Best shelving for storage totes
Every rack here holds more than a stack of totes weighs. The question is whether the tote fits, and that is a depth problem.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
Quick picks
Ranked on published shelf depth against the footprint of a standard 27-gallon tote, then on how finely the shelves adjust, then on published per-shelf capacity, then on width. Price breaks ties.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best fit for 27-gallon totes WORKPRO 77" Welded Steel Garage Shelving Rack 77 x 24 in shelves: two totes across, none overhanging. | Wide, deep bulk storage on a frame the listing says is welded | 2,000 lb / shelfRetailer listing | |
| 2 | ![]() Best value Ironton 77" 4-Tier Industrial Steel Shelving Unit The same 77 x 24 in footprint for less money. | The same capacity on a smaller budget, if the frame spec can be checked in person | 2,000 lb / shelfRetailer listing | |
| 3 | No photo Best shelf spacing Edsal MuscleRack Welded Steel Storage Rack, 77 x 24 x 72 in Shelves adjust in 1.5 in increments - the tote-height problem solved. | Wire-decked heavy storage where airflow and visibility matter | 2,000 lb / shelfManufacturer | |
| 4 | ![]() Best for a short wall GarveeTech 48" x 24" 5-Tier Shelving Five 24 in deep tiers in only 48 in of width. | Tote storage in a short bay, where depth matters more than capacity | 2,000 lb totalRetailer listing | |
| 5 | ![]() Best in a damp garage Seville Classics UltraDurable 5-Tier NSF Wire Shelving Wire shelving on wheels - but 18 in deep, so totes overhang. | Wire shelving that has to stay put, in a damp or dusty garage | 800 lb / shelfManufacturer |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
Almost every garage shelving page on the internet ranks racks by capacity, and almost nobody storing totes needs the capacity. A 27-gallon tote full of holiday decorations, camping gear or kids’ clothes is not heavy by shelving standards. What decides whether the rack works is whether the tote fits on the shelf, and whether you can set the shelves far enough apart to get the lid off.
So this page starts from the tote. Sterilite publishes an outer size of 28.5 by 19.625 by 15.5 inches for its 27-gallon industrial tote — the yellow-lidded one sold by the four-pack for garages. Those three numbers do all the work below.
What the tote dimensions mean for a rack
Depth decides overhang. Set the tote with its 19.625 inch side into the shelf and a 24 inch deep rack leaves about 4.4 inches spare. An 18 inch deep rack is 1.6 inches short, so the tote overhangs the front edge — it will sit there, but nothing supports the lip you grab, and anything stacked on top is cantilevered over the aisle.
Width decides how many. Two totes laid lengthwise take 57 inches of a 77 inch shelf, leaving 20 inches for the odd-shaped things that never fit a tote. A 48 inch shelf takes one tote lengthwise plus a gap, or two turned sideways — at which point the 28.5 inch length runs into the depth, and on a 24 inch shelf that overhangs by 4.5 inches.
Height decides the shelf spacing. A 15.5 inch tote needs more than 15.5 inches of gap, because you have to lift it clear of the shelf above to get it out, and the lid has to come off somewhere. A rack that adjusts in 1.5 inch increments lets you set 17 or 18 inches and use the rest of the upright for shorter things. A rack with fixed tiers gives you what it gives you.
Rack figures are each maker's published dimensions and ratings. 'Totes per shelf' is our arithmetic using Sterilite's published 28.5 x 19.625 in tote footprint.
| Rack | Shelf size | Totes per shelf | Shelf adjustment | Published capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WORKPRO welded rack | 77 x 24″ | 2 lengthwise | 4 adjustable tiers | 2,000 lb / shelf |
| Ironton 77″ rack | 77 x 24″ | 2 lengthwise | 4 adjustable tiers | 2,000 lb / shelf |
| Edsal MuscleRack 77″ | 77 x 24″ | 2 lengthwise | 1.5″ increments | 2,000 lb / shelf |
| GarveeTech 48 x 24″ | 48 x 24″ | 1 lengthwise | 5 adjustable tiers | 2,000 lb unit max |
| Seville UltraDurable wire | 48 x 18″ | 1, overhanging 1.6″ | 5 adjustable shelves | 800 lb / shelf |
19.6 in
The published width of a 27-gallon Sterilite industrial tote, and the figure that separates garage shelving that works from shelving that nearly works. An 18 inch deep shelf is 1.6 inches short of it. A 24 inch shelf has 4.4 inches to spare. Every capacity figure on this page is larger than a stack of totes will ever need.
The five racks
WORKPRO 77" Welded Steel Garage Shelving Rack
WORKPRO · 77" Heavy-Duty 4-Tier Garage Shelving

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
The listing states the two things this category is usually coy about in the same breath: welded steel construction, and 2,000 lb per shelf rather than a total to divide. Seventy-seven inches wide and 24 deep, which is the size totes and tires actually need.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Distributed across the shelf, on pre-welded uprights
Published as supporting up to 2000 lbs per shelf, totaling 8000 lbs, and as built with welded steel and reinforced beams with pre-welded uprights. No shelf span or load distance is stated.
