Skip to content
Steel Slat
Racks & shelving

FLEXIMOUNTS overhead garage racks

One of the few racks that publishes a test figure as well as a rated one - and the rated one moved while we were watching.

By Scooter M.

Published

Last checked

How we pick

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.

Ranked

Quick picks

Reviewed on published figures only: the rated load, the stated test load, the mounting requirements and the adjustment range. We have not installed this rack.

#ProductBest forPublished ratingBuy
1
FLEXIMOUNTS 4x8 Overhead Garage Storage Rack
The model reviewed

FLEXIMOUNTS 4x8 Overhead Garage Storage Rack

750 lb rated, 1,200 lb tested, 22-40 in adjustable drop.

Buyers who want a published test margin, not just a rated figure750 lb totalManufacturer
2
SafeRacks 4x8 Overhead Garage Storage Rack
The obvious alternative

SafeRacks 4x8 Overhead Garage Storage Rack

Same 4x8 footprint, 600 lb published, no test figure.

A conventional wood-framed garage ceiling600 lb totalInstall doc

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.

Short answer
The FLEXIMOUNTS GR48 is a 4 by 8 ft ceiling rack publishing 750 lb rated against a 1,200 lb load test, a stated 1.6x margin. We recorded this same listing at 600 lb rated on 2 September 2026, so the published rating rose while the test figure stayed where it was. Each ceiling bracket attaches to two studs, joist spacing must be 24 inches or less (or exactly 48), and metal walls are ruled out.

Overhead racks are the highest-consequence product this site covers. They hang several hundred pounds above a car, they are fastened by the buyer, and almost nobody who installs one ever tests it. So the honest way to review one is to read exactly what the maker is willing to put in writing — and FLEXIMOUNTS puts more in writing than most.

The figure that moved

On 2 September 2026 this site recorded the GR48 at 600 lb rated, 1,200 lb tested. The URL Amazon generated from the listing title at the time still carries that phrasing — 1200-lbs-Tested-600-Rated — and it still resolves today. Read the same listing on 21 September 2026 and the first bullet says the rack “undergoes rigorous 1.6 times load testing (1200 lbs)” and supports up to 750 lb.

The test number did not change. The rated number did, by 25 percent, and the published margin fell from 2x to 1.6x. Nothing about the steel in the box changed in those three weeks.

600 → 750 lb

The published rated capacity of the same FLEXIMOUNTS GR48 listing, as we recorded it on 2 September 2026 and as it reads on 21 September 2026. The stated load test is 1,200 lb in both versions, so the published safety margin fell from 2x to 1.6x. A 'rated' figure is a marketing decision about a tested number, and this is a rare chance to watch one being made.

FLEXIMOUNTS GR48 listing

That is not an accusation of anything. A 1.6x margin is not unusual, a manufacturer is entitled to revise how it rates its own product, and the rack may well have been conservatively rated before. But it does make a point this site keeps running into: a “rated” figure is a decision, not a measurement. The measurement here is 1,200 lb, it is published, and it is the number that has stayed still.

What the listing requires of your garage

The mounting requirements are unusually specific, and they are the part most buyers should read before ordering:

Published on the GR48 listing, read 21 September 2026.

RequirementWhat FLEXIMOUNTS publishes
Rated / tested load750 lb rated, 1,200 lb tested (stated as 1.6x)
Ceiling bracketsLong brackets, each attached to 2 studs
Joist spacing24″ or less; if wider, only 48″ spacing is supported
SubstrateWood studs / joists and concrete. Not metal walls.
Size and drop96″ L x 48″ W, 22–40″ adjustable drop
StructureIntegrated grid deck, 6 vertical posts

Three of those deserve emphasis. Two studs per bracket is more than several competitors ask for and is the reason the rack can publish what it publishes. Joist spacing of 24 inches or less rules out some older garages and some engineered-truss roofs without a bit of measuring first. And no metal walls is a blunt exclusion that a buyer with a steel-framed garage needs to see before the box arrives.

The 22 to 40 inch adjustable drop is the practical star of the specification. It is what lets the rack clear a garage door track, sit above an SUV roof, or drop low enough in a tall bay to be loaded without a ladder — and it is adjusted at install time, not bought as a variant.

Where it sits against the alternative

The model reviewed

FLEXIMOUNTS 4x8 Overhead Garage Storage Rack

FLEXIMOUNTS · GR48 Classic 4' x 8'

FLEXIMOUNTS 4x8 Overhead Garage Storage Rack
$145.98 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.

Publishes a rated figure and a test figure - 750 lb rated, 1,200 lb tested - which almost nothing in this category does. Each ceiling bracket is stated as attaching to two studs, and the listing rules out metal walls outright.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Ceiling joists

Published today as 750 lb rated and 1,200 lb tested, which the listing states as 1.6 times the rated load. We recorded this same ASIN at 600 lb rated on 2026-09-02, and the listing URL still carries the 1200-lbs-Tested-600-Rated slug from that version.

