Best rolling tool carts
A cart's headline is a claim about four small wheels. The number you actually use is the one printed on the drawer, and almost nobody prints it.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
Quick picks
Ranked on whether per-tray and per-drawer figures are published, then on what is stated about the casters and the steel, then on drawers, locks and work surface. Price breaks ties.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best documented VEVOR 5-Tier Tool Cart 400 lb cart, 110 lb a tray, 33 lb a drawer - all published. | A cart whose per-tray and per-drawer figures are both published | 110 lb / shelfRetailer listing | |
| 2 | ![]() Best value VEVOR 4-Tier Tool Cart The same breakdown at under half the price. | The cheapest cart that still publishes a per-tray and per-drawer figure | 100 lb / shelfRetailer listing | |
| 3 | ![]() Best work surface Ironton 28" 2-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart 50 lb drawer slides, and the only published caster size. | A cart that is also a work surface, on casters big enough to roll | 350 lb totalRetailer listing | |
| 4 | ![]() Most honest claim TANKSTORM 3-Tier Rolling Tool Cart 1 mm steel published, and the lowest headline here. | Buyers who want the steel thickness stated rather than the claim inflated | 330 lb totalRetailer listing | |
| 5 | ![]() Smallest and cheapest FITHOIST 3-Tier Rolling Tool Cart 440 lb claimed on 0.9 mm steel. Read that twice. | The smallest, cheapest cart, if the headline is taken with salt | 440 lb totalRetailer listing | |
| — | ![]() We would skip this one Maxority 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest Seven drawers, and not one published figure. | Drawer count, if you are willing to buy without a single figure | Not published |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
A tool cart is the one piece of garage storage that has to survive being shoved across a slab while fully loaded. Everything it holds is carried by four small wheels, and everything you take out of it comes off one tray or out of one drawer. So there are three numbers that matter and one of them gets printed on the box.
This site has already documented what casters do to a capacity figure: in best rolling workbench the only manufacturer candid enough to publish the same unit twice — Seville, on its UltraDurable shelving — rates it at 4,000 lb on leveling feet and 500 lb on its own wheels. Carts are wheels-only products. Their totals are already caster numbers, which makes the per-tray and per-drawer breakdown the useful part.
How this was judged
Four criteria, decided before anything was ranked, in this order.
First: are there per-tray and per-drawer figures? Two carts publish both, one publishes a per-drawer slide rating, and three publish only a total or nothing at all. A cart total tells you what the frame is claimed to take; it does not tell you whether a drawer of sockets is within spec.
Second: what is published about the casters? Diameter, how many swivel, how many brake. One listing publishes a caster size. One publishes 2 inch casters with bearings. The rest describe their wheels as smooth and leave it there.
Third: is the steel specified? Two carts publish a panel thickness in millimeters, and the comparison between them is the most useful thing on this page.
Fourth: drawers, locks and work surface. Whether the cart secures anything, and whether the top is usable. This decides how pleasant the cart is; it does not rescue a cart that published nothing.
Published figures read from each retail listing on 27 September 2026. 'Not published' means the figure does not appear on the listing, which is itself the finding.
| Cart | Headline | Per tray | Per drawer | Casters / steel published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VEVOR 5-tier (T271802) | 400 lb | 110 lb | 33 lb | 2 swivel + 2 fixed, 2 braked |
| VEVOR 4-tier (T271401) | 350 lb | 100 lb | 33 lb | 2 swivel + 2 fixed, 2 braked |
| Ironton 28″ 2-drawer | 350 lb | Not published — no open trays | 50 lb | 4″ x 1.25″ casters |
| TANKSTORM 3-tier | 330 lb | Not published | Not published — no drawers | 1 mm steel; 2″ casters with bearings |
| FITHOIST 3-tier | 440 lb | Not published | Not published — no drawers | 0.9 mm steel; rubber, 2 braked |
| Maxority 7-drawer | Not published | Not published | Not published | 4 swivel, all lockable |
33 lb
What VEVOR publishes for one drawer on a cart whose headline is 400 lb - about 8 percent of it. A drawer of half-inch sockets and a couple of ratchets gets there quickly. It is the only per-drawer figure published by any open-tray cart in this comparison, and publishing it is to VEVOR's credit rather than against it.
