Best pegboard hooks
Hook kits are sold by the piece count. What decides whether they hold is the board behind them, and one kit here claims five times what any board publishes.
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
Quick picks
Ranked on whether the kit states which board hole sizes it fits, then on the peg lock (material and count), then on hook variety and bins, then on what is published about the steel. Price breaks ties.
| # | Product | Best for | Published rating | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best overall INCLY 278-Piece Pegboard Kit Fits 1/8 and 1/4 in boards, and publishes every hook count. | One kit that fits whichever pegboard you already own | Not published | |
| 2 | ![]() Best peg locks SEDY 280-Piece Pegboard Kit Stainless steel double locks, published - nothing else states the material. | Hooks that stay put on a board that gets used hard | Not published | |
| 3 | ![]() Only published figure ELEAD 286-Piece Pegboard Hook Set 70 lb per hook claimed, and 18 bins in the box. | A kit that publishes a figure, on a metal board that can use it | 70 lb totalRetailer listing | |
| 4 | ![]() Cheapest start INCLY 120-Piece Pegboard Kit 120 pieces, 16 hook types, both board sizes. | Starting a pegboard wall without committing to 300 pieces | Not published | |
| — | ![]() We would skip this one INCLY 176-Piece Pegboard Hook Set Costs more than the 278-piece kit, fits fewer boards, no bins. | A 1/4 inch metal board, if powder coat matters more than value | Not published |
#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
Pegboard hooks are the cheapest thing in this category and the easiest to buy wrong, for two reasons that have nothing to do with the hooks. The first is fit: boards come with 1/8 inch or 1/4 inch holes, both on 1 inch centers, and a hook sized for one is loose or unusable in the other. The second is that a hook cannot be stronger than what it pegs into.
That second point is where this page earns its keep. This site has the published panel figures: Wall Control states 200 lb per 16 by 32 inch panel into studs and 5 to 15 lb per hook depending on the hook; Triton’s DuraBoard publishes 250 lb per 24 by 48 inch board; tempered hardboard publishes no absolute figure at all. Against that, one kit on this page advertises 70 lb per hook.
How this was judged
Four criteria, decided before anything was ranked, in this order.
First: does the kit state which boards it fits? Three of five state both 1/8 and 1/4 inch compatibility, and one states 1/4 inch only. This is the criterion that decides whether the kit is usable at all, so it ranks first.
Second: the peg lock. A peg lock is the clip that stops a hook lifting out when you pull a tool off it — the single most annoying failure in pegboard ownership. Count matters, and material matters more: one kit publishes stainless steel, everything else supplies plastic.
Third: hook variety and bins. Curved, angled, straight, ring and multi-tool holders, and how many small bins come along for fasteners. A kit that publishes the count of each style tells you whether the 280 pieces are useful or padding.
Fourth: what is published about the steel. Peg diameter, coating, any weight figure. Almost nothing is published here, which is why it ranks last rather than first.
Published figures read from each retail listing on 27 September 2026. 'Not published' means the figure does not appear on the listing.
| Kit | Pieces | Boards it fits | Peg locks | Per-hook figure |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| INCLY 278-piece | 278 | 1/8 and 1/4 in | 109, plastic | Not published |
| SEDY 280-piece | 280 | 1/8 and 1/4 in | Stainless steel, double | Not published |
| ELEAD 286-piece | 286 | 1/4 in | Included, material not stated | 70 lb |
| INCLY 120-piece | 120 | 1/8 and 1/4 in | 49, plastic | Not published |
| INCLY 176-piece | 176 | 1/4 in only | 76, plastic | Not published |
70 lb vs 15 lb
The ELEAD kit's published maximum per hook against the top of Wall Control's published per-hook range for its own 20-gauge steel panels. Both numbers are real quotes from real listings, and they cannot both describe the same installation: the hook is pegged into the board, so the board's figure is the ceiling. Treat any hook rating as a statement about the steel in the hook alone.
Wall Control pegboard how-to - 5 to 15 lb per hook, 200 lb per panel
The five kits
INCLY 278-Piece Pegboard Kit
INCLY · NC-105 278-Piece Pegboard Accessory Kit

