Skip to content
Steel Slat
Cabinets

Garage cabinet systems

Sets are sold by piece count. Cabinets are rated by class. Those two things have almost nothing to do with each other.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

Ranked

Quick picks

Ranked by how completely the manufacturer publishes capacity per cabinet class, then by how easily the system can be bought in stages.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
No photo
Best documented system

NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set

Publishes a separate capacity for lockers, base and wall cabinets.

A full wall run where you want published construction specs600 lb totalManufacturer
2
No photo
Easiest to build up in stages

Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox

Flat-packed, so a wall can arrive one carton at a time.

Matching an existing Gladiator wall system for a consistent look450 lb totalManufacturer
3
No photo
Best bought as single units

Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet

Sold individually rather than only as a set.

Adding one cabinet at a time instead of committing to a full wallNot published
4
No photo
The anchor unit

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled 84" Tall Cabinet

2,000 lb per unit and 24 inch depth, for the heavy end of the run.

One deep, tall cabinet doing the work of two shallow ones2,000 lb totalManufacturer
No photo
We would skip this one

Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox

55 lb per shelf is too little to justify a slot in a planned system.

Wall-hung storage above a workbench410 lb totalManufacturer

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

Short answer
A garage cabinet system is a set built from four cabinet classes: tall lockers, base cabinets, wall cabinets and a worktop. Published capacity varies by class, not by set — so compare the class you will actually load rather than the piece count printed on the box.

Search for garage cabinets and what comes back is not cabinets, it is sets: a 4-piece kit, a 6-piece, an 8-piece, a 10-piece. The piece count is the headline number on every listing in this category, and it is close to meaningless. A 6-piece set can be six wall cabinets, or it can be two lockers, two base cabinets, a wall cabinet and a worktop. Those two purchases hold completely different things and cost different amounts per linear foot of wall.

The four classes, and what each is rated for

Every system on the market is assembled from the same four building blocks. Learning them is the whole trick, because manufacturers publish capacity per class and almost never per set.

Class capacities as published by NewAge and Gladiator on their own product and support pages, read 2 September and 4 September 2026.

ClassTypical jobPublished capacity
Tall lockerFull-height storage for long tools, ladders, bulk consumables800–900 lb / unit
Base cabinetFloor-standing storage under a worktop; the working heart of a run600–700 lb / unit
Wall cabinetOverhead storage above a bench; limited by the fixing, not the box100–410 lb / unit
WorktopThe surface that turns cabinets into a benchNot published — usually rated with the bench, not the set

Note the wall cabinet row. NewAge publishes 100 lb for its wall cabinets against 600 lb for a base cabinet in the same set, and that is not a quality difference — a wall cabinet is limited by what it is bolted into, and 100 lb is a sane published figure for a box hanging over your head. Gladiator publishes 410 lb for its wall-hung Modular GearBox, which is a much larger number for the same job, and neither brand publishes what fixing that number assumes. Fix into studs regardless.

Sets versus single units

Two buying models exist and they suit different people. NewAge, Gladiator Premier and the kit brands sell sets: one order, one delivery, everything matches, and the price per linear foot is usually better than buying the same cabinets individually. The cost is that you commit the whole wall and the whole budget at once, and a set arrives on a pallet.

Seville Classics and Gladiator’s Ready-to-Assemble line sell single units. That is slower and dearer per foot, but it lets you buy a cabinet, live with it for a month, and find out whether you actually wanted 18 inches of depth before you own eight feet of it. For a first garage build this is usually the better answer, and it is the one almost no manufacturer markets.

Best documented system

NewAge Bold Series Garage Cabinet Set

NewAge Products · Bold Series

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

The cabinet range that publishes the most. NewAge states 24-gauge steel and fully-welded construction on the product page, plus per-cabinet and per-shelf capacities. Gladiator, its closest rival, publishes no gauge at all — and gauge is the single number that separates a cabinet that stays square from one that racks.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Base cabinet, total capacity

NewAge publishes a capacity per cabinet type: 800 lb lockers, 600 lb base cabinets, 100 lb wall cabinets.

Published rating
600 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
200 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
180" W x 18" D x 76.75" H (8-piece set)Manufacturer
Steel gauge
24 gauge steel, fully weldedManufacturer
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes steel gauge, which its main competitor does not
  • Ships fully welded, so there is no assembly-square to get wrong
  • 200 lb adjustable shelves against Gladiator's 75 lb
What is not
  • 18 inch depth is shallow for larger power tools — the XL range is 24 inch
  • Welded cabinets are heavy and awkward to move once placed

NewAge is the only brand here that publishes a separate capacity for each class in the set — 800 lb lockers, 600 lb base cabinets, 100 lb wall cabinets, 200 lb shelves — alongside a 24-gauge welded construction figure. On a purchase that stays bolted to a wall for fifteen years, that disclosure is what you are paying the premium for.