The claim that does not add up
Two carts here publish a panel thickness, which makes them directly comparable. TANKSTORM publishes 1 mm steel and claims 330 lb. FITHOIST publishes 0.9 mm steel and claims 440 lb — a third more load on a tenth of a millimeter less steel, for less money.
One of those two positions is more defensible than the other, and it is not the bigger number. This is the same pattern the rest of this site keeps finding: where a seller publishes a construction figure you can check, the capacity claim tends to get more modest, and where nothing is published the claims run free. The extreme case in this category is a 3-tier cart we found advertising 1,000 lb on two lockable casters; we have not featured it, and its stock was intermittent when we looked.
The six carts
VEVOR 5-Tier Tool Cart
VEVOR · T271802 5-Tier Tool Cart

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The only cart here that publishes all three numbers: 400 lb for the cart, 110 lb per tray and 33 lb per drawer. That last figure is the one you use every day, and it is 8 percent of the headline.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per tray, three trays; 400 lb published for the cart
Published as 400 lb total with each tray supporting 110 lb and each drawer 33 lb. Three trays at 110 plus two drawers at 33 comes to 396, so the headline total is the sum of the parts rather than a separate figure.
- Published rating
- 110 lb / shelfRetailer listing
- Secondary rating
- 33 lb totalRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 30.9" x 17.7" x 37.2"; 3 trays, 2 lockable drawers, side pegboardsRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- High-strength carbon steel, powder-coated, EVA drawer paddingRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes total, per-tray and per-drawer figures - alone on this page
- Two lockable drawers on ball-bearing slides with EVA padding
- Five levels including pegboards, the most storage here
- Tallest work surface of the carts compared
- 33 lb a drawer fills with one drawer of sockets
- Only two of four wheels brake, and no caster size is published
- No steel thickness published
- Most expensive VEVOR cart here, for two drawers
Three open trays, two lockable ball-bearing drawers with EVA padding, side pegboards, and the only complete set of published figures on this page: 400 lb for the cart, 110 lb per tray, 33 lb per drawer. Three trays at 110 plus two drawers at 33 is 396, so the headline is the sum of the parts rather than a separate claim — which is exactly the kind of internal consistency this site looks for.
Thirty-three pounds a drawer is the honest constraint, and it is one drawer of sockets. Only two of the four wheels brake, no caster diameter is published and no steel thickness either, and it is the most expensive VEVOR cart here for two drawers.
VEVOR 4-Tier Tool Cart
VEVOR · T271401 4-Tier Tool Cart

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The same disclosure as its 5-tier sibling at less than half the price: 350 lb for the cart, 100 lb per tray, 33 lb for the drawer. One drawer instead of two, and a narrower body that fits between a car and a bench.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per tray, three trays; 350 lb published for the cart
Published as 350 lb total with each tray supporting 100 lb and the drawer 33 lb.
- Published rating
- 100 lb / shelfRetailer listing
- Secondary rating
- 33 lb totalRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 32.7" x 13.8" x 32.5"; 3 trays, 1 lockable drawer, side pegboardsRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes per-tray and per-drawer figures at the lowest price here
- 13.8 inches deep, which fits an aisle a wider cart will not
- Lockable drawer with EVA padding
- Side pegboards included rather than sold separately
- One drawer, and 33 lb is its published limit
- 350 lb total is the second-lowest claim on this page
- No caster diameter and no steel thickness published
- Two fixed wheels means it does not turn on the spot
The same disclosure at under half the price: 350 lb for the cart, 100 lb per tray, 33 lb for its single drawer, with the same lockable drawer, EVA padding and side pegboards. At 13.8 inches deep it is also the narrowest cart in this comparison, which is the difference between fitting beside a parked car and not.
One drawer means one lockable space, and 33 lb is its published limit. Three hundred and fifty pounds is the second-lowest headline here, nothing is published about the casters or the steel, and two fixed wheels mean the cart will not turn on the spot in a tight bay.