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The most complete published breakdown of any kit here: 16 hook types with the count of each, 12 bins, 109 peg locks, and compatibility stated for both 1/8 in. and 1/4 in. boards. It publishes no weight figure, like almost everything in this category.
- Published rating
- Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
- Dimensions
- 278 pieces: 16 hook types, 12 bins, 109 peg locksRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Hardened steel with chrome plating; high-density plastic binsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- States compatibility with both 1/8 in. and 1/4 in. boards
- Publishes how many of each hook style you get
- 109 peg locks, enough to lock most of the hooks in the kit
- Twelve bins included at the lowest price per piece here
- No weight capacity published, per hook or per kit
- Chrome plating chips where powder coat wears
- Sixteen hook types means some will never be used
- Peg locks are plastic, not the stainless the SEDY kit publishes
Two hundred and seventy-eight pieces, 16 hook types, 12 bins and 109 peg locks — and the only listing here that publishes how many of each hook style you get: 18 large curved, 14 medium curved, 16 small curved, 25 medium L, 20 small L, 16 small angled and a run of straight hooks. It states fit for 1/8 inch boards on 1 inch centers and for 1/4 inch boards with the supplied locks, which covers almost every board sold.
No weight figure appears anywhere, the hooks are chrome-plated rather than powder-coated, and 109 locks does not cover every hook in the box. Sixteen hook styles also means a handful you will never peg up. At this price per piece, none of that is a serious complaint.
SEDY 280-Piece Pegboard Kit
SEDY · 88103 280-Piece Pegboard Accessory Kit

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The only kit here that publishes what its peg locks are made of: stainless steel rather than the plastic everyone else supplies. On a hook that gets knocked every time you take a tool off the wall, that is the part that fails.
- Published rating
- Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
- Dimensions
- 280 pieces: 16 hook styles, 12 bins, stainless double peg locksRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Hardened steel hooks, chrome-plated; stainless steel peg locksRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Stainless double peg locks, published - nothing else here states the material
- Fits both common board hole sizes
- Sixteen hook styles plus 12 bins and ring holders
- Priced below the kits with fewer pieces
- No weight capacity published anywhere
- Chrome-plated hooks rather than powder-coated
- No hook-by-hook count published, so the mix is a surprise
- Bins are the same thin plastic as the cheaper kits
The same shape of kit — 280 pieces, 16 hook styles, 12 bins, both board sizes — with one published difference that matters more than the piece count: stainless steel double peg locks instead of plastic. The lock is the part that gets flexed every time a tool comes off the wall, and it is the part that snaps first.
Like everything except the ELEAD, it publishes no weight figure. The hooks are chrome-plated, no hook-by-hook count is given so the mix is a surprise, and the bins are the same thin plastic the cheaper kits supply.
ELEAD 286-Piece Pegboard Hook Set
ELEAD · E70105 286-Piece Pegboard Hook Set

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The only pegboard hook kit we can find that publishes a per-hook figure at all: 70 lb maximum. Read it against what the panel makers publish - Wall Control states 5 to 15 lb per hook - and the number tells you about the steel in the hook, not about what your board will take.
- Load distance:
- not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
- Fastening:
- Per hook, on double stabilizing pegs with peg locks
Published as supporting up to 70 lb maximum per hook. No pegboard maker publishes a panel figure that would let a single hook carry that: Wall Control publishes 5 to 15 lb per hook and 200 lb per panel into studs.
- Published rating
- 70 lb totalRetailer listing
- Dimensions
- 286 pieces: 14 hook types and 18 bins, for 1/4 in. pegboardRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Powder-coated steel hooks, high-impact plastic binsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Publishes a per-hook figure, alone in this category
- Eighteen bins included, the most of any kit here
- Double stabilizing pegs and peg locks on every hook
- Fourteen hook types covers most hand tools without buying singles
- 70 lb per hook cannot be supported by any published panel rating
- Most expensive kit compared here
- 1/4 in. boards only - it will not peg a 1/8 in. hardboard
- No steel thickness published beyond the 0.2 in. peg diameter
Two hundred and eighty-six pieces, 14 hook types and 18 bins — the most storage of any kit here — with 3x thicker steel, a 0.2 inch peg diameter and double stabilizing pegs. It is also the only kit in this category that publishes a per-hook capacity: 70 lb maximum.
That figure is the reason it is not the overall pick. No pegboard maker publishes a panel rating that would let one hook carry 70 lb, so the number describes the hook in isolation and risks being read as a system rating. It is the most expensive kit here, it fits 1/4 inch boards only, and the peg lock material is not stated.
INCLY 120-Piece Pegboard Kit
INCLY · NC0202 120-Piece Pegboard Accessory Kit