- Published rating
- 2,000 lb / shelfRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 77" W x 24" D x 72" H, 4 adjustable tiersRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Welded steel with reinforced beams and pre-welded uprightsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a per-shelf figure, not just a total to divide
- Welded steel and pre-welded uprights stated on the listing
- 77 by 24 inches takes totes two deep and a tire flat
- Locking pins and adjustable tier heights
- Figures come from the retail listing, not a manufacturer spec sheet
- No shelf span stated, so the 2,000 lb figure assumes even distribution
- No steel gauge published
- 77 by 24 inches is a large footprint for a one-car garage
Seventy-seven inches wide by twenty-four deep, four tiers, welded frame, 2,000 lb published per shelf. Two 27-gallon totes sit side by side lengthwise on each shelf with about 20 inches to spare, and nothing overhangs the front edge. For the specific job of storing totes in a two-car garage, that geometry is the whole answer.
Four tiers over a 72 inch upright means roughly 18 inches per level before you account for the shelf thickness, which is fine for totes and tight if you wanted a level for tall items. The listing publishes no steel gauge, and a welded rack of this size is a two-person assembly with no way to flat-pack it afterward.
Ironton 77" 4-Tier Industrial Steel Shelving Unit
Ironton · 4-Tier Industrial Steel Shelving Unit, 77" x 24"

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
The same published capacity as the welded racks - 2,000 lb per shelf and 8,000 per unit - at a lower price, and the reason it is not ranked with them is a single missing word: the listing says powder-coated steel and never says welded.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Distributed across the shelf
Published as each shelf holding up to 2,000 lbs with a total weight capacity of 8,000 lbs. Construction is stated as powder-coated steel; the listing does not say the frame is welded.
- Published rating
- 2,000 lb / shelfRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 77" W x 24" D x 72" H, 4 adjustable tiersRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Powder-coated steelRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- 2,000 lb per shelf and 8,000 lb total published
- Cheapest route to that capacity of anything we can currently link
- Adjustable shelf heights, hardware included
- Powder-coated against corrosion, stated on the listing
- The listing never states a welded frame, only powder-coated steel
- Figures are the retail listing's, not a manufacturer spec sheet
- No shelf span and no steel gauge published
- Large footprint, same as the welded racks it undercuts
The same 77 by 24 inch footprint, the same four adjustable tiers and the same published 2,000 lb per shelf, for meaningfully less money. If the rack is going to live against a garage wall holding plastic boxes, the cheaper of two identically specified racks is the rational buy.
“Identically specified” is doing work in that sentence: like the WORKPRO, this publishes no gauge, no upright thickness and no beam rating separate from the shelf figure, so the specification you are comparing is thin on both sides. Check the frame in person if you can.
Edsal MuscleRack Welded Steel Storage Rack, 77 x 24 x 72 in
Edsal · MuscleRack Heavy Duty Welded Steel Storage Rack, 77" x 24" x 72"
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
The industrial-supply answer: welded frames and beams, wire decking, 2,000 lb per shelf published by Edsal itself, and a one-year warranty that tells you it was built for a warehouse rather than a lifetime marketing claim. Retail listings quote several different totals for it - read the manufacturer's page, not the box.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Evenly distributed, on welded frames with three tie-bars per level
Edsal publishes 2,000 lb per shelf evenly distributed and 6,000 lb total. Retail listings for the same size quote 1,500, 2,000 and 6,000 lb totals across different SKUs, which is why the manufacturer figure is used here.
- Published rating
- 2,000 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 77" W x 24" D x 72" H; shelves adjust in 1.5" incrementsManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Industrial grade welded steel frames and beams, black coated wire deckingManufacturer
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- 1 yearManufacturer
- 2,000 lb per shelf published by the manufacturer, not a retailer
- Welded frames and beams with three tie-bars per level stated
- Wire decking lets dust and spills fall through
- Foot plates for floor mounting, and NSF certified for dry storage
- One-year warranty, the shortest of the welded racks here
- Retail listings disagree with each other on the total capacity
- Wire decking drops small parts unless you add liners
- Industrial finish rather than a garage one
The only rack here that publishes how finely its shelves adjust: 1.5 inch increments. With a 15.5 inch tote that is the difference between a level that fits and a level that wastes four inches of upright, and over a 72 inch frame those inches are the difference between three usable tote levels and four.
It is the one pick here we cannot deep-link to a specific listing, so the buy button runs an Amazon search rather than opening a product page — the same reason it carries a published 1-year warranty and little else. Capacity is the familiar 2,000 lb per shelf with no gauge behind it.
GarveeTech 48" x 24" 5-Tier Shelving
GarveeTech · 5-Tier 48" x 24" x 72" Garage Shelving Unit

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
Forty-eight inches wide and twenty-four deep on five adjustable tiers, which is the useful shape for totes in a short wall bay. It publishes a 2,000 lb maximum for the unit and no per-shelf figure, so the number you would plan a single shelf against is not there.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Maximum for the unit; no per-shelf figure published
Published as a maximum weight capacity of 2,000 lb for the unit. The listing states no per-shelf figure, which is the number that matters when one shelf carries a row of loaded totes.