Ironton 28" 2-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart
Ironton · 28" 2-Drawer Rolling Tool Cart

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The only cart here that publishes its caster size - 4 in by 1.25 in - and a per-slide rating of 50 lb for each locking drawer. The top slides open for storage and doubles as a work surface closed, which no other cart on this page offers.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Cart total, on 4" x 1.25" casters
Published as a 350 lb capacity with 50 lb ball-bearing drawer slides. The listing publishes the caster size, which nothing else here does.
- Published rating
- 350 lb totalRetailer listing
- Secondary rating
- 50 lb totalRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 30.5" L x 14.5" W x 33" H; 2 locking drawers and a sliding topRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Heavy-duty steel with a powder-coat finishRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes its caster size - 4 in x 1.25 in - uniquely on this page
- 50 lb per drawer slide, the highest published drawer figure here
- Sliding lockable top: storage well open, work surface closed
- Internal keyed locking system with two keys
- No per-shelf figure, because there are no open trays
- Two drawers is the least storage here for the money
- No steel thickness published
- Priced beside carts offering five levels
Two locking drawers on published 50 lb ball-bearing slides — the highest per-drawer figure on this page — under a top that slides open to a storage well and closes into a work surface. Ironton also publishes its caster size, 4 by 1.25 inches, which nothing else here does and which is the difference between rolling over a cord and stopping dead at one.
Two drawers is the least storage on this page for the money, there are no open trays so there is no per-shelf figure to publish, and no steel thickness appears anywhere. It is priced beside carts offering five levels of storage.
TANKSTORM 3-Tier Rolling Tool Cart
TANKSTORM · TQ112 3-Tier Rolling Tool Cart

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
Publishes the two construction facts this category usually hides: 1 mm steel panels and 2 inch casters with bearings. Its 330 lb claim is the most modest here, which on the evidence of the thicker steel is the more coherent position.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Cart total, on 2 in. casters with bearings, two lockable
Published as a 330 lb capacity. No per-shelf figure is published, so the number describes the cart rather than one of its three shelves.
- Published rating
- 330 lb totalRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- Three shelves with rolled, raised edges; ergonomic push handleRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- 1 mm steel panelsRetailer listing
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes both steel thickness (1 mm) and caster size (2 in with bearings)
- Rolled, raised shelf edges keep sockets from rolling off
- The most conservative capacity claim on this page
- Open three-tier layout, easy to load from any side
- No per-shelf figure, only a cart total
- 2 inch casters are the smallest here and dislike cords and cracks
- No drawers at all - everything is in the open
- No lock of any kind
One millimeter steel panels and 2 inch casters with bearings, both published, on three shelves with rolled and raised edges that stop sockets rolling off when the cart moves. Its 330 lb headline is the smallest here, and given that it publishes the thickest panel steel of any cart on the page, that is the most coherent pair of numbers in the comparison.
No per-shelf figure is published, so the total still has to be divided by eye. Two inch casters are the smallest published wheels here and they are the ones that will catch on a cord or an expansion joint. There are no drawers and no lock: everything lives in the open.
FITHOIST 3-Tier Rolling Tool Cart
FITHOIST · 3-Tier Rolling Tool Cart, 0.9 mm

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
Four hundred and forty pounds claimed on 0.9 mm steel - the biggest number on this page sitting on the thinnest published panel. It is also the cheapest cart here and the most compact, which is a real argument if you read the claim as marketing.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Cart total, on rubber casters, two braked and two swivel
Published as a 440 lb loading capacity on 0.9 mm steel. No per-shelf figure is published, and the claim is 110 lb higher than the cart here that publishes thicker steel.
- Published rating
- 440 lb totalRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 26.5" L x 13.5" W x 30" H, three tiers with side tool slotsRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- 0.9 mm steelRetailer listing
- Material
- Not published
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a steel thickness, which most carts do not
- Smallest footprint here at 26.5 by 13.5 inches
- Rubber casters, two braked, with reinforced caster bolts
- The lowest price of any cart on this page
- 440 lb on 0.9 mm steel is the least coherent claim in this comparison
- No per-shelf figure published
- No drawers and no lock
- 30 inches tall is low for working at standing height
The smallest footprint here at 26.5 by 13.5 inches, the lowest price, and a published steel thickness, which most carts skip entirely. Rubber casters with reinforced bolts, two of them braked, and side slots for screwdrivers and pliers.