Published rating
750 lb totalManufacturer
Dimensions
48" D x 96" W, height adjustable 22" to 40"Manufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Cold-rolled steelManufacturer
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Not published
What is good
  • Publishes a 1,200 lb load-test figure alongside the 600 lb rating
  • Cold-rolled steel construction stated
  • Widely available and frequently the cheapest of the 600 lb racks
What is not
  • 22 to 40 inch drop range is narrower than SafeRacks at both ends
  • No decking included; 3/8 inch plywood recommended and not supplied

Ninety-six by forty-eight inches of integrated grid deck on six vertical posts, 750 lb rated, 1,200 lb tested, with a 22 to 40 inch drop and brackets that each take two studs. For a buyer who wants to see the relationship between the tested figure and the claimed one, this remains the most transparent rack in the category even after the rating moved.

Hooks are sold separately, the joist spacing requirement is a genuine constraint rather than a formality, and the rating revision is a reminder that “rated” is editorial. Plan the load against the 1,200 lb test and your own fasteners rather than against the number in the title.

The obvious alternative

SafeRacks 4x8 Overhead Garage Storage Rack

SafeRacks · 4' x 8' Overhead Garage Storage Rack

SafeRacks 4x8 Overhead Garage Storage Rack
$199.98 · View on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission if you buy through this link, at no extra cost to you. How this site is funded. Prices last checked September 21, 2026.

600 lb rated, and — far more useful — SafeRacks publishes the ceiling it needs: joists of at least 2x6, no more than 24 inches apart, with 2 inches of lag penetration. Nobody buys a rack on its joist spec and everybody should, because a rack fastened into the wrong ceiling is the one failure in this category that drops 600 lb on a car.

What the rating assumes
Load distance:
not stated by the manufacturer, so treat the figure as a flat-against-the-wall number
Fastening:
Joists min 2x6, max 24" apart, 2" lag penetration, 3/16" pilot drilled 3" deep

The brackets span two joists and cannot be installed on I-beams, steel joists or concrete ceilings. For truss-framed ceilings a 2x4 bottom chord is accepted.

Published rating
600 lb totalInstall doc
Dimensions
48" x 96", ceiling drop adjustable 12" to 45", 27" bracketsManufacturer
Steel gauge
Not published — this manufacturer does not state one
Thickness
Not published
Material
Not published
Coverage
Not published
Warranty
Limited lifetimeManufacturer
What is good
  • Publishes minimum joist size, maximum joist spacing and required lag penetration
  • States plainly what it must NOT be installed into
  • Limited lifetime warranty
  • 12 to 45 inch drop range, the widest here
What is not
  • The 27 inch brackets must span two joists, which constrains where it can go
  • Decking is not the point of sale — plan for the extra cost

The same 4 by 8 footprint from the brand that publishes the most detailed fastener specifications in this whole category — its tire rack names the lag bolt grade — at a published 600 lb. If the deciding factor is how much the manufacturer is willing to specify about the connection rather than the deck, SafeRacks is the stronger habit.

It publishes no load-test figure, so there is no way to see the margin behind the 600 lb, and its published capacity is now below the FLEXIMOUNTS number. The two racks are close enough that the choice usually comes down to the drop range you need and what is in stock at a sane price.

Buy the GR48 when
  • You want a published test figure, not just a rated one
  • The drop has to be tuned - door tracks, an SUV roof, a tall bay
  • Your joists are 24 inches on center or less
  • You want a one-piece grid deck rather than frame-plus-wire
Look elsewhere when
  • The garage is steel-framed - the listing rules metal walls out
  • Joists are wider than 24 inches and not exactly 48
  • You need hooks and accessories in the same purchase
  • You want the fastener spec published, which SafeRacks does better

Whichever rack goes up, the install is the part that decides whether the published figure means anything in your garage: find the joists, use the supplied lags into solid timber, and load the rack evenly rather than stacking the heavy end over one bracket. The full sequence is in how to install an overhead garage rack, the field is ranked in best overhead garage racks, and the head-to-head is in SafeRacks vs FLEXIMOUNTS.

Questions

Common questions

How much weight does the FLEXIMOUNTS GR48 hold?

The listing publishes 750 lb rated and 1,200 lb load tested, stating the test as 1.6 times the rated load. We recorded the same listing at 600 lb rated on 2 September 2026. The figure that has not moved is the 1,200 lb test, and both assume the rack is correctly fastened into joists.

Did FLEXIMOUNTS change its weight rating?

The published rating on this listing is higher than it was: 750 lb today against the 600 lb we recorded on 2 September 2026, with the same 1,200 lb test figure in both versions. The Amazon URL still carries the older “1200-lbs-Tested-600-Rated” wording. Treat a rated figure as a manufacturer decision rather than a measurement.

What joist spacing does the FLEXIMOUNTS rack need?

Twenty-four inches or less, and if your joists are wider than that the listing supports only 48 inch spacing. It also states the rack cannot be mounted to metal walls, and that it suits wood studs, joists and concrete. Measure before ordering.

Is FLEXIMOUNTS better than SafeRacks?

On published capacity, FLEXIMOUNTS is now ahead (750 lb against 600 lb) and it is the only one of the two publishing a load test. On published fastener detail, SafeRacks is the more forthcoming brand across its range. The full comparison is in SafeRacks vs FLEXIMOUNTS.

Does the GR48 come with hooks or decking?

The listing states that hooks are sold separately and describes an integrated grid deck as part of the rack. We are not restating anything else about accessories here: the manufacturer’s own product page for this model was unreachable when this review was written, so the listing is the only source we can stand behind.
Cited

Sources

Figures were read on the dates shown against each source. If one has changed, or if we have got something wrong, tell us and we will correct the page.

Next