The constraint is delivery. A welded set arrives rigid and heavy, and the route from the curb to the wall decides whether it can be installed at all. Measure the doors, the turns and the step before ordering.

Easiest to build up in stages

Gladiator Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox

Gladiator · Ready-to-Assemble Large GearBox

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

The most recognizable garage cabinet in the US and the one that tells you least about itself. Gladiator publishes 450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf but no steel gauge anywhere we could find — so there is no way to compare its construction against a brand that does publish one.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit
Published rating
450 lb totalManufacturer
Per shelf
75 lb / shelfManufacturer
Dimensions
36" W x 72" H x 18" D, 3 full-width shelvesManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Bolts to the Gladiator wall system with an optional bracket kit
  • Widely stocked, so replacement parts and matching units are easy to find
  • Flat-packed, which makes it far easier to get into a finished garage than a welded unit
What is not
  • Steel gauge is not published, so construction cannot be compared
  • 75 lb per shelf is a third of NewAge's published 200 lb
  • Assembly required, and squareness depends on how well you do it

450 lb per unit and 75 lb per shelf, flat-packed into cartons one person can move. That is the whole argument: a system you can extend a cabinet at a time, in a garage a pallet cannot reach.

Gladiator publishes no steel gauge for it, so you are buying on the capacity figure and the accessory ecosystem rather than on construction. The full range is compared in the Gladiator cabinet review.

Best bought as single units

Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet

Seville Classics · UltraHD Storage Cabinet

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded.

The commercial-grade middle option: powder-coated steel, sold as single units rather than a set, and easy to add to one at a time. Seville publishes capacities per model rather than range-wide, so check the specific unit rather than trusting a range-level number.

Published rating
Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
Dimensions
Not published
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Powder-coated steelManufacturer
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Sold as single units, so a wall can be built up over time
  • Powder-coated steel throughout the UltraHD range
What is not
  • Capacities are published per model, not range-wide, so they need checking one by one
  • No published steel gauge across the range

Seville sells UltraHD as individual cabinets rather than only as kits, in widths from 24 to 60 inches and depths of 18 or 24. That makes it the practical answer for building a wall over six months instead of one weekend.

The catch is that Seville publishes capacity per model rather than across the range, so a figure you read on one cabinet does not transfer to the next one along. Check the specific unit before you buy it.

What a system does not include

What a set usually does include
  • Matching cabinets across two or three classes
  • A worktop on the larger sets
  • Leveling feet, and a wall-anchor bracket on most tall units
  • A better price per linear foot than the same cabinets bought singly
What it usually does not
  • Lag screws and washers sized for your studs - buy these separately
  • Any fixing suitable for masonry, which needs a different anchor entirely
  • A power strip, lighting, or the outlet the worktop assumes
  • Casters, which are frequently a separate kit and change the rating

That last one matters more than it sounds. Several cabinets in this category publish one figure on leveling feet and a different one on casters, and the caster figure is always lower. If mobility is part of your plan, find the caster rating before you buy the caster kit.

How to size the run

Work backwards from the wall, not forwards from the catalog. Measure the usable wall — the part with no door, window, panel box or hose reel in it — and subtract six inches at each end. Divide what is left by the cabinet widths available in the range you like. You will almost always find that the set that fits is one size smaller than the set you wanted, and finding that out on paper is free.

Then check depth against the floor. Eighteen inches is the standard and it is too shallow for a miter saw; 24 inches solves that and takes half a foot more of a one-car garage. The dimensions reference has the class-by-class numbers, and the wall layout guide covers what has to stay reachable once the cabinets are in.

Mixing brands

You can, and for most garages you should. Nothing about a base cabinet from one brand stops it standing next to a locker from another; the only things that genuinely have to match are the wall system, where hooks and brackets are proprietary, and the worktop, which has to span the cabinets it sits on. Colors will differ slightly and heights may differ by an inch. Both matter less than buying the right class of cabinet at the right price.

Questions

Common questions

What is a garage cabinet system?

A set of cabinets sold together, built from four classes: tall lockers, base cabinets, wall cabinets and a worktop. Systems are marketed by piece count, but capacity is published per class, so two sets with the same piece count can hold very different things.

How many pieces do I need for a two-car garage wall?

Measure the usable wall, subtract six inches at each end, and divide by the cabinet widths in the range you have chosen. A typical 16 foot usable wall takes about five 36 inch cabinets or four 48 inch ones. Piece count follows from the measurement, never the other way round.

Which cabinet should I buy first?

A base cabinet. Most garages already have somewhere to put light bulky items and nowhere secure to put heavy small ones, and base cabinets publish the highest capacity of the classes you can install without worrying about the fixing.

Can you mix cabinet brands in one run?

Yes. Cabinets stand next to each other regardless of brand. The two things that genuinely need to match are the wall system, whose hooks and brackets are proprietary, and the worktop, which must span the cabinets beneath it. Expect small differences in height and finish.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next