Skip to content
Steel Slat
Cabinets

Garage cabinets with drawers

A drawer is rated on its slides, not its box. Rank on the per-drawer figure or you are ranking on nothing.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.

Ranked

Quick picks

Ranked on whether the maker publishes a per-drawer rating at all, then on that figure, then on depth. A drawer cabinet with only a total figure cannot rank above one that publishes both.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
No photo
Best documented, currently hard to get

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled GearDrawer

65 lb per drawer AND 1,400 lb per unit published. No Amazon stock today.

Hand tools, drills and parts that need to live in drawers, not on shelves1,400 lb totalManufacturer
2
No photo
Best for small parts

Gladiator Premier 7-Drawer Tool Storage Cabinet

Seven shallower drawers, same 1,400 lb unit rating, no per-drawer figure.

Sorting small parts and hand tools into more, shallower drawers1,400 lb totalManufacturer
3
Ulti-MATE Garage 2.0 3-Piece Cabinet Set
Best drawers in a full run

Ulti-MATE Garage 2.0 3-Piece Cabinet Set

A 4-drawer base in a three-piece set under a worktop.

A finished-looking working wall in roughly seven feet200 lb / shelfRetailer listing
4
Seville Classics UltraHD 12-Drawer Rolling Workbench
Best you can actually buy

Seville Classics UltraHD 12-Drawer Rolling Workbench

30 lb per drawer published - low, but published, and in stock.

A rolling bench that is also the tool chest, with a figure you can plan against500 lb totalRetailer listing

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.

Short answer
For a garage cabinet with drawers, the figure that matters is the per-drawer rating, not the per-unit total. Gladiator publishes 65 lb per drawer on the Premier GearDrawer and 1,400 lb per unit; most drawer cabinets publish only the total. A drawer of sockets reaches 65 lb.

A drawer cabinet fails differently from a shelf cabinet. A shelf sits on its supports and the box carries the load. A drawer hangs off two slides, and the slides carry the load every time it opens — which is many times a day, with the drawer extended and the weight cantilevered out in front of the cabinet. That is why a drawer is rated on its own, and why a cabinet that publishes only a unit total has told you nothing about the part that wears.

How this was judged

The first cut is brutal and it is the point: does the maker publish a per-drawer figure? Two of the four cabinets here do, and they rank above the two that do not, regardless of anything else. Within that, the higher published per-drawer figure wins. Depth breaks ties, because a drawer that takes a circular saw case flat is worth more than one that does not.

Published figures read from each maker's own page or listing on 6, 11 and 17 September 2026.

CabinetPer drawerPer unitDrawers
Gladiator Premier GearDrawer65 lb1,400 lb5
Gladiator Premier 7-DrawerNot published1,400 lb7
Ulti-MATE 2.0 4-drawer base (in set)Not published — shelves only, 200 lbNot published4
Seville UltraHD 12-drawer rolling workbench30 lb500 lb12

Two things stand out. The Gladiator pair share a footprint, a unit rating and a price bracket, and only one of them tells you what a drawer holds. And the Seville, which is honest enough to publish 30 lb per drawer, is punished for it in any comparison against cabinets that publish nothing — which is exactly backwards, and why this ranking rewards disclosure first.

65 lbper drawer

Gladiator's published per-drawer figure on the Premier GearDrawer. For scale, a full 3/8 and 1/2 inch socket set with ratchets and extensions lands in that range on its own.

Gladiator Premier GearDrawer page

What a drawer actually weighs

The reason per-drawer matters more than per-unit is that garage drawers fill with dense things. Sockets, wrenches, a drill with two batteries, a box of screws: a drawer that looks half-empty can be at its rating. Sixty-five pounds is a realistic ceiling for a drawer of hand tools and a generous one for a drawer of fasteners. Thirty pounds is a drawer of screwdrivers and pliers and not much else.

Best documented, currently hard to get

Gladiator Premier Pre-Assembled GearDrawer

Gladiator · Premier Pre-Assembled GearDrawer

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.

The drawer cabinet that publishes both numbers: 65 lb per drawer and 1,400 lb per unit, across five full-extension drawers on ball-bearing slides. The per-drawer figure is the one that governs a real garage, and most drawer cabinets in this category do not print it.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit, on the supplied solid rubber casters

Published as 1400 lbs total unit capacity.