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
The cheapest honest way to find out whether a pegboard wall is going to work for you: 120 pieces, 16 hook types, 5 bins and 49 peg locks, fitting both common board hole sizes.
- Published rating
- Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
- Dimensions
- 120 pieces: 16 hook types, 5 bins, 49 peg locksRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Hardened steel with chrome plating; high-density plastic binsRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Lowest price of any kit here
- Still covers 16 hook types and both board hole sizes
- 49 peg locks included at this price
- Five bins, enough for fasteners at one end of a bench
- No weight capacity published
- 120 pieces will not fill a full sheet of pegboard
- Chrome plating rather than powder coat
- Five bins is a token amount if small parts are the problem
A hundred and twenty pieces, 16 hook types, five bins and 49 peg locks, fitting both board hole sizes. If you are not yet sure a pegboard wall is the answer — and for many garages a slatwall or a rail is the better buy — this is the cheapest way to find out with real hardware rather than a guess.
A hundred and twenty pieces will not fill a full sheet of pegboard, five bins is a token gesture if small parts are the actual problem, and there is no weight figure. Buy it as a trial, not as the finished wall.
INCLY 176-Piece Pegboard Hook Set
INCLY · NC0117 176-Piece Pegboard Hook Set

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 27, 2026.
Powder-coated rather than chrome-plated, with 76 peg locks and a published 0.2 inch peg diameter for 1/4 inch boards. It also costs more than the 278-piece kit from the same brand, includes no bins and fits fewer boards.
- Published rating
- Not published — no load figure from this manufacturer
- Dimensions
- 176 pieces: 14 hook types, 76 peg locks, no binsRetailer listing
- Steel gauge
- Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
- Thickness
- Not published
- Material
- Hardened steel with matte black powder coatingRetailer listing
- Coverage
- Not published
- Warranty
- Not published
- Powder coating rather than chrome plating
- Publishes its peg diameter, and names Wall Control compatibility
- Double stabilizing pegs on each hook
- Fourteen hook types including pliers and ring holders
- Costs more than the 278-piece kit and includes no bins
- 1/4 in. boards only - no 1/8 in. hardboard fit claimed
- No weight capacity published
- 76 peg locks for 100 hooks, so not everything can be locked
Powder-coated rather than chrome-plated, which is the more durable finish, with 76 peg locks, a published 0.2 inch peg diameter and stated compatibility with Wall Control’s metal boards. The hooks themselves are the nicest in this comparison to handle.
It is also more expensive than the same brand’s 278-piece kit, comes with no bins at all, and fits 1/4 inch boards only — so a 1/8 inch hardboard wall, which is what most garages already have, cannot use it. On a page ranked first on fit and value, that combination is last.
- The tools have handles, hooks or holes to hang by
- You want to see everything at once above a bench
- The layout will change as the tool collection changes
- The board is already on the wall and working
- The items are loose fasteners - those want bins or drawers
- The load is heavy: a hook is limited by the board, not the steel
- The board is tired hardboard with worn holes
- You need a rated system - slatwall and rails publish real figures
If the board itself is the weak link, the panel options are ranked in best pegboard for a garage and the metal option is reviewed in the Wall Control review. If the hooks are going onto slatwall rather than pegboard, that is a different fitting entirely — see best slatwall hooks. And for the heavy, awkward things no pegboard hook should carry, best heavy duty garage hooks covers hooks that screw into studs.
Common questions
How much weight can a pegboard hook hold?
Do pegboard hooks fit both 1/8 and 1/4 inch boards?
What are pegboard peg locks and do I need them?
Are metal pegboard hooks better than plastic?
How many pegboard hooks do I need?
Sources
- INCLY 278-piece pegboard kit - 16 hook types, 12 bins, 109 peg locks, 1/8 and 1/4 in
- SEDY 280-piece pegboard kit - stainless steel double peg locks
- ELEAD 286-piece pegboard hook set - 70 lb per hook published, 18 bins
- INCLY 120-piece pegboard kit - 16 hook types, 5 bins, 49 peg locks
- INCLY 176-piece pegboard hook set - 1/4 in boards only, no bins
- Wall Control pegboard how-to - 5 to 15 lb per hook, 200 lb per panel into studs
Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.
Read next
- SlatwallBest pegboard for a garageMetal, polypropylene and hardboard pegboard ranked on the published figure, including the one that publishes none.
- SlatwallWall Control metal pegboard20-gauge steel, two published ratings for two mounting methods, and per-hook limits nobody else prints.
- SlatwallBest slatwall hooks and accessoriesSix live accessory sets ranked on the weight figure five of them never publish, and the one that publishes two.