Then the headline: 440 lb, on 0.9 mm steel, against a rival claiming 330 lb on 1 mm. Both cannot be describing the same kind of test. There is no per-shelf figure, no drawers, no lock, and at 30 inches tall it is low for working at standing height. Buy it for the size and the price, not for the number.
Maxority 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest
Maxority · AMAX2207-PRO 7-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
Seven ball-bearing drawers, four lockable swivel casters and a lock, which is a genuinely useful shape for a mechanic. The listing publishes no weight capacity at all - not for the chest, not for a drawer - on a product whose entire purpose is holding heavy steel tools.
- Published rating
- Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
- Dimensions
- Seven drawers on ball-bearing slides; four lockable swivel castersRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Heavy-duty steel with powder coatingRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Seven drawers, the most separate compartments on this page
- All four casters swivel and lock, which no other cart here manages
- Ball-bearing slides throughout and a keyed lock
- No weight capacity published, per drawer or for the chest
- No dimensions published either
- No steel thickness published
- Priced at the top of this page on adjectives alone
Seven drawers on ball-bearing slides, a keyed lock, and all four casters swivelling and locking — which no other cart on this page manages and which genuinely matters when you want a loaded chest to stay put. As a shape, this is what a mechanic actually wants.
It publishes no weight capacity at all: not for the chest, not per drawer. No dimensions either, and no steel thickness. The construction case is made entirely in adjectives, at the top price on this page. The same is true of the 8-drawer INTERGREAT chest sold beside it, so this is a sub-category failure rather than one bad listing — but on a page that ranks by published figures, no figures is last.
- You want to see and grab everything without opening anything
- The load is bulky - power tools, fluids, sprays, a parts bin
- The cart follows you around a job and gets loaded and unloaded daily
- You want the published per-tray figure to plan against
- Small tools would rattle loose or roll off an open shelf
- The tools need locking up between jobs
- You want sockets and wrenches sorted by size and staying sorted
- Dust and overspray are a problem in the space
A cart is not a bench and not a cabinet, and it is worth being clear which problem you are solving: the mobile benches that carry a work surface are ranked in best rolling workbench, the chest-versus-cabinet decision is settled in tool chests vs garage cabinets, and if the question is really where power tools should live, power tool storage compares drawers, hooks and locked steel on the published per-unit figures.
Common questions
How much weight can a rolling tool cart hold?
Why is the drawer capacity so much lower than the cart capacity?
What caster size should a tool cart have?
Is a tool cart better than a tool chest?
Do rolling tool carts need locking casters?
Sources
- VEVOR T271802 5-tier tool cart - 400 lb, 110 lb per tray, 33 lb per drawer
- VEVOR T271401 4-tier tool cart - 350 lb, 100 lb per tray, 33 lb per drawer
- Ironton 28" 2-drawer rolling tool cart - 350 lb, 50 lb slides, 4 x 1.25 in casters
- TANKSTORM TQ112 3-tier cart - 330 lb, 1 mm steel, 2 in casters with bearings
- FITHOIST 3-tier cart - 440 lb claimed on 0.9 mm steel
- Maxority 7-drawer rolling tool chest - no weight capacity published
- INTERGREAT 8-drawer rolling tool chest - no weight capacity published
- Seville Classics UltraDurable shelving - 4,000 lb on feet, 500 lb on casters
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- WorkbenchesTool chests vs garage cabinetsWhy drawers and cabinets are not interchangeable, and what belongs in each.
- WorkbenchesBest rolling workbenchSix mobile benches ranked on the question every listing skips: does the capacity figure hold on the wheels?
- WorkbenchesWorkbench with drawers vs open frameDrawers against open frame, and the predictable failure mode that decides it for most garages.