Power tool storage
A drill is 4 lb. A grinder in its case is not. The published figures that matter here are per drawer and per hook, and most makers skip both.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
Quick picks
Ranked on whether the maker publishes a figure for the unit that actually carries a tool - a drawer, a hook, a shelf - then on access, then on protection from dust and damp, then on security. Price breaks ties.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best for cased tools Seville Classics UltraHD 12-Drawer Rolling Workbench 30 lb a drawer published, under a bench you can work on. | A rolling bench that is also the tool chest, with a figure you can plan against | 500 lb totalRetailer listing | |
| 2 | ![]() Best for daily tools Wall Control 16in x 32in Metal Pegboard Panel 200 lb a panel into studs; 5-15 lb per hook published. | Hand tools you want to rearrange often, on any wall | 200 lb / panelInstall doc | |
| 3 | ![]() Best pegboard for a damp garage Triton DuraBoard Polypropylene Pegboard, 24 x 48 in (2-Pack) 250 lb per 24 x 48 board, in polypropylene that cannot swell. | A damp or unheated garage where hardboard would swell | 250 lb / panelRetailer listing | |
| 4 | ![]() Best locked storage Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet 750 lb, 150 lb a shelf, three-point lock and two keys. | Adding one cabinet at a time instead of committing to a full wall | 750 lb totalRetailer listing | |
| 5 | ![]() Best above a bench Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox 410 lb per unit, 55 lb a shelf, hung on the wall. | Wall-hung storage above a workbench | 410 lb totalManufacturer |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
Power tools break the usual storage arithmetic because the tool and the package it lives in weigh completely different amounts. A cordless drill on its own is light enough to hang from almost anything. The same drill in a stacking case with two batteries, a charger and a bit set is a different object, and it is the case that has to go on the shelf.
So the useful question is not “how much does this cabinet hold” but “what does the maker publish for the part that carries one tool”. A drawer. A hook. A single shelf. That figure is published far less often than a headline capacity, and where it is published it is usually much smaller than buyers expect.
How this was judged
Four criteria, decided before anything was ranked, in this order.
First: is there a per-unit figure? Per drawer, per hook or per shelf — the thing a tool actually sits on. A cabinet that publishes only a total has not told you whether a drawer takes a grinder.
Second: access. A tool you use weekly should be reachable without moving another tool. That favors hooks and shallow drawers over deep shelves, regardless of what the figures say.
Third: dust and damp. Unheated garages condense. Doors keep dust off motors and vents; steel and polypropylene do not swell where hardboard does.
Fourth: security. Cordless tools are the most stolen thing in a garage. A published lock — and what kind — is worth ranking.
Published figures read from each maker's page or retail listing.
| Option | Published per-unit figure | Access | Enclosed? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seville 12-drawer bench | 30 lb / drawer | Excellent — one pull | Yes, lockable cabinet section |
| Wall Control pegboard | 5–15 lb / hook | Excellent — nothing in front | No |
| Triton DuraBoard | 250 lb / 24 x 48″ board | Excellent | No |
| Seville UltraHD cabinet | 150 lb / shelf | Good — open a door | Yes, three-point lock |
| Gladiator Modular GearBox | 55 lb / shelf | Good — at eye level | Yes, full door |
30 lb
What Seville publishes per drawer on its 12-drawer UltraHD workbench - the drawer figure most often quoted in this category. It is enough for a drill, an impact driver and their batteries; it is not a drawer for a full stack of cased tools. Gladiator publishes 65 lb per drawer on its Premier GearDrawer, and most drawer cabinets publish no per-drawer figure at all.
Seville Classics UltraHD 12-drawer rolling workbench listing
The five options
Seville Classics UltraHD 12-Drawer Rolling Workbench
Seville Classics · UltraHD Heavy Duty Rolling Cabinet Workbench, 12-Drawer