Published rating
1,400 lb totalManufacturer
Secondary rating
65 lb totalManufacturer
Dimensions
28" W x 34.5" H x 25.5" D, 5 full-extension drawersManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Lifetime limited partsManufacturer
What is good
  • Publishes a per-drawer figure as well as a per-unit one
  • Full-extension ball bearing slides with cushioned liners
  • 25.5 inch depth takes a circular saw case flat
  • Arrives assembled; casters and bumpers are the only build step
What is not
  • 65 lb per drawer fills fast with sockets and hand tools
  • No steel gauge published, in keeping with the whole Gladiator range
  • Casters mean the 1,400 lb figure rides on four wheels
  • Premium price bracket for 28 inches of width

Five full-extension drawers on ball-bearing slides, 65 lb each, in a cabinet 25.5 inches deep — deep enough for a circular saw case to lie flat with the lid closed. It arrives assembled, the casters are the only build step, and Gladiator states a lifetime limited parts warranty on the page.

The honest limits are the ones that apply to the whole Gladiator range: no steel gauge, and the 1,400 lb unit figure rides on four rubber casters. The drawer figure is the one to plan around, and it is not a large number once the socket sets go in. And as we write its Amazon listing reads “currently unavailable”, which is why it no longer holds the top slot: the button goes to a search, and Gladiator still lists the cabinet directly.

Best for small parts

Gladiator Premier 7-Drawer Tool Storage Cabinet

Gladiator · Premier Pre-Assembled 7 Drawer Modular Tool Storage Cabinet

No photoWe have no photograph of this exact model that we can honestly publish
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.

Same footprint and same 1,400 lb unit rating as the GearDrawer, with seven shallower drawers instead of five - and no per-drawer figure published. More drawers is better for small parts; the missing number is what you give up.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per unit, on 5 in. x 2 in. solid rubber casters

Published as heavy-duty welded steel construction that holds up to 1,400 lbs. No per-drawer figure is published for this cabinet.

Published rating
1,400 lb totalManufacturer
Dimensions
28" W x 35" H x 25.5" D, 7 full-extension drawersManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Heavy-duty welded steelManufacturer
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Seven drawers in the same footprint as the five-drawer GearDrawer
  • Welded steel construction stated on the product page
  • Full-extension ball bearing slides and cushioned liners
What is not
  • No per-drawer capacity published, unlike the GearDrawer beside it
  • No warranty stated on the product page
  • Shallower drawers cannot take a saw case or a drill with battery fitted

The same 28 by 25.5 inch footprint as the GearDrawer, the same 1,400 lb unit rating, welded steel stated on the page, and seven drawers instead of five. For fasteners, fittings, electrical and the hundred small things a garage accumulates, more and shallower drawers is the better layout.

It ranks second because Gladiator does not publish a per-drawer figure for it, and because seven drawers in 35 inches of height means none of them is deep enough for a saw case or a drill with the battery fitted. Know which of those two cabinets you are buying before you buy either.

Best drawers in a full run

Ulti-MATE Garage 2.0 3-Piece Cabinet Set

Ulti-MATE · Garage 2.0 3-Piece Set (UG25030)

Ulti-MATE Garage 2.0 3-Piece Cabinet Set
$1,379.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.

The shape of the range that makes sense: a 2-door base, a 4-drawer base and a 2-door tall under a channeled worktop, in about seven feet of wall. Same published 200 lb shelf rating as the rest of the line, and the worktop is the thing the tall-only kits are missing.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Industrial strength 1 inch thick shelf

Published as industrial strength 1 inch thick shelves with a 200 lb load rating. No per-cabinet total capacity is published anywhere in this range.

Published rating
200 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
82.7" W x 21" D x 80-82" H; 2-door base, 4-drawer base, 2-door tallRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
3/4 inch MDF and particleboard carcass with textured PVC laminateRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
10-year limited partsRetailer listing
What is good
  • Includes the channeled worktop, which the tall-only kits do not
  • Mixes base, drawer and tall cabinets rather than repeating one unit
  • 200 lb published shelf rating, equal to NewAge Bold Series
  • 10-year limited parts warranty, longer than several steel competitors
What is not
  • MDF and particleboard carcass in a room that swings in humidity
  • No per-cabinet total capacity published anywhere in the range
  • Assembly required, and the listing warns it needs two or more adults
  • Figures come from retailer listings, not a manufacturer spec sheet

If the drawers are going into a run rather than standing alone, this set puts a 4-drawer base between a 2-door base and a tall cabinet under a channeled worktop. It is the only configuration here where the drawers arrive as part of a working wall.

