Skip to content
Steel Slat
Slatwall

Best kayak storage for a garage

Wet boats are heavier than dry ones and hang off two points. The published capacities here come in four different units, and one product publishes none.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 5, 2026.

Ranked

Quick picks

Ranked on whether a capacity is published and in what unit (per hook, per pair, per tier, per hoist), then on whether the listing states what it fastens to, then on how the hull is held, then on fit and reach. Price breaks ties.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
TRUSOON 250 lb Kayak Hoist
Most capacity published

TRUSOON 250 lb Kayak Hoist

250 lb, six-rope pulley, auto-locking brake.

A loaded fishing kayak, a canoe or a rooftop tent250 lb totalRetailer listing
2
WALMANN 4-Tier Kayak Wall Rack
Best wall rack

WALMANN 4-Tier Kayak Wall Rack

220 lb a tier, four tiers, and it names studs.

Two or more boats on one wall, at heights you can change later220 lb / shelfRetailer listing
3
Teal Triangle 150 lb Kayak Hoist
Best strap set

Teal Triangle 150 lb Kayak Hoist

150 lb, and the only published strap length: 8 ft.

One kayak or paddleboard that needs the straps to reach150 lb totalRetailer listing
4
RAD Sportz Kayak Hoist (2-Pack)
Best value

RAD Sportz Kayak Hoist (2-Pack)

Two hoists at 125 lb each, with a rope brake.

Two kayaks, or a kayak and a ladder, on a normal 12 ft ceiling125 lb totalRetailer listing
5
SEDY 15" Kayak Storage Hooks (4-Piece)
Clearest unit

SEDY 15" Kayak Storage Hooks (4-Piece)

100 lb PER HOOK, 15 in arms, studs recommended.

One boat on a stud wall, hung on two 15 inch arms100 lb totalRetailer listing
—
EVERHANGER 2-Kayak Wall Rack
We would skip this one

EVERHANGER 2-Kayak Wall Rack

Adjustable arms for two boats, and no published capacity.

Nothing measurable, until it publishes a capacityNot published

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 5, 2026.

Short answer
Rank kayak storage on the published figure and its unit. TRUSOON’s hoist publishes the highest at 250 lb with a six-rope pulley and an auto-lock. WALMANN’s 4-tier wall rack publishes 220 lb per tier and tells you to mount into studs. SEDY’s hooks publish 100 lb per hook, where the niffgaff hooks this site also covers publish 120 lb per pair — 60 lb each. EVERHANGER’s wall rack publishes no capacity at all.

A kayak is the hardest single object most garages have to store. It is long enough to block a car, awkward enough that two people usually carry it, and heavier than it looks once it has been in the water. And unlike a bike or a ladder, it has a hull that does not want to rest on two narrow points for six months.

The products split into three kinds: ceiling hoists that pull the boat up on straps, wall racks with arms that cradle it, and hooks that do the same job with less steel. All of them publish a capacity. The catch is that they publish it in four different units, and comparing the headline numbers without reading the unit gets you a figure that is double what you actually have.

How this was judged

Four criteria, decided before anything was ranked, in this order.

First: is a capacity published, and in what unit? Per hoist, per tier, per hook or per pair. Five of six publish something; one publishes nothing and ranks last for it.

Second: does the listing say what it fastens to? Hoists hang from joists, racks and hooks bolt to studs. WALMANN names studs, SEDY recommends them, the hoists name joists and whether they can run parallel or perpendicular. Nobody publishes a lag screw size.

Third: how is the hull held? Straps spread the load along the boat; hooks and arms concentrate it at two points. Strap length and arm padding are the published details that matter here.

Fourth: fit and reach. Arm length, strap length, ceiling height range and how far the arms adjust. These decide whether the product suits your boat and your bay.

Published figures read from each retail listing on 4 October 2026. 'Not published' means the figure does not appear on the listing, which is itself the finding.