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
The only rolling bench on this site whose listing publishes a capacity that plainly describes the thing on wheels: 500 lb total and 30 lb per drawer, on a 72 inch bench that rolls on four 5 inch wheels. A quarter of what the open-frame benches claim, and the more believable number.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Total, on four 5 in. heavy-duty wheels; 30 lb per drawer
Published as a total weight capacity of 500 lb (30 lb per drawer). The bench has no feet other than its wheels, so this is the only capacity on the rolling benches compared here that necessarily applies on casters.
- Published rating
- 500 lb totalRetailer listing
- Secondary rating
- 30 lb totalRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 72" W (77" with push bars) x 20" D x 37.5" H; 12 drawers plus a lockable cabinetRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- 1.5" polyurethane-coated beech wood topRetailer listing
- Material
- Powder-coated solid steel; stainless-steel door and drawer frontsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a total AND a per-drawer figure for a bench that only stands on wheels
- 1.5 inch beech top, the thickest top of any rolling bench here
- Twelve lined drawers plus a lockable cabinet with an adjustable shelf
- Four 5 inch wheels and two push bars, the largest wheels here
- 500 lb total is a quarter of what the open-frame benches claim
- 30 lb per drawer fills with one drawer of sockets
- No height adjustment
- By far the highest price bracket of any rolling bench here
Twelve lined drawers and a lockable cabinet under a 1.5 inch beech top, published at 500 lb total and 30 lb per drawer. Drawers beat shelves for power tools because you see the whole drawer at once rather than the front of a shelf, and the top gives you somewhere to actually use the tool.
Thirty pounds a drawer is the honest limit: one drawer of batteries and a charger reaches it quickly, and stacked cases belong on a shelf instead. It is also the most expensive thing on this page by a distance, and the height is fixed at 37.5 inches.
Wall Control 16in x 32in Metal Pegboard Panel
Wall Control · Metal Pegboard Panel

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
Not slatwall at all, and the most honestly documented product in this entire comparison. Wall Control publishes two capacities for two mounting methods — 100 lb per panel into drywall anchors, 200 lb into studs — plus per-hook and per-shelf limits and a written caveat about what the numbers assume. Everyone else should be doing this.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Into studs; 100 lb per panel with drywall anchors instead
Wall Control states the assumption in writing: 'properly installed panels, weight relatively evenly distributed across the panel face, as well as weight situated at the base of each hook or shelf as opposed to the tip.' Per-hook limits are published too: 10-15 lb for a hook engaging two slots, 5-10 lb for one slot.
- Published rating
- 200 lb / panelInstall doc
- Dimensions
- 16" x 32" panelManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- 20 gauge steelManufacturer
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a different rating for drywall anchors and for studs — nobody else does
- Publishes per-hook, per-shelf and per-bin limits as well as per-panel
- Steel, so a dropped tool does not gouge it the way it gouges PVC
- Rated per panel, so comparing it to slatwall needs arithmetic (we do it)
- Hooks engage slots rather than a continuous groove, so placement is less free
Two hundred pounds per 16 by 32 inch panel into studs, 100 lb into drywall anchors, 20-gauge steel, and published per-hook figures of roughly 5 to 15 lb depending on the hook. For the four or five tools you use every time you are in the garage, nothing beats a hook at eye level with nothing in front of it.
The per-hook numbers are the constraint: they suit drills, drivers and sanders rather than a grinder in a case or a circular saw. Hooks are bought separately, and a pegboard wall is open storage — dust settles on everything, and so does anyone walking past.
Triton DuraBoard Polypropylene Pegboard, 24 x 48 in (2-Pack)
Triton Products · DuraBoard 24" x 48" Polypropylene Pegboard (2-Pack)

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
The plastic middle ground: 1/4 inch polypropylene rated 250 lb per 24 by 48 board, which works out at about 31 lb per square foot. Less than metal, far more than hardboard publishes, and it will not absorb moisture the way board does.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- not stated by the manufacturer
Published as a 250 lb load capacity per 24 x 48 inch board. Over 8 square feet that is roughly 31 lb per square foot - our arithmetic. No fastener or spacing is stated.
- Published rating
- 250 lb / panelRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 24" x 48" x 1/4", 1/4" holes on 1" centersRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- 1/4 inch polypropyleneRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a per-board capacity, which hardboard almost never does
- Polypropylene does not absorb moisture or fray around the holes
- Standard 1/4 inch holes on 1 inch centers take ordinary pegboard hooks
- Cheaper per square foot than metal pegboard
- Roughly 31 lb per square foot, well under Wall Control's metal panel
- No fastener, spacing or load distance published
- Figures come from the retail listing rather than a manufacturer spec sheet
- Flexes more than steel between fixings
Two hundred and fifty pounds per 24 by 48 inch board, in quarter-inch polypropylene that cannot absorb moisture, swell or crumble around the holes the way tempered hardboard does in an unheated garage. Standard 1 inch hole centers mean ordinary pegboard hooks fit.
It publishes a board figure but no per-hook figure, and no mounting distance, so the 250 lb assumes a correctly furred and fastened board rather than a sheet screwed flat to drywall. Polypropylene is also more flexible than steel, so long hooks holding heavy tools will deflect.
Seville Classics UltraHD Storage Cabinet
Seville Classics · UltraHD Storage Cabinet

