughly the same to fill with hooks, and they are rated in units so different that a direct comparison of the headline numbers tells you nothing at all.
The numbers, and why they do not line up
Manufacturer-published figures read 2 and 6 September 2026. The conversion in the third row is ours.
| Gladiator GearTrack | Rubbermaid FastTrack | |
|---|---|---|
| Published rating | 75 lb / linear ft | 1,750 lb / 48″ rail |
| Channel height | 6″ | Not published |
| Converted | ~150 lb / sq ft of wall occupied | ~437 lb / linear ft |
| Accessory rating | Certain shelves up to 50 lb; hooks vary by accessory | Locking hooks 50 lb; non-locking 25 lb |
| Substrate stated | Bare studs, or drywall over studs | Studs at 16″ or 24″; rail must start and end on a stud |
| Load distance | Not published | Not published |
The third row is where the comparison gets honest. Convert FastTrack’s per-rail figure to per linear foot and it reads as nearly six times the GearTrack rating. That is not a strength difference. It is the difference between a structural rating for a steel channel screwed into four studs and a working rating for what a channel carries per foot — and neither manufacturer says which kind of number it is publishing.
Where GearTrack wins
The accessory range. Gladiator’s first-party hooks, baskets, bins and shelves are the largest range in the category, and the same range hangs on GearWall panels and bolts to Gladiator cabinets. If you want the rail, the panel and the cabinets to be one system, this is the only rail of the two that gets you there.
A rating you can convert. Seventy-five pounds per linear foot across a six-inch channel works out at roughly 150 lb per square foot of the wall it occupies, which is a number you can hold against a panel system. The FastTrack per-rail figure does not convert into anything a panel is rated in.
Gladiator 4' GearTrack Channels (2-Pack)
Gladiator · GearTrack Channels

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
Rated 75 lb per LINEAR foot while Gladiator's own GearWall is rated 50 lb per SQUARE foot. Convert the channel's 6 inch height and the rail works out at roughly 150 lb per square foot of wall it occupies — three times the panel, from the same brand, hidden entirely by the change of unit.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Bare wood studs, or drywall over wood studs
Published as 'Holds up to 75 lbs. per linear foot' — a different unit from the GearWall panel sold alongside it.
- Published rating
- 75 lb / linear ftManufacturer
- Dimensions
- Not published
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Highest normalized capacity of any Gladiator wall product
- Mounting substrate is stated: bare studs or drywall over studs
- Shares the Gladiator accessory range with GearWall
- Rated in a unit that cannot be compared to anything else without converting it
- Covers a 6 inch band of wall, not a full panel field
The rail to buy if you are building a Gladiator garage, or if you want the widest choice of hooks and baskets without thinking about compatibility. The substrate is stated — bare studs or drywall over studs — and the rating converts to a per-square-foot figure that beats every panel on this site.
What it does not state is a load distance, so a deep basket loaded at its lip puts a moment on the fixings the rating does not describe. And the channel is one band of height per run; a wall of GearTrack is several runs, not one continuous field.
Where FastTrack wins
The fixing instructions. Rubbermaid states the stud spacing it supports, states that the rail must begin and end on a stud, and warns in writing against relying on drywall anchors for heavy loads. For a product whose entire capacity comes from four screws into framing, that is the disclosure that matters, and it is more than Gladiator gives you.
The price bracket. FastTrack is consistently the cheaper rail per foot, and the accessory kits are stocked in every home center. For a garage that needs rakes, bikes and hoses off the floor by the weekend, it is the lower-friction buy.
Rubbermaid FastTrack Garage Rail
Rubbermaid · FastTrack Garage Hang Rail

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.
The largest published number on this site and the least useful one. Rubbermaid rates the 48 inch rail at 1,750 lb into studs, then rates the hooks that hang on it at 25 to 50 lb each. You will meet the hook limit roughly thirty-five times before you meet the rail limit once.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Into wall studs at 16" or 24" spacing; the rail must begin and end on a stud
Published as up to 1,750 lb for the 48 inch rail when properly installed into studs. The install guide warns against relying on drywall anchors for heavy loads.
- Published rating
- 1,750 lb totalInstall doc
- Secondary rating
- 50 lb totalManufacturer
- Dimensions
- Rails sold in 32", 48" and 84" lengthsManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- States the stud spacing it supports and that the rail must begin and end on a stud
- Warns explicitly against relying on drywall anchors for heavy loads
- Sold everywhere, so accessories are easy to add one at a time
- A rail occupies a few inches of wall rather than a whole panel field
- The headline 1,750 lb rail rating is unreachable through 25-50 lb hooks
- No load distance published for any accessory
- Hooks are the whole system; the rail on its own stores nothing
- Accessory range is narrower than Gladiator's
Buy it if the wall is drywall over wood studs, the budget is modest, and the accessory you need most is a hook rather than a shelf. The 1,750 lb rail rating is real and irrelevant; the 25 to 50 lb hook ratings are what you will meet, and Rubbermaid publishes both.
It loses on breadth — the accessory range is narrower than Gladiator’s — and on comparability, since the per-rail figure cannot be set against a panel. The full write-up is in the FastTrack review.
The verdict
- You already own, or plan to own, Gladiator cabinets or GearWall
- You want the largest choice of hooks, baskets and bins
- You want a rating you can compare against a panel system
- The wall will carry shelves and baskets, not just hooks
- Price per foot of rail is the deciding factor
- You want the clearest published fixing instructions
- The job is bikes, rakes and hoses on hooks, done this weekend
- You have no other brand commitment on the wall
Either rail is the wrong answer if what you actually want is hook placement anywhere on the wall rather than along one line. That is what a panel is for, and the three-way decision between panel, pegboard and cleat is made in slatwall versus pegboard versus French cleat. The Gladiator rail against Gladiator’s own panel — a closer contest than it looks — is in the Gladiator wall system review.
Common questions
Is GearTrack or FastTrack stronger?
Do Gladiator hooks fit Rubbermaid FastTrack?
Which is cheaper, GearTrack or FastTrack?
Can either rail go on a concrete wall?
Sources
- Gladiator GearTrack channels — 75 lb per linear foot, substrate stated
- Gladiator garage wall organization buying guide — accessory capacity statements
- Rubbermaid FastTrack hang rail — 1,750 lb per 48 in rail, stud spacing, hook ratings
- Proslat PVC slatwall FAQ — 75 lb per square foot, fixings in the box
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- SlatwallRubbermaid FastTrackA 1,750 lb rail rating and 50 lb hooks. Which figure decides what you can hang, and how it compares to slatwall.
- SlatwallGladiator wall systemsGearWall against GearTrack in one unit, and why the cheaper-looking half of the range is the stronger one.
- SlatwallSlatwall vs pegboard vs French cleatCost, capacity, install time, accessory lock-in and moisture behavior across all three systems in one table.