ProductTypePublished capacityUnitFixing stated
TRUSOON PRO hoistCeiling hoist250 lbPer hoistJoists, parallel or perpendicular
WALMANN 4-tier rackWall rack220 lbPer tierWall studs
Teal Triangle hoistCeiling hoist150 lbPer hoistJoists, either direction
RAD Sportz 2-packCeiling hoist125 lbPer hoist (two supplied)Joists to 12 ft
SEDY 15″ hooksWall hooks100 lbPer hookStuds recommended
EVERHANGER rackWall rackNot publishedNot publishedNot published

100 lb vs 60 lb

SEDY publishes 100 lb per hook. The niffgaff hooks sold for the same job - and compared on this site's utility hook page - publish 120 lb per PAIR, which is 60 lb per hook. Same shape of product, same wall, and the cheaper one publishes two thirds more per hanging point. Read the unit before the number: it is the single easiest mistake to make in this category.

SEDY 15 in kayak storage hook listing - 100 lb per hook

The six options

Most capacity published

TRUSOON 250 lb Kayak Hoist

TRUSOON · TRUSOON-PRO-250LBS Heavy Duty Kayak Hoist

TRUSOON 250 lb Kayak Hoist
$129.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 5, 2026.

Two hundred and fifty pounds published on a six-rope pulley with an auto-locking brake - double what most kayak hoists claim, and the only one here that states its mechanical advantage and a ceiling range up to 18 feet.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Mounts parallel or perpendicular to ceiling joists

Published as lifting 250 lb on a 6-pulley system with an auto-locking brake that engages when the rope is released. The listing states it handles loads standard 150 lb hoists cannot.

Published rating
250 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
Fits ceilings 10 to 18 ft; adjustable straps and a center connector barRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • 250 lb published, the highest figure in this comparison
  • Six-rope mechanical advantage, stated rather than implied
  • Auto-locking brake plus redundant safety straps
  • 10 to 18 ft ceiling range, the widest here
What is not
  • Most expensive option on this page by a wide margin
  • No lag screw size or joist minimum published
  • Straps and a connector bar take longer to rig than two hooks
  • 250 lb is more capacity than a recreational kayak needs

Two hundred and fifty pounds, double what most kayak hoists claim, on a six-rope pulley whose mechanical advantage the listing actually states, with an auto-locking brake that engages the moment you let go of the rope and dual safety straps as a backup. Ceilings from 10 to 18 feet, joists either direction, pulleys pre-threaded out of the box.

It is the most expensive thing on this page by a wide margin, and 250 lb is more than a recreational kayak will ever need — this figure is aimed at rooftop tents and loaded fishing boats. No lag screw size or joist minimum is published, and strapping a hull into a connector bar takes longer than dropping it onto two hooks.

Best wall rack

WALMANN 4-Tier Kayak Wall Rack

WALMANN · 4-Tier Wall Mounted Kayak Storage Rack

WALMANN 4-Tier Kayak Wall Rack
$99.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 5, 2026.

Two hundred and twenty pounds published per tier across four tiers, on a vertical bar long enough to move the arms where your hulls actually sit - and the listing says to mount it to wall studs, which half this category never mentions.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per tier; the listing states mounting to wall studs

Published as each tier holding up to 220 lb. No total is published for the rack, and no fastener size or stud spacing is stated.

Published rating
220 lb / shelfRetailer listing
Dimensions
Four tiers on a long vertical bar; arm spacing adjustableRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Powder-coated steelRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • 220 lb per tier published, the highest per-level figure here
  • Four tiers, so two boats plus paddles and a board
  • Arm heights adjust along the vertical bar
  • Says to mount into wall studs
What is not
  • No arm length or bar length published, so hull fit is a guess
  • No total for the rack, only a per-tier figure
  • No steel gauge published
  • A single vertical bar concentrates the whole load on one stud line

Two hundred and twenty pounds per tier across four tiers — the highest per-level figure here — on a vertical bar long enough to slide the arms to where your hulls actually sit. It is also one of only two products on this page whose listing says to mount into wall studs. Powder-coated steel for a damp garage wall.

No arm length or bar length is published, so whether a wide sit-on-top hull sits properly in the cradle is a guess until it arrives. There is no total for the rack, only the per-tier figure, no steel gauge, and a single vertical bar puts the entire load on one line of studs.

Best strap set

Teal Triangle 150 lb Kayak Hoist

Teal Triangle · Pulley Hoist for Kayak, Canoe and Paddleboards

Teal Triangle 150 lb Kayak Hoist
$69.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 5, 2026.