- Published rating
- 2,000 lb totalRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 48" W x 24" D x 72" H, five height-adjustable tiersRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Steel frame with MDF shelf panelsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- 24 inches deep, so a 27-gallon tote sits fully supported
- Five height-adjustable tiers in only 48 inches of wall
- Tool-free assembly with the hardware and a mallet supplied
- Rubber pads under the feet, for a slab that gets swept
- No per-shelf figure published, only a 2,000 lb unit maximum
- MDF shelf panels, not steel deck or wire
- No steel gauge or tube thickness published
- Bolt-together frame rather than welded
Five height-adjustable tiers, 24 inches deep, in only 48 inches of wall — the right shape when the tote wall is a bay between a door and a bench rather than a long run. A 27-gallon tote sits fully supported on that depth, and the tiers adjust to the 15.5 inch tote height rather than being fixed where the factory put them.
The published 2,000 lb is a maximum for the whole unit, not a per-shelf figure, so the number you would actually plan one shelf against is missing. The decks are MDF rather than steel or wire, which is the wrong material for a damp garage, and the frame bolts together rather than being welded. One tote per shelf lengthwise is the honest limit at this width.
Seville Classics UltraDurable 5-Tier NSF Wire Shelving
Seville Classics · UltraDurable 5-Tier NSF Steel Shelving, 48" x 18"

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.
The only shelving unit here that publishes what happens when you put it on its wheels: 4,000 lb total on the leveling feet, 500 lb total on the casters. That is an eight-fold collapse, published by the manufacturer, and almost nobody reads far enough down the page to find it.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- On the leveling feet. On the casters the whole unit drops to 500 lb
Published as "800 lb. per shelf" and "4,000 lb. total weight capacity" on leveling feet, against 500 lb. total on wheels.
- Published rating
- 800 lb / shelfManufacturer
- Dimensions
- 48" W x 18" D x 72" H on feet (75" H on wheels), 5 adjustable shelvesManufacturer
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Commercial-grade steel, black epoxy powder-coated, NSF/ANSI Standard 2Manufacturer
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Limited 10-yearManufacturer
- Publishes the capacity on feet AND on wheels, which nothing else here does
- NSF-certified to NSF/ANSI Standard 2 for dry environments
- Shelves adjust in 1 inch increments rather than fixed slots
- Limited 10-year warranty, and wire shelves do not hold water or dust
- 500 lb total on the casters is a fraction of the 4,000 lb feet figure
- Wire shelves drop small parts unless you buy liners
- 800 lb per shelf is well below both Gladiator racks
- Epoxy coating, not galvanized - not for a wet garage
Wire shelving with a published 800 lb per shelf, five adjustable levels, a 10-year limited warranty and casters as an option — and wire is the right surface where damp is the enemy, because nothing pools and air moves around whatever is sitting on it.
It is 18 inches deep, so a 19.6 inch tote overhangs by about 1.6 inches. That is not dangerous with a 47 lb-empty rack of this quality, but the front lip of every tote is unsupported and the stack leans into the aisle. Buy it for bins smaller than a 27-gallon tote, or for a damp garage where the trade is worth it.
- You are storing 27-gallon totes, which need 19.6 inches
- The rack sits against a wall with a walkway in front
- You want two totes per shelf on a long run
- Bulky, awkward gear shares the shelves with the boxes
- The rack goes in a narrow bay or beside a parked car
- Your bins are smaller - 18 gallon and under
- You want wire shelving, which mostly comes 18 inches deep
- Reach matters more than depth - a deep shelf buries what is at the back
Once the geometry is settled the rest is the usual shelving decision: welded against bolt-together, wire against solid deck, and how much of the published capacity you will ever use. Those are worked through in the garage shelving buying guide, the general field is ranked in best garage storage shelves, and if the totes are seasonal rather than weekly, overhead is cheaper per cubic foot than any rack — see best overhead garage racks.
Common questions
What size shelving do I need for storage totes?
How far apart should shelves be for totes?
How much weight can garage shelving hold with totes on it?
Can you stack storage totes instead of using shelves?
Are wire shelves good for storage totes?
Sources
- Sterilite 27-gallon industrial tote - published outer size 28.5 x 19.625 x 15.5 in
- CLMSTE 27-gallon storage bins - capacity published in gallons, no dimensions
- WORKPRO 77 in welded storage rack - 77 x 24 x 72 in, 2,000 lb per shelf
- Ironton 77 in steel rack - 77 x 24 x 72 in, 2,000 lb per shelf
- Seville Classics UltraDurable 5-tier wire shelving - 48 x 18 x 72 in, 800 lb per shelf
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- Racks & shelvingBest garage storage shelvesFour shelving units ranked on published per-shelf load, including the one that drops from 4,000 lb to 500 lb on its own casters.
- Racks & shelvingGarage shelving buying guideDepth, per-shelf capacity, decking material and the adjustment increment that decides whether shelving fits your bins.
- Racks & shelvingBest heavy duty garage shelvingWelded racks with 1,000 lb or more per shelf published, ranked, with the span question none of them answers.