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
The commercial-grade middle option, and the best documented steel cabinet we can link: 750 lb total and 150 lb per shelf on a 30 by 18 by 72 inch body, behind stainless doors on a three-point lock. Sold as single units rather than a set, so a wall can be built up one cabinet at a time.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Total, on four leveling feet with rubber base pads
Published as a total weight capacity of 750 lb (150 lb per shelf) for the 30 in. model. Four shelves are supplied, so the published total is larger than four shelves at their own rating.
- Published rating
- 750 lb totalRetailer listing
- Per shelf
- 150 lb / shelfRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 30" W x 18" D x 72" H exterior; 27" W x 17.13" D x 67.6" H interiorRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Powder-coated solid steel with stainless-steel doorsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a total AND a per-shelf figure, which most steel cabinets do not
- Three-point lock described in detail: top, middle and base, two keys
- Sold as single units, so a wall can be built up over time
- Leveling feet with rubber pads, for a garage slab that is never flat
- Capacities are published per model, not range-wide, so they need checking one by one
- No published steel gauge or thickness anywhere on the listing
- Nothing published about anchoring a 72 inch cabinet to the wall
- Narrower than the budget lockers that cost a third as much
Seven hundred and fifty pounds total, 150 lb per shelf, four solid steel shelves and a three-point lock that catches top, middle and base with two keys. This is where cased tools, chargers and anything with a blade go in a garage that is not always locked itself.
The shelves are 17 inches deep, which takes most cases but not a long track saw rail, and there is no drawer, so small accessories need bins. Seville publishes no steel gauge, and nothing on the listing addresses anchoring a 72 inch cabinet to the wall.
Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox
Gladiator · Ready-to-Assemble Full-Door Modular GearBox

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
The wall-hung half of the Gladiator range. 410 lb per unit and 55 lb per shelf published, gauge again absent. Useful for building a run at working height above a bench rather than a floor-to-ceiling wall of steel.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per unit
- Published rating
- 410 lb totalManufacturer
- Per shelf
- 55 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 28" W x 31" H x 18" D, 2 full-width shelvesManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Modular width suits building a run in stages
- Compatible with Gladiator wall systems
- 55 lb per shelf is the lowest published shelf rating of any cabinet here
- Steel gauge not published
Four hundred and ten pounds per unit and 55 lb per full-width shelf, behind a full door, hung on the wall above the bench. Wall-hung cabinets put the tools you use at the bench within reach of the bench, which is the single biggest workflow improvement in most garages.
Fifty-five pounds a shelf is modest for a cabinet of this price, Gladiator publishes no steel gauge anywhere we could find, and hanging it well needs the studs behind the bench — the sequence is in how to hang garage cabinets.
- You use it most times you are in the garage
- It is light - a drill, a driver, a sander
- It hangs naturally by a handle or a hook point
- You want to see at a glance that it is back where it belongs
- It lives in a case, or came with one that stacks
- It has a blade, a battery charger or resale value
- Dust and damp would reach the motor vents
- It is heavy enough to exceed a published per-hook figure
Most garages end up with all three: a pegboard run for the everyday tools, a bench with drawers for the ones in cases, and a locked cabinet for the rest. The drawer cabinets that publish a per-drawer figure are ranked in garage cabinets with drawers, the pegboard field is in best pegboard for a garage, and the chest-versus-cabinet question is settled in tool chests vs garage cabinets.
Common questions
How should power tools be stored in a garage?
How much weight can a pegboard hook hold?
Is it bad to store power tools in a cold garage?
Should power tools be stored in their cases?
What is the best cabinet for power tool storage?
Sources
- Seville Classics UltraHD 12-drawer rolling workbench - 500 lb total, 30 lb per drawer
- Wall Control pegboard how-to - 200 lb per panel into studs, 5-15 lb per hook
- Triton DuraBoard polypropylene pegboard - 250 lb per 24 x 48 in board
- Seville Classics UltraHD storage cabinet - 750 lb total, 150 lb per shelf, 3-point lock
- Gladiator Full-Door Modular GearBox - 410 lb per unit, 55 lb per shelf
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- CabinetsGarage cabinets with drawersDrawer cabinets ranked on the per-drawer figure most makers leave out, and what a drawer of tools actually weighs.
- SlatwallBest pegboard for a garageMetal, polypropylene and hardboard pegboard ranked on the published figure, including the one that publishes none.
- WorkbenchesTool chests vs garage cabinetsWhy drawers and cabinets are not interchangeable, and what belongs in each.