A hundred and fifty pounds on alloy steel with 8 ft adjustable straps and an adjustable center strap - the published strap length is what lets it balance a 12 foot boat instead of pinching it at two points.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Ceiling joists, parallel or perpendicular

Published as safely holding up to 150 lb on industrial-grade alloy steel with a high-strength rope system. Mounting hardware for joists is stated as included.

Published rating
150 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
8 ft adjustable straps with an adjustable center connecting strapRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes its strap length (8 ft), which nothing else here does
  • Center connecting strap adjusts to balance an uneven hull
  • 150 lb covers almost any recreational kayak or SUP
  • Works on joists running either way
What is not
  • No mechanical advantage ratio published
  • No auto-lock mentioned in the published features
  • No ceiling height range stated
  • One boat per hoist

A hundred and fifty pounds on alloy steel, and the one published detail that decides whether a hoist suits a long boat: 8 ft adjustable straps with an adjustable center strap. Strap length is what sets how far apart the two lift points can sit, and spreading them is how you avoid hanging a 12 foot hull from two pinch points.

It publishes no mechanical advantage ratio, no auto-lock in its listed features and no ceiling height range, all of which the TRUSOON states. One boat per hoist, and at this price two boats costs more than the RAD two-pack.

Best value

RAD Sportz Kayak Hoist (2-Pack)

RAD Sportz · 83-DT5003 Kayak Hoist, 2-Pack

RAD Sportz Kayak Hoist (2-Pack)
$39.80 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 5, 2026.

Two hoists at 125 lb each for the price of one of everything else here, with a rope brake that pinches on every pull, rubber-coated hooks, nylon straps and published dimensions. The cheapest honest way to get two boats off a garage floor.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per hoist; joists parallel or perpendicular, up to 12 ft

Published as lifting up to 125 lb per hoist, with two hoists in the pack and wall cleats for tying off the rope. The 12 ft ceiling limit is published.

Published rating
125 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
14" L x 12.75" W x 10" H per hoist; two per pack with cleatsRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Two hoists in the pack, at the lowest cost per boat here
  • Automatic rope brake that locks on each pull
  • Rubber-coated hooks and nylon straps against hull scratches
  • Publishes its own dimensions and the ceiling limit
What is not
  • 125 lb per hoist is the second-lowest figure on this page
  • 12 ft ceiling limit rules out vaulted bays
  • Hooks contact the hull unless you rig the straps carefully
  • No mechanical advantage ratio published

Two hoists, 125 lb each, for less than the price of one of most rivals, with an automatic rope brake that pinches on every pull, nylon straps, rubber-coated hooks and wall cleats for the loose rope. It publishes its own dimensions and its ceiling limit, which is more than several pricier hoists manage.

A hundred and twenty-five pounds is the second-lowest figure here, the 12 ft ceiling limit rules out vaulted bays, and the hooks will touch the hull unless the straps are rigged carefully. No mechanical advantage ratio is published.

Clearest unit

SEDY 15" Kayak Storage Hooks (4-Piece)

SEDY · 88068 15" Storage Hooks, 4-Piece

SEDY 15" Kayak Storage Hooks (4-Piece)
$19.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 5, 2026.

A hundred pounds per hook, published per hook rather than per pair, with 15 inches of arm and EVA protectors - and the listing says plainly to install on studs for added support. The cheapest option here and the clearest about its unit.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Per hook; screws and anchors supplied, and the listing says to install on studs for added support

Published as supporting up to 100 lb, stated per hook on a 4-piece set. That unit matters: the niffgaff hooks on this site publish 120 lb per PAIR, which is 60 lb each.

Published rating
100 lb totalRetailer listing
Dimensions
15" arms, four hooks per pack, with EVA arm protectorsRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Low-carbon steel with a powder-coated finishRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes 100 lb PER HOOK, not per pair
  • Fifteen inches of arm takes a wide recreational hull
  • EVA protectors on the arms where the hull rests
  • Four hooks, so two boats, at the lowest price here
What is not
  • A 15 inch arm is 15 inches of leverage on the fixing
  • No steel thickness published
  • Anchors are supplied but studs are recommended - those are not equivalent
  • Hooks hold the hull at two points rather than cradling it

A hundred pounds per hook, published that way rather than per pair, with 15 inches of arm, EVA protectors where the hull rests and four hooks in the pack — enough for two boats. The listing also says to install on studs for added support, which is the honest version of “screws and anchors included”.