Two things to know. The range publishes 200 lb per shelf and nothing per drawer, so the drawer rating is unknown. And the carcass is 3/4 inch MDF and particleboard rather than steel, which the Ulti-MATE review covers in full.

Best you can actually buy

Seville Classics UltraHD 12-Drawer Rolling Workbench

Seville Classics · UltraHD Heavy Duty Rolling Cabinet Workbench, 12-Drawer

Seville Classics UltraHD 12-Drawer Rolling Workbench
$850.00 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 17, 2026.

The only rolling bench on this site whose listing publishes a capacity that plainly describes the thing on wheels: 500 lb total and 30 lb per drawer, on a 72 inch bench that rolls on four 5 inch wheels. A quarter of what the open-frame benches claim, and the more believable number.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Total, on four 5 in. heavy-duty wheels; 30 lb per drawer

Published as a total weight capacity of 500 lb (30 lb per drawer). The bench has no feet other than its wheels, so this is the only capacity on the rolling benches compared here that necessarily applies on casters.

Published rating
500 lb totalRetailer listing
Secondary rating
30 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
72" W (77" with push bars) x 20" D x 37.5" H; 12 drawers plus a lockable cabinetRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
1.5" polyurethane-coated beech wood topRetailer listing
Material
Powder-coated solid steel; stainless-steel door and drawer frontsRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes a total AND a per-drawer figure for a bench that only stands on wheels
  • 1.5 inch beech top, the thickest top of any rolling bench here
  • Twelve lined drawers plus a lockable cabinet with an adjustable shelf
  • Four 5 inch wheels and two push bars, the largest wheels here
What is not
  • 500 lb total is a quarter of what the open-frame benches claim
  • 30 lb per drawer fills with one drawer of sockets
  • No height adjustment
  • By far the highest price bracket of any rolling bench here

Twelve lined drawers and a lockable cabinet under a 1.5 inch beech top, and the most candid disclosure of the four: 500 lb total and 30 lb per drawer, published on the same page. That candor is exactly what this site asks for, and it is the only drawer cabinet here with both a published per-drawer figure and a live listing as we write.

Buy it knowing what the number means. Thirty pounds a drawer is one drawer of hand tools, not both, and it is under half what Gladiator publishes. The range is also sold in several drawer counts and widths, so confirm which configuration a listing is before you plan a wall around it.

Drawers versus doors

Drawers win when
  • The contents are small and dense: sockets, fasteners, hand tools
  • You need to see everything at once rather than reach past the front row
  • The cabinet sits under a worktop at working height
  • The items are used daily and put back daily
Doors and shelves win when
  • The load is heavy and bulky: fluids, cases, power tools with batteries
  • Per-shelf figures of 200 lb and up are what the job needs
  • The cabinet is tall - drawers above chest height are unusable
  • Budget per cubic foot decides it: doors are cheaper

The general case for and against a tool chest instead of a drawer cabinet is made in tool chests versus garage cabinets, and if the drawers are going under a bench top rather than into a cabinet run, the bench-mounted options are compared in workbenches with drawers. How a drawer base fits into a set alongside lockers and wall cabinets is in garage cabinet systems.

Questions

Common questions

How much weight can a garage cabinet drawer hold?

It depends entirely on the model and most makers do not publish it. Gladiator publishes 65 lb per drawer on its Premier GearDrawer; Seville publishes 30 lb per drawer on its UltraHD 12-drawer rolling workbench. A drawer of sockets and ratchets reaches the Gladiator figure on its own.

Is the per-unit or per-drawer capacity more important?

Per drawer. The unit figure describes the carcass and casters; the drawer figure describes the slides, which are the part that wears and the part that fails. A cabinet that publishes only a unit total has not told you what a drawer holds.

Are drawer cabinets better than tool chests for a garage?

For tools used at a bench, a drawer cabinet at worktop height usually wins because it becomes part of the run. For a large tool collection that needs many shallow drawers, a tool chest is built for exactly that and often publishes better per-drawer figures. The comparison is on its own page.

Do Gladiator drawer cabinets come assembled?

The Premier GearDrawer and the Premier 7-drawer cabinet both arrive pre-assembled, with only the bumpers and casters to fit. Gladiator states a lifetime limited parts warranty on the GearDrawer page; the 7-drawer page does not state a warranty.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next