Fifteen inches of arm is fifteen inches of leverage on those fixings, so studs are not optional in practice. No steel thickness is published, anchors are supplied but are not equivalent to framing, and two hooks hold a hull at two points rather than cradling it along its length.

We would skip this one

EVERHANGER 2-Kayak Wall Rack

EVERHANGER · Wall Mounted Kayak Storage Rack for 2 Kayaks

EVERHANGER 2-Kayak Wall Rack
$54.99 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked October 5, 2026.

Height-adjustable, upward-angled arms for two boats on one wall, in powder-coated steel - and not one weight figure anywhere in the listing, on a rack whose whole job is holding two kayaks off the floor.

Published rating
Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
Dimensions
Two pairs of height-adjustable, upward-angled support armsRetailer listing
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Heavy-duty steel with a black powder-coated finishRetailer listing
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Arm heights adjust to the hulls you actually own
  • Upward-angled arms resist a boat sliding off
  • Powder-coated for a damp garage or an outdoor wall
What is not
  • No weight capacity published at all
  • No arm length or depth published, so hull fit is unknowable
  • No fastener or wall type stated
  • Costs more than hooks that publish 100 lb each

Height-adjustable, upward-angled arms for two boats on one wall, in powder-coated steel that will survive an outdoor wall. The adjustability is genuinely useful: hulls differ, and arms that move are better than arms that do not.

There is no weight capacity published anywhere in the listing — not per arm, not per pair, not for the rack — on a product whose only job is holding two kayaks off the ground. No arm length, no fastener, no wall type. It also costs more than hooks that publish 100 lb each. On a page ranked on the published figure, nothing published is last.

Hoist the boat when
  • The walls are full and the ceiling is clear
  • The boat goes up for a season rather than out every weekend
  • You are lifting alone and want mechanical advantage
  • Ceiling height is 10 ft or more above whatever parks below
Wall-mount it when
  • The boat comes out weekly and a rope is one step too many
  • The ceiling is low, trussed awkwardly or not yours to drill
  • You have a long clear wall and findable studs
  • Two or more boats need stacking at heights you can change

Either way the fixing decides the outcome, not the rack. If the same wall is carrying other long gear, the hooks that publish a rating are compared in best heavy duty garage hooks, the bike hangers and ceiling hoists are in best garage bike storage, and the order to lay a mixed wall out in is in laying out a garage wall.

Questions

Common questions

How much weight can a kayak wall rack hold?

The products here publish 100 lb per hook (SEDY), 220 lb per tier (WALMANN), 125 to 250 lb per hoist, and in one case nothing at all. Read the unit: the niffgaff hooks sold for the same job publish 120 lb per pair, which is 60 lb per hanging point. All of those figures assume the fixing lands in framing.

Is a kayak hoist better than a wall rack?

A hoist uses ceiling space you are not otherwise using and gives you mechanical advantage for lifting alone; a wall rack is faster for a boat that goes out weekly and lets you stack two or more. Hoists here publish 125 to 250 lb, wall options 100 lb per hook to 220 lb per tier.

What do you mount a kayak hoist to?

A ceiling joist, never the sheathing between them. All three hoists here state joist mounting and whether they work parallel or perpendicular; RAD Sportz publishes a 12 ft ceiling limit and TRUSOON a 10 to 18 ft range. None publishes a lag screw size, so use the supplied hardware into solid timber and check the thread bites.

How far apart should kayak wall hooks be?

Far enough apart that the hull is supported inside its length rather than at the very ends, which in practice means landing both hooks on studs and letting stud spacing set the distance. For hoists, strap length does the same job: Teal Triangle publishes 8 ft straps, the only strap length published here.

Can you store a kayak outside on a wall rack?

The racks here are powder-coated steel and several listings name outdoor use, so the hardware will cope. The boat is the question, not the rack: check what your kayak’s maker says about UV and freeze exposure, and cover it if it lives outside. We do not publish hull-care figures we cannot source.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next